We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they are ver ignorant”
Review of Impala Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Impala Island Inn
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 20 November 2011

been staying at impala for 15 years. they have been great on mostly all ocassions. i have spent thousands at this place.once went down after taking care of my father with alzheimmers for a few days away. it was very difficult for me at this time. it was off season and heard fire alarm blaring went to front desk they couldnt have cared less. very mean. let it go cause i love going to oc. last week went on there web site and it said 20 dollars for a room for thanksgiving weekend. knew that was wrong so called them to give them a heads up. women answered phone yelled that i need to pay 77 dollars and i said no problem. cause i knew it was wrong. woman hung up with no thank you or anything.sent them email they didnt respond. very bad attitude towards good people.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

We apologize that your received less than professional service. We hope you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Impala Island Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 137 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

Avoid this place if you can. The most unfriendly staff and management. It is as if they are doing you a favor by letting you stay there! They need customer service and management training desparately. Add to that dirty rooms (actual dirt all over the bathroom and shower at check in) dust everywhere, and cheap cardboard feeling sheets. Those are only three things, but there were more issues. It was not cheap. But, even if the rooms were 1/2 the price, it would still not be worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Valentina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

It is our aim to provide a satisfying stay at a fair value. We are very sorry that you did not have that experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

In reading the reviews for this hotel prior to visiting we were expecting a pretty good visit

.There were a couple of negative reviews but overall the reviews were good. I have to say that maybe the few negative reviews were due to the time of the year that they were here. We could not have had a better visit. First we reserved a ground room and upon arriving thought a second floor would be better to sit out at night. The front desk switched rooms for us with no problem. Than our air conditioner went on the blink around 10pm .Again the front desk sent up a maintanance team and switched it with a good attitude. Than we asked if we could have a late check out and again were told no problem. Even after checking out we were allowed to stay at the pool when we asked. Cudos go out to the front desk help who made our visit a nice one..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaabarlow, Manager at Impala Island Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We do our best to accommodate all our guests and hope to see you again at the Impala Island Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Clean and acceptable rooms. Arrived at 11am was told to come back at 1 at that time was told check in really isn't until 3, which is fine but was not offered a changing room or anything else. Promptly checked out at 11am and asked if we could use the beach passes for a few hours, of course was told no, they were needed for people checking in.. Later in the day a freind called the hotel to see if rooms were available was told there were at least 10. Which means no one was checking in so we could have used the passes. Also had to move the car from the parking lot of it would be towed. Very bad customer service, we stay in Ocean City a few times a year, will not be staying there again and will not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murrayboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We traveled to OC for a dear friends wedding. When we arrived we were delighted to find out that we received a free upgrade. When we got to the room we were not disappointed. Even though the rooms are basic, it was perfect for our needs. The beds were comfortable, the AC worked great, nice flat screen TV, plenty of towels, clean, and a fridge to boot. The location is great too. We never heard a thing from the boardwalk. The only real con is the parking. It is tight, and far from enough spaces. When we arrived we were asked by three different people if were were leaving. We felt bad for having to tell them no.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelliejo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
305 reviews
0.9 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
357 reviews
0.2 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
164 reviews
0.5 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
71 reviews
0.4 km away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 32 in Ocean City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Island Inn

Address: 1001 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3341
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: ₹ 9,810 - ₹ 14,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Impala Island Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impala Island Inn is a vacationer's island indeed. Located in the heart of America's greatest family resort within the beach block, this intimate inn provides the perfect locale for a memorable getaway. Most of our accommodations overlook a delightfully warm water pool. Each room has homelike amenities that include a refrigerator, telephone with voicemail, color cable TV and two extra long double beds. Select guest rooms also offer a choice of king bed or sitting area with sleep sofa, making every guest's stay at the Impala Island Inn a relaxing and leisurely experience. Activities close to our apartments include sailing and kayaking, boat rides, jet ski rentals, surfing, bicycling, golf, arcades and a variety of amusement parks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Impala Island Hotel Ocean City
Impala Island Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing