We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
22
16
13
13
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
16
13
13
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastbeach tagsfree wifiasbury avedouble bedplace to sleepthe ritzenjoyed our stayfront porchthird floorcerealrates
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We booked this last minute, as a late June Friday - Sunday stay.
Few rooms available in O.C.
The historic structure was renovated, and has a charming wrap around front porch, that's very cool even when hot out.
Old hotel feel, isn't fir some, but we found it to be charming and decently priced.
The drawback is, bring your own shower head:) A strange note, but the low flow restrictor in the galvanized line, behind the shower head provides a very weak flow of water. For the price, I would return, but carrying a low cost shower head, and crescent wrench:)
A one minute swap for a great shower.
The towel animals on each bed were cute, and the soaps/shampoo is better than most hotels. A turned down pillow before coming back from the beach, complete with Hershey's kisses on each pillow was a friendly touch.
Staff were very courteous and always available.
After check out/showering rooms on the Ocean side 2nd & 3rd floors (in-laws rooms, with toilet & shower) that guests who checked out, & went to the beach for the day may come back & use.
Tip, .. keep your leftover soap & shampoo, .. those rooms only have towels.

A small but refreshing pool to take a dip in, .. but it is between the two sister hotels, sort of in the parking lot, white fenced, and very lightly landscaped around that fence.
Nothing to rave about, but sufficient for a quick dunk.
Beach tags free, with a $20 returnable deposit, before leaving for home/not due back at check out:)

Overall, a couple small things aside, a cute charming place to stay, if you get a room for what you consider a decent price.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Checked in at 6:30 pm. Had to be at a.c. for rockabilly riot show by 8 pm. Couldn't shower. Barely running water from shower, toilet didn't flush, black mold, out dated/ illegal electrical. Leaking pipes with holes in bathroom. Drew the owner Said,"what do you expect from a 128 year old hotel?" !!!??!? I expect to be able to poop and it flush!!! Omg. I expect you to keep it clean updated, charming. Your raking it in, put some money back into your establishment. They don't give refunds. My next calls and emails will be to o.c. code enforcement, Mayers office, tourist commission etc. End of rant!! Check out my pics of this lovely little gem of a sespool on my Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and my blog

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Toilet didn't flush. Ceiling leaked. Dirty. Called management and was told it was too late for him to come out at 10:30 pm. Put a bucket under the leak. Who travels w a bucket? Shower didn't drain. Mice ++

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Apple_Pat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Don't even know where to start. Sign on wall said "hang fire extinguisher here" - there was no extinguisher. Mouse droppings under bed. Door frame over door rotted. Mold on refrigerator. Major water leak in middle of night, called desk, said it was late and they couldn't do anything about it. No one even came to check it out, our luggage was wet. The deadbolt did not work on the door, it turned but did not latch and the regular lock was flimsy. Had to move the TV and table ourselves to make the sofa bed. It was the family suite, yet you could barely turn around in the bathroom, no tub, just a teeny shower stall. Had it not been so late when we got back to our room and noticed everything we definitely would not have stayed here. I've stayed at older hotels before but this was deplorable.

Room Tip: DO NOT RENT the Family suite
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travellerx244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

The hotel was not bad for the price you pay, but you get what you pay for. There were no night stands, the bathroom was extremely small and the beds were very uncomfortable. I did enjoy how close we were to the beach!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews