We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price”
Review of Blue Water Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Water Inn
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

No frills place . Great location to the beach. Outdoor pool not bad. Lack of parking but overall ok place spent a week there cost $285 . Turndown bed service and they cleaned the room promptly. They even left a hershey kiss on the pillow.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Earl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We booked this last minute, as a late June Friday - Sunday stay.
Few rooms available in O.C.
The historic structure was renovated, and has a charming wrap around front porch, that's very cool even when hot out.
Old hotel feel, isn't fir some, but we found it to be charming and decently priced.
The drawback is, bring your own shower head:) A strange note, but the low flow restrictor in the galvanized line, behind the shower head provides a very weak flow of water. For the price, I would return, but carrying a low cost shower head, and crescent wrench:)
A one minute swap for a great shower.
The towel animals on each bed were cute, and the soaps/shampoo is better than most hotels. A turned down pillow before coming back from the beach, complete with Hershey's kisses on each pillow was a friendly touch.
Staff were very courteous and always available.
After check out/showering rooms on the Ocean side 2nd & 3rd floors (in-laws rooms, with toilet & shower) that guests who checked out, & went to the beach for the day may come back & use.
Tip, .. keep your leftover soap & shampoo, .. those rooms only have towels.

A small but refreshing pool to take a dip in, .. but it is between the two sister hotels, sort of in the parking lot, white fenced, and very lightly landscaped around that fence.
Nothing to rave about, but sufficient for a quick dunk.
Beach tags free, with a $20 returnable deposit, before leaving for home/not due back at check out:)

Overall, a couple small things aside, a cute charming place to stay, if you get a room for what you consider a decent price.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Checked in at 6:30 pm. Had to be at a.c. for rockabilly riot show by 8 pm. Couldn't shower. Barely running water from shower, toilet didn't flush, black mold, out dated/ illegal electrical. Leaking pipes with holes in bathroom. Drew the owner Said,"what do you expect from a 128 year old hotel?" !!!??!? I expect to be able to poop and it flush!!! Omg. I expect you to keep it clean updated, charming. Your raking it in, put some money back into your establishment. They don't give refunds. My next calls and emails will be to o.c. code enforcement, Mayers office, tourist commission etc. End of rant!! Check out my pics of this lovely little gem of a sespool on my Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and my blog

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LauraBrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Toilet didn't flush. Ceiling leaked. Dirty. Called management and was told it was too late for him to come out at 10:30 pm. Put a bucket under the leak. Who travels w a bucket? Shower didn't drain. Mice ++

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Apple_Pat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Don't even know where to start. Sign on wall said "hang fire extinguisher here" - there was no extinguisher. Mouse droppings under bed. Door frame over door rotted. Mold on refrigerator. Major water leak in middle of night, called desk, said it was late and they couldn't do anything about it. No one even came to check it out, our luggage was wet. The deadbolt did not work on the door, it turned but did not latch and the regular lock was flimsy. Had to move the TV and table ourselves to make the sofa bed. It was the family suite, yet you could barely turn around in the bathroom, no tub, just a teeny shower stall. Had it not been so late when we got back to our room and noticed everything we definitely would not have stayed here. I've stayed at older hotels before but this was deplorable.

Room Tip: DO NOT RENT the Family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travellerx244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 km away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
0.2 km away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 31 in Ocean City
151 reviews
1.3 km away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
364 reviews
1.1 km away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 31 in Ocean City
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Inn

Address: 617 E 8th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3743 (Formerly Sandaway Hotel)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: ₹ 5,585 - ₹ 16,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Water Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel. All new windows, some new carpet, new paint and friendly staff. We want to be your home at the shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Blue Water Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing