We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
195
42
13
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
42
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar lounge best westerns gated garage times square great hotel lincoln tunnel indoor pool the bus excellent stay junior suite rooms are spacious and clean new york city loved this hotel free breakfast fitness center free parking walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We were in NY with a group of 45 kids and 20 chaperones. The hotel was wonderful both in cleanliness and hospitality. We felt very safe and had a wonderful time. The continental breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank april622018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyrh, Manager at Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you and your entire group. We pride ourselves on being able to provide superior customer service regardless of the size of the group. We hope to see all back real soon.

Respectfully,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I had a reason that I needed to be in the area for a night so I chose the hotel closest to where I needed to be. Was incredibly surprised at what a high quality hotel it was. Staff was excellent, rooms were beautiful and the whole experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 472terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyrh, Manager at Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team takes great pride in exceeding our guest expectations each and every day. The owners put a lot of thought and effort in providing superior accommodations. We hope to see you back soon.

Respectfully,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We were here for 5 days during mi March and it was an excellent stay. We decided to stay outside Manhattan to save some $ for visiting attractions and this hotel was the perfect match.
the all staff was very friendly and helpful.
the rooms are large and spotless with mini fridge and microwave.
The free garage is a big plus so close to New York city.
They offer complementary breakfast with a nice variety. During the week , it was served until 9:30 am but most of the food were gone by 9 am, so , I decided to go early and bring breakfast in our room and it was perfect.
They offer a shuttle to the city but with limited schedule and a fee of $15/round trip.
We decided to use the local shuttle at $6/ round trip available 7 am- midnight. You can catch it at the Super 8 motel ,just 3 minutes walk from the Best Western. On the way back, the stop is on the over side of the highway and it is 10 minutes walk but pretty save even late in evening. Regarding the traffic, it is 10-20 minutes drive to Port Authority Terminal, very close to Time Square. The stop to come back is across the terminal . The shuttle is running every 15 minutes. We found that an easy and cheap way to go straight to Manhattan.
Overall , I do recommend this place for who want to avoid the cost of Manhattan hotel , have a free parking and complementary breakfast. I will come back here on my next travel to NYC.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank coco1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyrh, Manager at Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team takes great pride in exceeding our guest expectations each and every day. The owners put a lot of thought and effort in providing superior accommodations. So sorry that our breakfast fell short but we have addressed this issue with the team. We hope to see you back soon.

Respectfully,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The bed comfort was superb, breakfast had the right options to eat (fruit, yogurt, pancakes, eggs, etc), free parking, pool and gym, and staff were very good— a well-managed hotel. There is decent bus service, one run New Jersey Transit and one by private company that all takes you into the Port Authority Bus Terminal for $3/trip. For the price, it’s hard to go wrong.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Viking-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyrh, Manager at Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team takes great pride in exceeding our guest expectations each and every day. The owners put a lot of thought and effort in providing superior accommodations. We hope to see you back soon.

Respectfully,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Overall this hotel is a good value for the money. The hotel is in a decent area and we felt safe walking around. Food is nearby if you don't want to go to the city which for us was convenient because we got snowed in one day. The front desk staff is super friendly and helpful. Breakfast is average and they mix it up a little each day. Don't go here for the views as our room looked out the back at the piles of trash just strewn about. Maybe they should check here for Hoffa's body. The shuttle service to the city was fine but the people running it suck. The return times to the hotel are limited to 8 9 or 10pm. You have to choose which time you want as you board. We chose 8pm. When we realized we wouldn't make that time we called and they said no problem for the 9pm shuttle. My family and one other person were the only ones they picked up. The shuttle didn't show up until about 920 and the driver seemed irritated he had to be there. When I handed him my ticket he mumbled 8pm, which was my originally scheduled time. It was cheaper than uber so whatever and the shuttle is not run by this hotel. So for a cheaper place out of the city but still close, this was the best bet!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyrh, Owner at Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We have passed on your concern about our third party vendor that handles the shuttle service to NYC and back. We aplogies for that part of your stay.

We hope to see yo back soon.

Respectfully,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews