We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Saturday night Live skit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 28 April 2017

High rise hotel near airport,,,
Only one out of six elevators was working,,,big group and pilots with luggage trying to get on elevator
As sonn as we used the toilet it backed up.
Took a loooong time to get someone on phone to report it
They gave us the wrong password for the day for wireless. Took awhile to get through to find that out. Manager that answered the phone didn't know anything about the elevator situation...but said she just got on duty.
When my husband got out of the shower the curtain rod and shower curtain fell down on him...no injuries
Staff seemed non existent

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to reach out and share this feedback with us. We train our staff to provide guests with the best possible care during their stay, so we're very disappointed to hear that you had difficulties during your visit. Your experience is not reflective of the high standard of care that we pride ourselves on, and we regret we missed the mark on ensuring your complete satisfaction. We hope that you'll consider giving us another chance in the future, so we may restore your trust and confidence in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,502)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2017

I have stayed in many Hilton brand locations. This hotel is rundown compared to the other Hiltons. The staff really tries to make this a good experience, however. Note that in this particular stay the front desk did not understand the promises made by the toll free Hilton telephone reservationist, but once I explained the promises to the staff, they tried to do their best.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank marklP1377BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our staff does work extremely hard to ensure that all of our guests have an excellent stay, so we are sorry to hear that you didn't find the accommodations to your liking. You feedback will be used to ensure we continue to provide our guests with the highest level of customer service. If you are ever in Newark again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back, so that we can provide you with a stay that lives up to your expectations completely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Needs updated, too pricey, no honors recognition , crowded parking, two elevators not working at all, outside side door key entry broken, room accessories plug ends not working or present, pricing way too high

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 945williamwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeNewark, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

We are sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing visit with us, as we work hard to provide our guests with an experience that is nothing short of excellent. We will review your comments with our team so that we may look into and address any concerns as necessary to ensure that all of our guests can enjoy their time here. Thank you very much for reaching out to us to share your feedback. We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back so we may provide you with a stay that meets your expectations on every level. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

Since we liked staying here a few years ago when we had an ungodly early morning flight, as soon as I discovered we had a 6 a.m. departure in our future, I thought about booking here again for the night before. Then I discovered a Travezoo offer that included a night here plus up to 14 days of parking and decision made.

A nice thing about deciding to stay at an airport hotel the night before a flight is that you can take your time packing, taking care of last minute errands, etc. since you don't have a deadline for driving to the airport. We checked in late evening and had a great bellman who helped us unload and get our stuff to our room while mentioning features of the hotel we might want to take advantage of. Both he and the front desk staff person were very excited that we got a newly renovated room.

The room was indeed newly furnished in earth-toned colors and looked fresh and inviting. We basically just slept here for a few hours and it was just what we needed. The hotel shuttle runs 24 hours/day every 15 minutes so when we had to get to the airport we just went downstairs, checked out and got the shuttle to the airport. When we returned from our trip you have to take the monorail to a specific stop in the airport parking lot and there is an area where hotel shuttles stop at the curb -- the Doubletree shuttle runs continuously so you just wait for it to arrive and get your ride back to the hotel. The shuttle dropped us off at the front entrance and my hubby went to retrieve our car from the parking lot, we loaded up our luggage and gave the parking lot booth attendant our parking voucher and off we went!

So the next time we have an early morning flight we would indeed consider using this hotel again, especially if they offered the stay and park special deal we found.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

we paid 161 for a king bed for one night with hopes of getting some rest during our long layover in newark. we were woken up not once, but TWICE from the fire alarm in the middle of the night. would have rather slept for free at the airport. the room itself was not worth the price and despite asking for a non-smoking room, it definitely smelled like cigarette smoke in there. they do have airport shuttle that runs every 15 minutes

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akshaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.7 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 8,678 - ₹ 22,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing