We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good airport hotel that could be improved in small ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Had an overnight stay here between a late-evening flight in from Europe and an onward flight to West Coast the next day. This hotel has all requisite amenities and met my needs for a restful night between flights. I have no problem recommending this place to any traveler needing a place to stay near EWR. Having said that, I must mention a couple of things that, if addressed, would elevate my rating of the place from three to four stars.

First, there is lack of clear information on how to get to the hotel from the airport using the courtesy shuttle on the hotel's web site. To wit, you have to take AirTrain to Station P4, where all hotel courtesy vans do the pick-up. I had to call the hotel to get the instruction (took a couple of calls); had I landed in EWR knowing where to go and what to do, it would have saved me some precious time (given the late-night arrival).

Second, the room I stayed in, while clean and comfortable, could have used some refreshing and minor repair. There was slight musty smell, likely from condensation in the air-conditioning duct (common in hotels in warm, humid regions / weather). The anti-slippage strips on the bottom of the bath tub were worn out, and I nearly slipped and fell while taking shower. The timered heat lamp in the bathroom would shut off prematurely. It shouldn't take much to fix these and keep the room in good repair.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WWWandLBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,503)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,394 - 1,398 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed here after a winning bid on Priceline, so I can't gripe too much. But, we got what we paid for in terms of quality. We needed a place to stay overnight after landing at EWR before heading to the Manhattan cruise terminal. Took the shuttle from airport to hotel, a short 10 min drive. Didn't have to wait long for the shuttle. The driver was courteous. Check in was quick, desk staff friendly but they are lacking in general knowledge about getting from Newark to the cruise terminal. We are Hilton Diamond members, so we got free Wi Fi, but otherwise it's an extra cost, as is parking. Only food option for us when we arrived was Dominos Pizza. The wing we stayed in on the first floor was EXTREMELY musty. Fortunately, the smell of the room wasn't as bad, but it did have an odor. The furnishings are old, the desk chair arm was torn. Signs of mildew in the shower/tub. Rooms definitely need a makeover. Most of the public areas were nice, but some definitely needed attention.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pronkster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here for one night on a winning Priceline bid before heading to Panama City. The hotel served its' purpose in that instance. There is not much around to walk to, but the hotel restaurant was solid for a late night meal. The price was certainly cheap enough, and would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Shuttle pick-up at Airtran stop P-4 every 15 - 20 min. Courteous driver. Quick ride to hotel (but don't try to navigate in a car rental - too circuitous to drive on your own even with GPS!!); efficient check-in by friendly sfaff (many of whom are fm Ukraine or other Eastern European countries), wonderful room (thankfully without a minibar), superior linens and pillows. Don't expect any spectacular views of the NYC skylines, however. Our room overlooked some railroad tracks. Hotel was able to offer us an extended check-out until 2PM which was very accommodating. Had breakfast in their restaurant / coffee shop; it was expensive (NYC prices) but very good.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in July, using their advanced pre-paid rate. They charged my credit card for the stay and for security deposit (which is usually returned after the check-out). Since the charges were not cleared after 7 days I contacted by phone many times. After calling the hotel, hotel accountant, customer representatives for endless time (could never speak to the same person again, sent E-mails for the representative but answer never came back) for almost 2 months, they only reimbursed for the hotel room. They still owe me the security deposit but I am still not reimbursed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank szylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.7 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 8,708 - ₹ 23,608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing