We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Stayed here for one night. Front desk was very helpful. Parking was $18 so be aware. Hotel isn't the easiest to find but was quiet once inside the building.

Room was large and clean. Common areas were clean as well. Had a large pool and fitness center for hotel near an airport. Didn't try breakfast but waited ten minutes just to get a menu at bar area for dinner so we left since our business wasn't important to them.

Would certainly stay here again but would not choose to dine here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AverageJoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,539 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights for sight seeing in New York. We got the rooms for a discount price and just wanted a place to spend the nights.
The room was not very clean and the bathroom shower tiles were very badly plastered. You could see the plaster put in a haphazard way. The room looked very old and the interior seemed to be in need of an upgrade. You could see dirty hand prints on the curtains.
If you get it for a very cheap price, it is a place to stay. I would not pay normal DoubleTree rates to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChittiChittiBangBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This place is in the middle of no where. There are two other hotels nearby, but nothing after that. You get the feeling you are driving into a ghetto while driving to this hotel. Then....as you pull up to the hotel you must drive over metal tire strips so people will not "escape" from the property. They charge $18 a night to park and I guess they are very serious about making sure you don't try to leave without paying - or else you will lose 4 tires. Less than welcoming! But...the from desk clerk from Tunisia was super! Excellent personality and very professional. The hotel had a nice, large atrium that included the indoor pool. That was nice, but dated. The actual room was very nice. I have no complaints at all with the room - standard stuff. But the carpeting in the halls, wallpaper, etc was all rundown. Also.....we went to dinner at the hotel because there was NOTHING nearby - so that was the only option and I think they know it. I had a Club sandwich for $12 and my pal had wings for about the same price. He said they were not good. My sandwich was fine. But........beers were $5.50 - $6.50 each! Pretty steep in my opinion. Our company put us up there via Hotel.com and I think the room was around $100-$120 or so. But...after you factor in the $18 parking, it might not be such a great deal. So.....the service and the room were fine, but this place had a high "icky" factor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilburno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Since I was traveling with a teenager and a pre-teen daughter, safety was of paramount importance to me. My last trip to New York was almost 20 years back, and I stayed in the Queens area and didn't have a great impression of the big apple.
When finding a reasonably priced hotel in proper Manhattan became impossible, I took the alternate route of booking this Hilton-operated by property which is easily reachable from Manhattan. Newark doesn't have a stellar reputation but the airport area is quite safe. The hotel is great and the staff is very very nice.
The hotel has a shuttle to drop you off at the P4 terminal of Newark International Airport. From there, the monorail takes you to Newark Airport train station. A New Jersey transit train (not cheap, $15 per person each way) takes you to New York Penn station in minutes. And then the big apple grabs you with all its glory. Once you have covered all the 5th avenue sights, if you want to see the WTC sight and the 9/11 memorial etc, catch a B or D train to 4th St W, and then an E train to Chamber St or Rector St.
This time, I ended up regretting that I didn't budget more time to stay in New York City (ours was a big vacation, California->Washington DC->Niagara Falls->New York). I personally think that a major part of this positive experience was the hotel.
However, I do wish the hotel doesn't charge close to $20/day for parking from the hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fremont_ca_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here one night in July 2012. First, the good. The employees provide good service. I obtained a decent night sleep with a comfortable bed. Not hard to get to NYC Penn station from here (take the shuttle to the Newark Airport, then grab the train to NYC, the train ticket to NYC costs $25.00 round trip. I think it took less than an hour each way).
Now, the not so good. Parts of the hotel seem dated. The air-conditioning kept the room fairly comfortable, but would not get it cold (I prefer to sleep with the air around 67-68 deg F.) The airport Hotel is a true airport hotel. It is a great place to grab some sleep, but it appeared that there was not much in the immediate area to do unless you have a car or take the train from the airport elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Dispatch747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.7 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 5,977 - ₹ 16,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing