We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Re-badged tired Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I was looking for inexpensive accommodation in NJ while on business and used Priceline to book at hotel. ($80/night).
The booking came in as Doubletree; I was not familiar with the hotel but at that point was committed. To my surprise when I checked into the hotel I discovered it was the Sheraton that I had stayed in many times. Apparently Doubletree took over the hotel in March of this year.
The Sheraton had been looking increasingly tired and I suppose it was going to cost a lot of money to bring it back to their standards so they got rid of it.
There is nothing wrong with the hotel; rooms are reasonably large, the location is close to the airport it is just quite tired.
The biggest change is that they will give you a cookie upon check-in!
Windows have a tint on them which means it always feels like it is cloudy outside; not an uplifting experience. If you can get the hotel at a great price go for it; otherwise there are many better options in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,530 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

My boyfriend and I were going to NY for the night and did not want to travel back down to southern nj in the same night so we booked a room at this hotel. Other than it being no parking available because the hotel had weddings and other such events going, it was a great location. It took us about 20 minutes to get into the city. The room was standard size, and overall clean. My boyfriend loved the bed and slept like a baby until check out time. We did not have a chance to enjoy the indoor pool or food options in the hotel but maybe we will return again in the future. The woman at the front desk (had an accent) she was very professional and welcomed us to the property! Only suggestion would be to have a lobby person around when high volume of people are in the hotel. So many people were wandering around looking for exits, elevators and other things. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Away from ice machine and exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelLove88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were assigned to the Doubletree Hotel due to an overbooked flight and were pleasantly surprised by the experience. The driver who picked us up at the airport was courteous and helpful. The front desk staff was very friendly at both check-in and check-out. They pleasantly helped answer any of our questions. The rooms were well appointed and clean and offered great product. We had dinner and lunch in the hotel restaurant and were pleased with both of the meals. We will consider staying at the Doubletree the next wwe fly out of Newark airport.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I understand Hilton opened this previous Sheraton in March of 2012. Should've taken more time and spent more money before opening. From within our room on the 12th floor, everything appeared OK, well, if you overlooked the obvious and soon to be worse ceiling damage. This place has a bad roof, as evidenced by the ceiling and wall damage still apparent. The elevators need a major overhaul, i.e. arriving on our floor and not opening, feeling like the brakes weren't quite right when finally on the elevator. Didn't use the pool, but it is located in the lobby, just past reception. Odd! People were great. Hilton should close the hotel, spend the money, get the job done right and then reopen.
Location is great for airport and EASY access to Manhattan through the Holland Tunnel. More than enough to do there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The hotel itself was nice enough - pool, decent (yet overpriced) bar/restaraunt. But the walls are particularly thin and the doors slam VERY loudly. If you're near a vending/ice machine good luck to you. We were there during a particularly crowded weekend with tours and parties and the hotel only had 1-2 (out of 4) elevators running. I had a lot of baggage to carry and had to avoid stairs -- had to wait FIFTEEN minutes before I could get on the elevator. Also, the whirlpool is actually a gigantic potted plant now... they should probably update the signs there.

Room Tip: Thin walls/doors = stay away from elevators/ice machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisResnick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 5,414 - ₹ 17,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing