We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About right for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 30 May 2012

really simple. 3 star hotel, 3 star prices. the pool is unobstructed from the reception/lobby/main entrance which is a bit of a letdown. So nobody really uses the pool. No room service or food/drinks after 11pm. You have to eat at the Ramada next door if you check in late. In our case, I starved through the night as i was late.

The hotel is kinda in the middle of nowhere, so unless you have a gps handy in your vehicle, good luck finding this place!

I guess it is good for people arriving on planes and using the airport shuttle at night, not so much for the vehicular transiting families.

The meet and greet is in your face as soon as you enter the lobby, and you have to really wonder if hotels like the Hilton employ walmart security screening tactics to deter guests at the hotel :-D

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcousticImmersion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,466 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on a family trip to NYC, and I thought it was quite nice. The service was excellent, and the staff was always quite helpful. My only complaint is that getting to New York City takes a little time from Newark, and we spent much of our time in NYC while we were here. The concierge will call you a car to transport you to the Newark Penn Station for $25. The drivers of these cars were always quite nice, and since you were riding in a contracted vehicle rather than a cab, the cars were always clean. They have a free shuttle that runs to and from the Newark Airport 24 hours a day, which is quite nice if you fly in. A free breakfast buffet is included with your stay as well.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had to stay here after missing all connections due to inclement weather in Newark. The reservation was provided by United Airlines. The room I was give was big, fresh, clean, nice and modern. Beds were comfortable and restroom was clean. I was given till 2PM to checkout which was nice as my flight was in the evening the next day. This may be a dated hotel but it has been nicely renovated.

Doubletree cookies at check-in is always nice. I got free breakfast as a HHONORS gold. The breakfast buffest selection was good and the restaurant staff very hospitable. Internet was complimentary. The swimming pool is in the middle of the hotel. Half of the 4 elevators were under maintenance. There is a gift shop inside the hotel which also sells generic pharmacy items.

Hotel provides a free shuttle to Newark airport every 20 minutes. We had dinner at the BAR restaurant here and the food was expensive and nothing to write home about. I would definitely stay here again. Pictures to follow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sokaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Nice hotel, I got a good price (£70) on hotels.com, no airport noise. Free airport shuttle. Good shower on the Malcolm shower rating (5 is my home power shower, 4 is wife happy washing hair, 3 is wife washes hair moaning, 2 is wife refuses to wash hair) If you ask for a taxi to NYC, they call a limo fixed price $90 inc tolls. Nice but pricey. Good restaurant/bar. Coffee shop in Ramada next door.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The architect clearly had fun with this hotel. You have to walk around man made obstacles to get anywhere. there is something resembling staircase art at the back, the swimming pool is open, next to reception and rooms have small balconies opening onto an atrium which means that any noise can be heard by everyone. I cant understand why someone would want to go on a room balcony and look down at the lobby.
Anyway, this hotel functions as an airport hotel close to Newark. It is about 10-15mins drive away next to the Ramada. Stay at Marriott if you want something closer.
service and food actually OK. Rooms standard 3-4 star American with some fittings falling off. Aircon was set at different temperatures in various rooms. We had to open the door of our meeting room to let the warm air in.
Wireless was annoying. They have about 10 wireless router names but i could only get one to work in my room with the free reception code, the one called WIRELESS which was not the one recommended. It didnt work downstairs.
One positive was they let me have a late checkout to 18:00 which was good.

Room Tip: if there is a function going on, it must be loud due to the funny balconies over the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaplocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
2.7 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
3.8 km away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#3 of 14 in Elizabeth
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 7,720 - ₹ 21,992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing