We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wierdest inside design of a hotel I have seen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The architect clearly had fun with this hotel. You have to walk around man made obstacles to get anywhere. there is something resembling staircase art at the back, the swimming pool is open, next to reception and rooms have small balconies opening onto an atrium which means that any noise can be heard by everyone. I cant understand why someone would want to go on a room balcony and look down at the lobby.
Anyway, this hotel functions as an airport hotel close to Newark. It is about 10-15mins drive away next to the Ramada. Stay at Marriott if you want something closer.
service and food actually OK. Rooms standard 3-4 star American with some fittings falling off. Aircon was set at different temperatures in various rooms. We had to open the door of our meeting room to let the warm air in.
Wireless was annoying. They have about 10 wireless router names but i could only get one to work in my room with the free reception code, the one called WIRELESS which was not the one recommended. It didnt work downstairs.
One positive was they let me have a late checkout to 18:00 which was good.

Room Tip: if there is a function going on, it must be loud due to the funny balconies over the atrium
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaplocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,500)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,443 of 1,502 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

Spend here 2 nights on my route to Miami. Hotel offer complimentary shuttle bus from P4 station of airport rail link. Interiors of hotel require renovation. Actually, now this hotel is DoubleTree by Hilton Newark Airport Hotel. So, probably new owner will renovate it soon.
My room 1212 and three other rooms in our party was Ok with a view over Newark airport. Very clean, comfy bed, coffee/tea facilities in room. Paid 18 USD for movie by mistake, so don't touch TV if you not very familiar.
On arrival late night check-in was quick and we get warm chocolate cookies (signature of DoubleTree).
Here is a breakfast in Brasserie 128 at lobby floor for 18 USD (tax included). Typical selection - fresh fruits, omelets, sousage, beacon, toasts, french toasts and assorted pastries, yogourts, orange juice and coffee or tea also available.
Here was huge party during week-end, so these few elevators was full in the morning and evenin. We spend half an hour to wait at 12th floor while participants of this event finally vacate elevators.
At the lobby level you'll also find indoor swimming pool, but as it located directly oposit the reception desk, you'll find some kind of discomoft by using it while other guests of hotel passing in business suites along you through the day. During our stay seen nobody used it, but water was preatty warm.
So, if you connecting via EWR airport in Newark, this hotel is an option to save money for accommodation, comparing with hotels at Manhattan. Your can board NJ Transit to New York Penn Station, which in the hear of New York. Return ticket for 25 USD available from machine at Newark International Airport Station, which is next after P4 by airport rail link.
Receptionist tald that taxi to Manhattan will cost about 90 USD, but I think it will be about 40-50 USD. Let peoples know if you'll try to get Manhattan by taxi from this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I don't really like hotel without free wireless. i went to a tour at eastern usa plus canada. This is the only hotel that did not provide free wireless. This is very inconvenient. Overall, the room is good. They provide crabtree & evelyn bath products, which i like it very much. However, the bed is too soft. I had a backache after sleeping on soft linen.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

the hotel is very close to the airport and they have a fast early check out. Is dog friendly, if you come with your pet you'll get a first floor room. Is clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mogway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Please be aware that Sheraton Newark Airport Hotel has changed name to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. They now charge $18 plus 15% tax for parking. All the posting regarding Sheraton Newark Airport Hotel might not be valid with this change. They used to have good parking rate.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank theoldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
2.7 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
2.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
0.6 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.1 km away
Best Western Plus Newark Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport

Address: 128 Frontage Rd, Newark, NJ 07114-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 8,678 - ₹ 22,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated rooms at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. Our hotel is ideally situated next to Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), minutes from downtown Newark, and just 10 miles from NYC. We offer a complimentary shuttle to EWR every 15 minutes for your convenience. Our hotel is the ideal place to stay pre or post-cruise from Cape Liberty Cruise Port – just 7 miles from the hotel. Plan your trip to the port with ease by stopping by the travel desk in our lobby. Delight in a warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookie when you arrive in our bright and spacious atrium. Enjoy free WiFi in all our public spaces, or upgrade to WiFi in your room for a fee. Our hotel offers an exclusive Executive Lounge. Choose an executive level room on the 12th floor for access to our exclusive Executive Lounge, which offers continental breakfast (Mon - Fri) and evening hors d’oeuvres (Mon - Thurs). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Newark
Sheraton Hotel Newark Nj
Newark Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing