We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Gym/Ridiculously Expensive Drinks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Gym/Ridiculously Expensive Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a layover here last week. Had not been to the hotel before. It was very clean, quiet & comfortable. The other 2 flight attendants & I met in the bar for an after work drink. A normal size draft beer was $7. The 2 other girls got cosmos that were $14 each! This is highway robbery. I'm guessing the other patrons get to submit expense reports & have their drinks paid for. I personally won't drink there again. We did get an order of delicious sweet potato fries to share.

The gym is big, bright & has great equipment. 5 ellipticals lined up facing out the back window. 6 treadmills facing the indoor/outdoor pool. At least 4 exercise bikes, free weights & some universal gym equipment. The outdoor pool was still covered last week. ( April 15) Good size patio area around the pool to sit at.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice/vending machines/elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mauilover0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    702
    241
    70
    32
See reviews for
305
387
131
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
118 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is large and situated in the middle of the airport area. We booked 1 night to catch an early flight out of EWR, and it served this purpose perfectly. The hotel is a bit isolated, surrounded by roads and not very much else.
We found the lobby area very spacious and inviting, and check in was fast and friendly. Our room was spacious, quiet and clean, and we had a nice view of the Manhattan skyline. The amenities were generally as expected, and included a coffee maker. It is possible to print boarding passes in the business center for free, whereas wi fi in the rooms is not free. The daily rate for this is USD 12.95, which also includes unlimited phone calls, but if you do not need the latter, I find this a bit pricey.
We had dinner in the restaurant, but it was also possible to dine in the English pub. The food we had was very good and fairly priced, and we found the service excellent.
Early the next morning we took the complimentary Airport Shuttle to the terminal - fast and efficient.
So all in all this was a great stay, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NemoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Would stay again, as the location is unbeatable for the airport. As on the grounds of airport, shuttle runs all the time. My main concern was that hotels which are further away would have a less frequent schedule. As I had an early morning flight, the somewhat higher price was worth the reassurance that I would not have to be stressed abt the shuttle.

Location: closed to the airport, as on the airport grounds. As a result, the shuttle service runs literally every 10 min (drops off also at mono-rail to train station for NYC). Without much luggage it is possible to walk to airport, just need to cross a massive car park.

Rooms: Typical business hotel. Rooms not brand new, but well appointed with coffee maker, nice bed, bath with nice amenity products. View on highway /airport. I

Big negative: wireless is not included in the rate

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolrdwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

What can I say as I only slept here - small rooms but clean - standard Marriott fair. You can't go wrong but can't go right either - this place is just fine if you have to sleep at the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed just the one night whilst waiting for our connecting flight the following day. Hotel is a little pricey but very nice. It's huge. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Had breakfast at the restaurant for $19 which was excellent-all you can eat buffet. Hotel is within walking distance of Terminal C if your bags are not too heavy and you can stride over the bollards-that said there is a regular courtesy bus-special mention to one of our driver's (think he was name Lou)-looked like the Fonze-was so friendly! Felt safe and secure. There are safes in the lobby. Also has a small swimming pool and gym if you are feeling energetic! Chose it on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
2.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
1.3 km away
Wyndham Garden Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Newark Airport West
5.0 km away
Hilton Newark Penn Station
2.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Newark Liberty International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Property: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
Address: 1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114-3513
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Green Hotel in Newark
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,909 - ₹ 21,289
Hotel Class:4 star — Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Newark Airport premises, Newark Liberty Marriott is perfect for people traveling in the Newark and Manhattan areas. This hotel offers space for meetings and wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott Hotel Newark
Marriott Newark
Newark Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing