We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff & Wonderful Location; Sleepless Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newark Penn Station
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newark
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This hotel is so hard to review because we had almost a shizophrenic experience. The hotel staff is absolutely wonderful, from the shuttle driver to the check-in staff to the restaurant management and wait staff BUT the hotel room was so incredibly noisy that I felt like a zombie after two nights of restless sleep.
We used the hotel as a pre-cruise stay, going out of the Bayonne Cruise Terminal. Flying into EWR, you won't find the Hilton Newark Penn Station listed on the bank of phones at the terminals in baggage claim; however, if you dial the number for the Hilton Newark Airport, they can connect you to the front desk at Hilton Newark Penn Station. You don't really have to call the front desk, though. Just go to the P-4 area, using either the AirTran or the pedestrian walkway, and the hotel shuttle will come to the island about every hour and on the half hour, during the day. Be sure that you get into the correct Hilton shuttle as there are TWO different Hilton hotels: the one at the airport and the one at Penn Station.
The hotel is in a superb location to get into Manhattan, using the PATH system. Easy to follow directions and easy to navigate. A situation that we had was that the machines to dispense the PATH tickets were unable to accept paper money, but could accept coins. I was able to scrounge around for enough quarters to buy our tickets! It might be a good idea to have a bunch of quarters available to avoid having to put a small amount on a credit card. FYI.
We arrived at the hotel on a Friday night. There is an absolutely wonderful grill/bar, Market St Bar & Grill, that is attached to the hotel. We were told that they had the BEST hamburgers in Newark. Believe me; the hamburgers were wonderful. As I mentioned in the subject line, the restaurant management and the servers that we had (we ate a small breakfast there as well) were absolutely outstanding as they were really professional and friendly. Please be advised that the shops that are in the strip area outside of the hotel (as I remember, there was a Starbucks, a Subway, some sandwich shops, coffee shops, ice creams shops...) are there apparently to accommodate office workers as they are NOT OPEN on the weekends.
The only issue that we had was the noise factor for the room, 807. We just aren't used to city noise so the traffic, horns, sirens were a huge problem in my ability to sleep. The hotel actually had ear plugs on the nightstand! But, I'm not used to wearing ear plugs and I didn't find them to be useful. Also, some person decided to play with their daughter in the hall at 1:00am! Unbelievable that there was so much activity from this woman, calling her daughter's name over and over and over again. It was definitely a "fun" game because there was a lot of laughter and running involved. Good grief. Probably alcohol contributed to the anti-social behavior of this thoughtless person.
I think that the hotel would be wonderful to stay in, again, if I could get a room that was less exposed to the city noise. I don't know if that's possible. The room was well maintained, clean, and the bathroom was spotless... all the things that really matter. I just needed to catch up on some sleep after we checked out!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZPamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,143 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for our trip into NYC to watch Mary Poppins on Broadway. We requested an early check in and it was granted at 12:30pm instead of 3:00. We were able to take a nap before getting ready for our night in NY. The hotel had a free shuttle from the airport and the driver was friendly and helpful with information. The hotel is connected to Penn train station.. It was easy to access and the train took us right onto 7th and 31st Avenue. We only had to walk 7 sightseeing blocks to our destination. After the show we walked back to the train station and again easy access backa to the Hilton. Because it was after 11:00pm the walkway connection to the hotel is closed so you have to go outside and walk to the hotel but that wasn't a problem. To top it off we arrived back to th hotel starving and the restraurant was about to close but they went out of their way to make keep it open. If you are planning a trip to NYC and want to stay a lil ways away with great access to NY, I recommend staying at this hotel. Thanks Hilton for making our first trip to NY stress free.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DL4ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this Hilton, which is connected by walkway to Newark Penn station, from which you can take the NJ transit or Metro trains into Manhattan very easily and quickly. [Tip: the metro to World Trade Centre costs only $2 each way, while the NJ Transit is $5] The room was fine, although the bathroom was small compared with the Hampton inn we'd stayed at the previous night. The desk clerk gave us directions to the Portuguese area of Newark, which is only about a five-minute walk away, and we found some good restaurants there. There are also lots of restaurants and shops in the station itself.

The hotel has a complimentary shuttle to Newark airport every half hour up to 6 am, and every hour thereafter.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superhoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel is conveniently located across the street from Newark Penn Station and connected to it by footbridge. Additionally, there is a small, indoor shopping area with a Starbucks and a few shops and restaurants. It is not far from Newark Liberty International Airport, making it a true, "intermodal" hotel option for travelers.
I didn't try the restaurant because I checked in very late and time in the morning didn't permit it. However, I did take advantage of the fitness center and found it lacking in space and equipment. While the equipment they did have was state-of-the-art, there just wasn't much of it. The room itself was fairly small and a bit cramped. It could stand a rennovation.
Service was friendly and prompt, which I appreciated. The rooms were typical Hilton and, for the New York/New Jersey area, reasonably sized. The beds were comfortable enough to get a good night's sleep, and although I was near the elevators, I didn't hear much machinery noise (or any other, for that matter). That was very welcome.
I would stay here again, and would also recommend it to people who were traveling through Newark by air or train. It's convenient. And finding the "real" Starbucks inside was very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MI_TravelFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were sailing on a cruise from Newark so with flights also coming into Newark we decided to base our pre cruise three days in this hotel.
We were very pleased with it, rooms were clean and well serviced and you cannot beat the location right beside Penn Station which allowed us to use the PATH direct to 33rd street for $2 each - excellent value.
We were fortunate and had no wait at the Shuttle at P4 at the airport
We ate a snack in the restuarant the first night - husband ordered fish and chips and enjoyed an excellent plate of food, I was less hungry so went for the hummus dip and found a substantial portion. Not sure we would have eaten there if we had not just wanted a snack, it was very much a sports bar, which is not our thing, but the food was good.
All the staff were pleasant, in particular Keith made us very welcome and was most helpful in ensuring we had the right subway and train information and came out of the hotel to make sure we found the overbridge to the station.
Sleep was a little disturbed by sirens, but it was the weekend, and it is in a downtown location.
Would certainly consider staying there again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKtog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newark hotels
Newark Central Business District
Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel
Newark Central Business District
Courtyard Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newark Central Business District
Hotel Indigo - Newark Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newark Penn Station? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newark Penn Station

Address: Gateway Center - Raymond Blvd, Newark, NJ 07102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range: ₹ 8,738 - ₹ 17,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Newark Penn Station 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Newark Penn Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newark Penn Station Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Penn Station Newark
Newark Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing