We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
48
34
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
34
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews polished wooden floors manor house older couple stayed here for nights high ceilings supper france garden pyrenees
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed here in october for 5 nights.
It is the best place we have ever stayed in france.
We loved the old world charm and the beautiful wooden floors and the lovely decor.
The bathroom was very large with a fantastic shower. The bedroom was also very large with a little verandah to sit on and admire the view.
The owners are extremely helpful and gave us many tips from restaurants to places to visit nearby.
Alain speaks excellent english and listened patiently to our very bad french.
Would love to come back one day

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mikeandkerri22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Castel de la Pique for two nights in September 2016. The hotel is run by an older couple who couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The hotel feels more like a bed and breakfast, probably because it was a mansion in one of its previous lives. The gentleman speaks very good English, but his wife speaks only French. But she is more than happy to converse, regardless of which language you speak. We had a room on the upper floor that was on the back side of the hotel. It was a basic room with a bathroom in one corner. The room had one larger bed and two twin beds. Our bed was pretty hard for our tastes. The view of the mountains from the room was wonderful. A small river runs past the back of the hotel, so we constantly heard the soothing sounds of the river. The hotel has no elevator, but the large staircase is easy to navigate.

I had a bout of "traveler's lament" (think the D word) one night while there. After my wife asked the gentleman about the local pharmacies, his wife immediately offered her own proven cure: pastis, slugged back like a shot of whiskey. I drank it, went back to bed for a couple hours, woke up and had no further problems! I am now a believer in the folk remedies of France.

Parking is free and is directly in front of the hotel. It is set back off the road and down a little driveway, so you will have to look for the hotel's sign up by the road. It is located a very short walk from the town's main street.

Bagneres-de-Luchon is a wonderful mountain town with numerous restaurants, bakeries, bars, cheese shops, charcuterie shops and more. The surrounding area is stunningly beautiful with many opportunities for hiking, cycling and driving. We decided that we could have easily stayed there for a week. We drove all around the area and even briefly crossed over into Spain. For those who love driving the winding mountain roads of France, this is prime territory. The area has endless curvy roads with numerous switchbacks. If you like waterfalls, the area has quite a few to see.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YDraenogChwilfrydig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We spent by far the best night of our short trip to the Pyrenees at this lovely hotel. It exactly corresponds with what we always look for when searching for a hotel : characterful, comfortable, clean, quiet position, views. Spacious rooms with character - antique furniture , spotlessly clean., veranda with wonderful mountain views. Good breakfast . Very friendly proprietors . Can thoroughly recommend

Room tip: Front room, side gives views all around
Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Our group recently spent 4 nights in de la Pique Luchon. It is beautifully restored hotel in gorgeous setting. A big job to maintain. All rooms comfortable and well appointed. We all slept well except on an exceptionally hot evening. Our host was helpful and attentive and especially good in a crisis. Breakfast was basic continental. Safe bike storage. The only thing missing was tea and coffee facilities. The little room booklet said we could get hot drinks but in reality this was not possible. We would have loved to sit in the garden sipping tea!

Date of stay: July 2016
Thank K2K62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. Alain and Solange were lovely and welcoming hosts - Alain being a very fascinating man who spoke perfect English - I could have chatted with him all day. Our room was large and very comfortable, which aided by the sound of the river behind the house, ensured an excellent nights sleep. Free and safe parking is available and the hotel is only a short walk to the town, which meant we strolled down to a really good selection of restaurants for our supper. We would stay again without hesitation.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews