We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs are Best”
Review of Mason Jar

Mason Jar
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Mahwah
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: When you're looking for good food with family, a drink with friends, or even just a place to watch the game, come see what's cooking at the Mason Jar! We believe that variety is the spice of life so our menu is all about options. Choose from a crisp salad, mouth-watering BBQ, fresh seafood, and so much more! But don't forget about our famous Sunday brunch! Mason Jar also features a full bar with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday from 4-7pm. Grab a couple of co-workers and wind down after a long day with our signature cocktails and draft beers. With 8 big screen TVs, Mason Jar is the perfect place to watch the big game! Join us on Thursday nights during football season to cheer on your favorite team. We also host live music every Friday and Saturday night! Enjoy the weather out on our beautiful dog-friendly patio with your favorite pooch or a seat at our spacious bar. At Mason Jar, we want your visit to be a fun and enjoyable experience! We're committed to friendly service, delicious food, and a welcoming atmosphere. When you're in the mood for food and fun, come down to Mason Jar for a good time!
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The Mason Jar has excellent menu choices - ribs, chicken, steaks, burgers, salads, etc. Drinks are served in a mason jar - nice touch. Service is good - but sometimes can be slow.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pieman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

We're so happy you enjoyed our menu choices! Thanks so much for dropping us a line. Service can be slower at busier times like any restaurant, but we'd be happy to recommend times that aren't as busy. Now, we look forward to seeing you again the next time you stop by!

Best,
Ira & Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2015

The place is big and it's very rustic. The Sunday brunch is well worth it. It comes with a free glass of champagne or juice. The brunch has all kinds of dishes, seafood salads, hot dishes, cold cuts, salmon, breakfast dishes, bread, muffins, etc., the variety of dishes is tremendous; they can make you any kind of omelet. Excellent food and to my opinion they have one of the best rice puddings I have ever eaten. During the summer there is no Sunday brunch, it runs from September to Mother's day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miryam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Thanks so much, Miryam! We're so happy you enjoy Sunday brunch with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Ira & Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

A popular, noisy restaurant serving standard fare and a menu with a large variety of items. Food and prices are reasonable although nothing is outstanding. Servers are young, busy and disengaged. Sometimes a band plays, the place fills up and this might be the highlight of the evening.

Thank Mayatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the band, and if you ever visit again, we'd love to chat about your tastes to find something on our menu you'd love.

Many thanks!
Ira & Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015 via mobile

I can't recall the mans name. He was very handsome and looks like the man from Jurassic World. Ha-ha I think his name started with a "T" or "J" has tattoos, beard, and is in his 20's. we had a group of 10 and he had us all laughing, made great suggestions, joked repeatedly with us and made a few from our group go back again! Thanks for the great door and great service!

Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2015

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit, Jackie! Thanks so much for reaching out. We'll be sure to pass along your review with our staff, and we'd love to see you again soon!

Best,
Ira & Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I ate here after a memorial service for my sister in law at Ramapo College. She had hung out here while attending school. I had the steak sandwich and it was absolutely delicious. It practically melted in my mouth. The kitchen did a great job serving the 12 of us who arrived after the kitchen had closed to pay tribute to her in her old haunt.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nanacarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel W, Owner at Mason Jar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the steak sandwich! Thanks so much for dropping us a line. Now, if you're ever in the Mahwah area again, we'd love to see you.

Best,
Ira & Joel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mason Jar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing