We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Away!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2017

This place is a complete dump. For what they are charging you can stay just about anywhere, including Times Square. DO NOT get sucked in by the photos. It is criminal what they are getting away with here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank traveler101041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, EVP at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

We are sorry that you were unhappy. This is obviously the hatchet job that you threatened to post unless we gave you what you demanded. I invite anyone reading your purposefully misleading review to come stay with us and then render their opinion of staying at this historically magnificent estate and alpaca farm. We will give you a bottle of wine upon check-in if you mention the hatchet job. The picture you posted were of a temporary duct line they should've been removed. It has been removed and a broken tile that has been repaired. We are sorry they offended you and weren't corrected prior to your stay. We have been in the business for 22 years of creating an environment where people ( over 50,000 guests) can enjoy the estate and their time away. It is what we do and we take it serious. We are sorry you were unhappy but we don't yield to threats. We like happy guests and try our best to enable them to be happy. Some people are inherently bullies, mean, and unhappy, they try to take down your family business because they don't get their way. We pray for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2016

People seem to confuse this BB with a full service hotel where people are going to cater to your every need. I stayed here for two nights for a wedding. We had a room in the "attic". The room was a decent size, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom area was very large. Water pressure was not great but this is a very old building that they can probably not upgrade. We had breakfast both days which was pretty good. The property was nice. Check in and check out was very easy. The biggest negative is that it is overpriced $250 a night is a little steep for a September stay. We did not really need anything extra.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 114Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were attending a wedding in Lambertville over Labor Day weekend for one of his close friends. We arrived in town early, had lunch near the water and drove to the B&B with 2+ hours to check in and change prior to the ceremony. Upon arrival (and after a lengthy conversation) we were informed that 1. We did not have a reservation (despite having a printed confirmation) 2. We could have a different room (the room we originally reserved was occupied) but it wasnt clean/ready 3. There was no water pressure at the inn, so if we did check in we would not be able to shower. We were obviously frustrated and unhappy. The only response we received from the man at the desk was: Im only the owner, not the operator.

Needless to say we missed the ceremony. However, we found a room at the Golden Plough Inn, which was lovely!

I would urge others to avoid this facility at all cost.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

I was recently told about your comment and I finally had a moment to respond. I understand you were upset. Bad things happen to good people. The estate is magnificent. It is also historic. On any given day any facility can experience a loss of water. It is not a routing occurrence however, it can and did happen. We are dreadfully sorry. It is always our intention to provide our guest with an opportunity to experience the magic of this historic magnificent estate. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations. This is our family business and your comment to avoid is hurtful.
Kindly

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Worst experience ever! Rooms were never cleaned....refrig had half full bottles of water.....from someone else.....no air conditioning in loft area.....89 degrees in loft area!! Couldn't sleep......left at 9:30 pm to go home.....! No one at reception desk in main house to inform anyone!! This was an anniversary weekend for us!! Will not recommend to our worst enemies!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank 495rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This place was a disappointment. Obviously has a "hands off" owner who doesn't care about the place. Take a look at the pics we took instead of the website photos. If you are planning a wedding PLEASE make a site visit 1st.

Website says there are moms and baby alpacas and a llama. 2 of them died so now they have 7 males and a couple are nasty and aggressive towards the nicer ones. We were feeding them and they started fighting & spitting at each other so we had to stop. The barn they live in is falling down and they sweep all the poop in front of the gate where you feed them. It's disgusting. We had poop all over our sneakers. They are supposed to graze on grass but they are in an electrified fenced in area with no grass, just 5 foot high weeds. So sad! They look neglected like the grounds.

The grounds are over grown with weeds and the paint is peeling off the house. We stayed in the Tapestry room. It smelled like an old dirty bathroom and only had one shade so we had to cover the other window with a blanket. You had to bend down to get under the shower and the claw foot tub was uneven so it rocked back and forth while trying to shower. Our balcony was a small roof and almost impossible to get to. No wifi in the room, only downstairs in the common area. Website said wifi in the room amenities as well as baked goods. Both were false. You get travel size shampoo and conditioner but no bar soap. No TV, no working clock and no radio but the AC worked like a charm (thank the Lord) cause it was 99 degrees all 4 days we were there. They did make up your bed every day which was nice.

No coffee until breakfast at 8:30am on weekends and 9am on weekdays. We are early risers so a self serve pot in the common area would have been nice. A microwave would have been nicer. The best part was the breakfast. However, there's a language barrier with the cook. We don't like scrambled eggs so we spent 10 minutes describing over easy eggs. We ended up getting over medium and over hard eggs but it was still nice to have a home cooked breakfast. The cook was nice to us and did her best to make us happy.

The common area had the most comfy leather couches so we spent most of our time in there. This was our favorite room, very relaxing. However, This room wasn't cleaned once in 4 days. Same cobwebs on the clock and shelves when we arrived as when we left. You could write your name in the dust on the table. The common kitchen area was messy and dirty with gnats all over the oj. They did offer free water bottles which was nice.

The only reason we went was for the alpacas. Inkeeper Frank promised us an "alpaca handling" experience for $45. We scheduled it for Sunday at 11am and his email reply was "consider it done". Well, he was a no show. The girl on duty had no idea what was going on so she called the owner who also never heard of a handling class. He promised us that Frank would come in the next day and my daughter could help him walk the alpacas. We waited around and Frank came, fed them and waved goodbye and left. So we checked out and left.

Inkeeper Frank should not be in hospitality. He was like a little kid telling us how he loves PA gun laws, almost drooling. Apparently, they are more strict in NJ. We are anti guns so he should keep his opinions to himself. He wasn't very nice to the alpacas. He bragged about purchasing a llama for $2k and already made 10k off of him so I guess he found his golden egg. He was never around to help guests. Like the poor senior couple on the 3rd floor who's AC was broken and no one was around to help them. They were told to go into a storage room for a fans and had to wait until the next day to get a new AC unit. It was a 100 degrees that day. They were told "no refunds" but they still checked out a day early. The office was closed 90% of the time only offering self check in which resulted in guests asking us questions.

The owner needs to be more hands on to make sure things are being done. He needs to hire a grounds keeper and a house keeper that cleans daily. If your not willing to do it right, get out of the business. Don't run it into the ground and then sell it because no one is going to want a business with a bad reputation. This place has potential to be great.

Please fill the pot holes with gravel. Each of us fell into at least one pot hole jarring our back walking to & fro the parking lot. It's a trip hazard and very bouncy driving through them.

It cost us $825 for 3 nights....what a rip off. This is why I wrote a book because I expect better paying almost $300 a night. Shame on you and your bait & switch practices. Don't respond to my feedback with a template response, instead spend the time fixing up your B&B...please!

If you thought this review was helpful, please click the thumbs up button below. Thanks for reading!

Room Tip: Ask if the wifi reaches the room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ILuvVacationing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, Executive Vice President at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

We are sorry that you were disappointed. It is our intention to provide an environment where all of our guests can have a great experience. We apologize to you and your family. Upon arrival you were given my personal cellphone number which you never called. Upon check-out you were sent an e-mail with my personal e-mail address so that you could contact me and express how your stay was and if less than expected give me a chance to make things right with you. You never e-mailed me. Instead you choose to write a very gruesome review with lots of exaggerations and inaccuracies. I am not sure what your motivation is for doings so. I do know that we have thousands of very happy guests through our 22 years as Inn Owners. I will review your comments with Frank and Giovanna (who called me to help you.) You remember when I personally took you and your daughter into the pasture so she could feed the alpacas in the barn. I wonder why you didn't mention that ... hmmm. Again my apologies for disappointing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
1.2 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
247 reviews
8.3 km away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
1.2 km away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
2.5 km away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
6.8 km away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2609
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range: ₹ 14,497 - ₹ 21,809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing