We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok for the price ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

My husband and I always travel to the New Hope/lambertville area for our anniversary and usually try to stay at a different bed & breakfast. This was our first time at Chimney Hill. The innkeeper Rich was very friendly however did not offer to show us around the property or to our room like other places we have stayed at in the area. Our room was on the dark side (Renaissance room), however we did enjoy the fireplace in the room and the sheets/bedding was very comfy. A nice plus was the sangria and chips and guacamole provided at 5. We enjoyed the stone room with comfy couches and cozy fireplace. There was always bottled water provided along with complimentary liquor. The alpacas were cute and it was fun to feed them.

HOWEVER what could have been a 4 star review changed the next morning at breakfast. We arrived 10-15 min after the start time of breakfast and were told that they were already out of the main breakfast special which was a specialty quiche. This is completely unacceptable for the $350/night that the inn Charges! Breakfast is supposed to be part of the package price and all we got was simple scrambled eggs, 2 pieces of bacon and a few home fries. The inn knows ahead of time how many guests are staying there, so there should be more than enough for everyone to have the breakfast. As I mentioned we have been to a lot of B & B's in the area and this was the most simple and plain breakfast we received - especially for the price! We mentioned it to Rich when we left and while he apologized, it didn't make up for the experience or for the amount we paid to stay there.

Will we be back? Definitely not, when there are so many other choices to stay at in the area, for a much more reasonable cost.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stephanie341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Thank you for your comments. We are working hard to make changes and improve our guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2015

When we arrived we were greeted by owner, Rich, who helped us get situated and then made recommendations for a wine tasting to visit. He was always available by phone and was seen frequently on the grounds to answer any questions. We then were given a dinner reservation that was an excellent choice. When we arrived back the room was clean and the facility was very warm and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing and the snacks and beverages were available all day and night. Definitely recommend for an anniversary weekend or just to get away.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

We appreciate your comments and review! Thank you for your visit and we hope that you will come by again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

My fiance and I just got back from eloping to Chimney Hill the end of August and it was the most perfect experience we could've imagined. The owner/inn keeper, Rich Anderson was absolutley phenomenal in helping us plan, being flexible in accomodating us, and going above and beyond to ensure we had an unforgettable stay. Food was delishous and the main bulding is immaculately mainatained and almost all origional. Has the cozy, historic feel yet comfortable like a modern hotel. The alpacas are awesome and its just a super-relaxing environment. The grounds are beautiful. We stayed in Barn Suite 4 in a building seperate from the main Inn and while a little more expensive, its completely worth it. You dont expect to walk up the stairs to your suite to find a jaccuzzi tub, two person shower, vaulte ceilings, two-sided fireplace, living room, and a spiral staircase leading to a loft bedroom. While we stayed for our wedding, I would stay in a heartbeat for anything else to getaway and relax. There are numerous pubs, resturaunts and parks within 5 minutes. GO CHECK IT OUT! Truly a fantastic experience from start to finish which makes the reality of writing this at work a little hard to bear...but we'll be back!

Room Tip: Character/charm only found in older origional buildings. Barn suite 4 was spacious, vaulted ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Thank you for your review! So happy that you were excited and pleased!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank 154viktorb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Terry A, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

We were surprised how we could be charged $350 a night and then get a dark room with no atmosphere, no view, and decor that looked 20 yrs old. The room was stuffy and in an annex house with unused rooms in it that we needed to cross to even get to it ( as it was in the back of that house). None of the charmingly romantic views or moments the website offered. Breakfast was executed by a Spanish speaking maid and her son, who clearly had no clue about food preparation. When asking for a toast or bread she looked through the freezer and told us there was nothing. Poor scrambled eggs with peppers ( any five year old would have done better) and a small granola banana cup was the whole offering unless we would have wanted some chemical muffins that looked like they came out of a Walmart big pack.
For that money we stayed in Provence in France in a luxury BB with five star breakfast 3 months ago.
What a shame people here can just charge phantasy prices because some clueless people will always be there to think that this is a normal. Well, we did not think that this is correct. The value of this overnight stay was no more than $80 and that is generous.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
13  Thank Rpean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia D, EVP at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2015

We were surprised at this guest comments. The person writing this review seems to be attempting to be very insulting and elicit maximum damage. Upon arrival guests are provided with the owners personal contact information. They are told if they are unhappy about anything to call him. If the guests feel the room is too dark reading lights will be provided. The Suite in which they stayed had a 20'long beautiful natural Ash Dining Room table in the common area in addition to a Large beautiful Stone fireplace built by a famous mason with stone salvaged from an 1800's Bucks Country bank barn. You can see pictures of the room online. The comments are very inaccurate and seem like they were commenting about another place they stayed or they never turned the lights on. It is very confusing. The guest room to the suite which was simply adorned as it served as our parents room when they came to stay with us. The décor is shabby chic and the room has a small deck two bistros chairs and a bistro table and looks out onto the estate contrary to the comment of no view.
Veronica is our very caring and excellent cook who has been trained by our Executive Chef and her son Dublas who waited the table that day to help out are delightful and don't merit such the mean spirited comments. Their breakfast are enjoyed by most. We apologize that these guests were displeased. We have a process where a displeased guest may contact management immediately to correct a situation which doesn't meet the guest expectations. In addition guests are encourage to contact management upon departure about anything they would like to see improved. This guest chose not to available himself of this process but instead to write a very negative review. We like happy guests and that is always been and will be our goal. Come to Chimney Hill Estate and let us make your happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lambertville
1.2 km away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
247 reviews
8.3 km away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
1.2 km away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
2.5 km away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
6.8 km away
Woolverton Inn
Woolverton Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockton
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530-2609
Region: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range: ₹ 14,726 - ₹ 21,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Nurture Day Spa. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Richard & the very cute Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing