We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very disappointing stay” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing stay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Worst Hotel ever!

We have stayed there for 5nights. The Reception is not welcoming at all- very disappointing. As a tourist we requested some certain information about public transportation to get to Manhattan etc. even to get a proper time table via internet was too much effort for them. The Breakfast the following morning ( which made at the time of the booking the whole thing more attractive to us ) was a joke! Fruit Loop’s, Cornflakes and some sweet backed muffins which you really cannot call “Breakfast” what so ever. They cleaned the room every day and changed towels unfortunately after the 5th night there was some jewellery’s missing which the reception did not take us serious to ask any member of the Housekeeping to check if that has been found by any chance. Seriously- I would honestly recommend this place if I did not had this disappointing experience. The only nice thing was a lovely Lady at the Reception who greets us nicely…any other service was just so bad. Please stay somewhere else even it costs more, believe me it is worth to do so!
best regards, L.

Room Tip: They do not have a safe in the room- do not leave your important stuff unattendent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    28
    15
    23
See reviews for
21
27
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

When we walked into the office and ask what rooms were available. The Front desk staff offered most expensive rooms they had. When we refused to pay for a room that was overpriced, and started to walk away they suddenly had a more reasonable rate plus a nonsmoking room that they also didn't have available earlier. They also made a copy of my drivers license, that made me feel very uncomfortable. And when I questioned it she gave me a lame reason about the credit card. I never had to have my drivers license copied for using my credit card. When we got to the room the bed had long hairs left on the top sheets, floor doesn't seem to be well cleaned. Also not the most secure feeling while staying in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Booked this room spur of the moment to get some shut eye because i had to be back to work in the city in 8 hours and didnt have time to go home. Looked for a room on my phone and this place was cheap and close to where I park at journal square. When i walked in i almost walked right out but was pressed for time. This is definitely the worst place I ever stayed! There was visible dust stuck to the walls and a giant brown stain across the ceiling in one part of the room. The toilet bowl seat was faliing off,there was no hairdryer,no coffee pot,the tv was 20 years old,the carpet stained and the room smelled. This place should be be bulldozed to the ground ! There are several other hotels on this road within 2 miles that have to be better.

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharky888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jersey City hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have stayed in a lot of hotels / motels in the last 35 years, this has got to be the second worst!!! (see my review of the hotel in Kiev!!)
The motel is right on a very busy street. Honking and other car sounds ALL NIGHT!!! First shock is the lobby. Very dingy, unkept and bedraggeld.
The room hast got to be one of the smallest ever, very strange smell when entering it. The furniture ist early salvation army or worse. Loose cables hanging from the wall.
The "complementary breakfast" does not deserve the name. The "orange juice" is orange colored something, definitely not juice. Then there is the choice between corn flakes or fruit loops. If you don't like cereals, you are pretty much "up the creek". If you like sugar loaded factory pastry, there is a choice of 2 (two) different ones.
Silly things like bagels (or even bread!!) are not available. So you are right to assume that there is no butter, cream cheese or jam. (The manager was eating cold pizza slices at 7am, so he is obviously no gourmet!!)
What the totaly blotchy and spotted ironing board was doing in the room, is unclear. The iron looked ok, but I would put none of my cloth on that board!!!
Only plus: The shower worked pretty well, the water was hot. Except for the garbage left behind by the previous occupant, the bathroom was acceptable.

IN SHORT: AVOID THIS PLACE. Any review better than 1 star has got to be written by the management or family!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaturdaySoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The location is a few minutes from the Holland Tunnel, but the roads are confusing (being unfamiliar with the area) and the traffic is heavy. Paid $94. The room was very small and didn't smell great. The room had not been cleaned from the last person. Instead of cleaning the room for us, a man came up with a basket of sheets, a couple thin, rough towels, 2 small packets of shampoo, and cheap soap. We made the bed ourselves. The pillows were a joke - three for a king size bed, very flat. Everything seemed so old and dirty. Old, small tv, very staticky on the stations that worked. Alarm clock didn't work, and we overslept, waking up 3 mins before checkout. Literally less than 10 mins later, as we're getting dressed, there is a hard pounding on the door, and then a man (the manager?) tries to barge in!! Fortunately the door was chain-locked, so it bounced back. I was shocked. I explained we were leaving, and would pay for another night if necessary. He jabbered at me angrily; I couldn't understand a word he was saying, and he finally left. It was scary and extremely rude. This place is dirty, unsafe, and gross. I would rather sleep in my car than check in here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ad518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
1.6 km away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
2.6 km away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#4 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 13 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
3.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
4.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 13 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 459 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Jersey City)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Jersey City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,485 - ₹ 8,396
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Red Carpet Inn
Rodeway Inn Jersey City, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing