We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakfast - Open 24/7”
Review of City Diner

City Diner
Ranked #5 of 764 Restaurants in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to City Diner, the latest addition for successful restauranteurs Nicholas, Lefty and Mike Giakoumatos. City Diner is located in the revitalized historic area Jersey City, NJ, which has also taken the name Wall Street West. City Diner is not your ordinary culinary delight. The food will take your taste buds on a delicious adventure that is sure to please. City Diner features rustic modern decor, hard wood floors, cushioned seats and booths, and free WiFi. Make yourself at home and enjoy the HD plasma TV's while sipping on your favorite drink and enjoying your favorite meal. We have created an inviting modern touch that compliments the view of looking out on to the big city. City Diner will soon be open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so you can always enjoy the comfort foods you are familiar with.
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Excellent breakfast. Plenty of food, wonderful bacon, eggs, French Toast, omelettes, and coffee. Service was average, due to the number of tables our server had to handle.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2018

I had a spare day in the NYC area, staying up by EWR, planned to get Ferry across to Manhattan, so PATH to Exchange Place, and then grab some breakfast before getting the ferry. I wanted somewhere to take some time and decompress and stumbled across the City Diner. Really pleased that I did.

The menu has all the standard diner items and quite a few more sophisticated dishes, I chose the corned beef hash and eggs, very enjoyable; coffee was good, toast was good sourdough. So the basics were right, but the thing that took the experience up was the service. In too many such places it seems to be surprisingly difficult to find your server, especially when you want a coffee refill. Here my server was charming, but also seemed to have pre-cognitive powers - my cup refilled just when I needed it to without my even needing to turn my head. Overall effect: I had that relaxed breakfast I wanted and left with a smile on my face.

Only small downside was that the advertised WiFi was not working, if that matters to you then check before you are seated.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank djna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Great place and location. Breakfast all day and even happy hour. Great portions as well. A diner with a bar...doesn’t get better!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank ggodin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Really good breakfast and great service. The music was little too loud at some time. Overall, great place

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank håkan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Love this place! All day delicious breakfast! Nice atmosphere & back ground music. Come hungry cause the portions are generous. Our waitress was fantastic!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rowz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Diner also viewed

 

Been to City Diner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing