We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport
Nearby Hotels
US$ 232
US$ 183
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 163
US$ 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt House Jersey City(Jersey City)
US$ 203
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Holland Hotel(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
US$ 181
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites Jersey City(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 236
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haiban Inn(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 143
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
292
277
64
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
277
64
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsright next doortypical courtyardpath stationnew yorkvalet parkingnyc hotel pricesfood courtexcellent locationinto nycgreenwich villagelight railsofa bedwould definitely stay here againrestaurants and barsconvenient locationindoor poolshopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second trip to this hotel and like the first, we expected good things. With regards to the hotel, we were pleased with the room and service. It is standard Marriott fare and we got exactly what we paid for.

However, the valet service is another story. We valeted our car for the weekend and didn't take it out. When we finally left on Sunday Morning, it took them 45 minutes to produce the car and there was damage to the front bumper and the back bumper. When pressed about the damage, the refused to admit fault and denied any responsibility. If you park your car with them, take pictures before the vehicle is given to them and inspect it right in front of them before you leave and refuse to go until they acknowledge the damage.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room facing NYC across the river
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kargiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Subway right outside the front door, fast and easy way into Manhattan. Big shopping mall across the street. Get breakfast thier lots cheaper. Bought subs for lunch, packed them up and take them into city. Nice pool area and hot tub, tiny workout room. Rooms are clean and big, standard courtyard rooms nice lobby. Stay hear people great value.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to New York City. While it is certainly nice to stay in Manhattan, the money we saved staying across the river (less than half the cost) was well worth the subway ride to the city. The hotel is a fine property, with much more spacious accommodations than you could expect in NYC. Plus, the PATH station is literally RIGHT NEXT DOOR. This train can drop you at several Manhattan locations, including very near the WTC site. Also, tickets into Newark frequently seem to be less than flying into La Guardia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kappellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here recently on a weekend break as it was conveniently located for access to New York City. There's a metro station just next door which makes the ride into town really convenient.

The staff are polite. The rooms are OK. Mine had a funny layout with the vanity area in the main room and a separate bath and toilet room. The rooms are in need of a bit of modernisation. Naturally the extent of the scenic view you get depends on which floor you get to stay on. Mine was a view over the courtyard patio outside!

We did not get breakfast here as there is an array of choices avaiable in NYC or a cafe just across the road which sounded more appealing. The reception area though not ideal for eating breakfast does have an internet, TV and printing area for guests which is good.

The only complaint I would make is that if you want a day out in NYC, baggage storage can be tricky if you want to come back later to pick it up from the hotel. There is a limited storage area. Overall this hotel is a handily located find and reasonably good value considering its proximity to NYC.

Room Tip: Probably a higher floor if you want a bit of a view!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berkshirefoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Let me begin with the positives: rather clean, nice exterior next to a little park, some rooms have views, rather quiet and away from NYC hectic, very easy to reach Manhattan by subway just one block away, more reasonably priced than anything comparable on the other side of the Hudson.

But: it could have been a lot nicer if Marriott hadn't recently begun to deliberately downgrade their Courtyard hotels with lobbies that are supposed to be functional, but appear mostly cheap. Instead of a stately check-in counter, they now have small-ish unprofessional looking service desks; not only do they look somewhat improvised, they also have a fake wood paneling that just screams "I am so cheap". Can't we go back to real wood, and/or tile and marble? Then, in various locations they have rather silly-looking artificial grass. It looks even more fake than the wood on the counter - and what's the point of artificial grass? Is this supposed to be attractive to their clientele, based on the idea that they spend all their time indoors and don't know what real glass looks like? And why grass, one of the lowliest and most common plants, instead of their earlier flower bouquets? And what happened to the restaurants they had - now they are replaced by a self-serve, cheap looking counter that is reminiscent of what you would see at a gas station.

In the past I have wholeheartedly enjoyed Marriott hotels for their taste and service. But what they are recently doing with their Courtyard hotels is a bold step in the wrong direction.

Room Tip: High up and facing east; some rooms have a view of the Hudson. Others are blocked by taller buildings, but it's still more quiet than facing west.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Leo,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Feedback from our customers is a key to our success. We will pass along your comments regarding tour new look to our design team.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews