We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Good Vacation!”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for a few days when the kids were off from school in Feb. As they say location is key! Within walking distance is 2 modes of public transportation. PATH trains that take you into NYC and the LIGHT Rail that runs from Bergen County (North) To Liberty State PArk (south) There is also a HUGE mall with a Food Court. Plenty of restaurants are close by too.

Kids and I enjoyed our stay. Room was clean. Staff was very friendly. Was asked numerous times when entering the Hotel after a day out, if anything was needed. NICE. Lobby had a small food place where coffee and Beer/wine could be purchased. Again staff manning this area, very helpful.

Pool and Hottub were clean and staff made periodic checks to add towels.

I saw in a few other reviews that there were issues with rooms, one negative was lack of outlets in the room, but that was all I had.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I had a low floor so our CITY view was over a Parking garage, so if you want a better view ask for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    263
    62
    14
    12
See reviews for
237
132
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was our second trip to this hotel and like the first, we expected good things. With regards to the hotel, we were pleased with the room and service. It is standard Marriott fare and we got exactly what we paid for.

However, the valet service is another story. We valeted our car for the weekend and didn't take it out. When we finally left on Sunday Morning, it took them 45 minutes to produce the car and there was damage to the front bumper and the back bumper. When pressed about the damage, the refused to admit fault and denied any responsibility. If you park your car with them, take pictures before the vehicle is given to them and inspect it right in front of them before you leave and refuse to go until they acknowledge the damage.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room facing NYC across the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kargiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Subway right outside the front door, fast and easy way into Manhattan. Big shopping mall across the street. Get breakfast thier lots cheaper. Bought subs for lunch, packed them up and take them into city. Nice pool area and hot tub, tiny workout room. Rooms are clean and big, standard courtyard rooms nice lobby. Stay hear people great value.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a recent trip to New York City. While it is certainly nice to stay in Manhattan, the money we saved staying across the river (less than half the cost) was well worth the subway ride to the city. The hotel is a fine property, with much more spacious accommodations than you could expect in NYC. Plus, the PATH station is literally RIGHT NEXT DOOR. This train can drop you at several Manhattan locations, including very near the WTC site. Also, tickets into Newark frequently seem to be less than flying into La Guardia.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kappellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here recently on a weekend break as it was conveniently located for access to New York City. There's a metro station just next door which makes the ride into town really convenient.

The staff are polite. The rooms are OK. Mine had a funny layout with the vanity area in the main room and a separate bath and toilet room. The rooms are in need of a bit of modernisation. Naturally the extent of the scenic view you get depends on which floor you get to stay on. Mine was a view over the courtyard patio outside!

We did not get breakfast here as there is an array of choices avaiable in NYC or a cafe just across the road which sounded more appealing. The reception area though not ideal for eating breakfast does have an internet, TV and printing area for guests which is good.

The only complaint I would make is that if you want a day out in NYC, baggage storage can be tricky if you want to come back later to pick it up from the hotel. There is a limited storage area. Overall this hotel is a handily located find and reasonably good value considering its proximity to NYC.

Room Tip: Probably a higher floor if you want a bit of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berkshirefoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.4 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#5 of 14 in Jersey City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,725 reviews
0.5 km away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
635 reviews
1.4 km away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 2 in Hoboken
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Property: Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,153 - ₹ 30,577
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott
Courtyard Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing