We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport
Nearby Hotels
US$ 280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rodeway Inn(Jersey City)
US$ 101
US$ 76
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 283
US$ 242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Holland Hotel(Jersey City)(Great Value!)
US$ 203
US$ 191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 270
US$ 253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 143
US$ 130
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 168
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 156
US$ 146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
292
277
64
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
277
64
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsright next doortypical courtyardpath stationnew yorkvalet parkingnyc hotel pricesinto nycgreenwich villageexcellent locationtwo queen bedslight railwould definitely stay here againconvenient locationpull out couchrestaurants and barsindoor poolstarbucks coffee
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here recently on a weekend break as it was conveniently located for access to New York City. There's a metro station just next door which makes the ride into town really convenient.

The staff are polite. The rooms are OK. Mine had a funny layout with the vanity area in the main room and a separate bath and toilet room. The rooms are in need of a bit of modernisation. Naturally the extent of the scenic view you get depends on which floor you get to stay on. Mine was a view over the courtyard patio outside!

We did not get breakfast here as there is an array of choices avaiable in NYC or a cafe just across the road which sounded more appealing. The reception area though not ideal for eating breakfast does have an internet, TV and printing area for guests which is good.

The only complaint I would make is that if you want a day out in NYC, baggage storage can be tricky if you want to come back later to pick it up from the hotel. There is a limited storage area. Overall this hotel is a handily located find and reasonably good value considering its proximity to NYC.

Room Tip: Probably a higher floor if you want a bit of a view!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berkshirefoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Let me begin with the positives: rather clean, nice exterior next to a little park, some rooms have views, rather quiet and away from NYC hectic, very easy to reach Manhattan by subway just one block away, more reasonably priced than anything comparable on the other side of the Hudson.

But: it could have been a lot nicer if Marriott hadn't recently begun to deliberately downgrade their Courtyard hotels with lobbies that are supposed to be functional, but appear mostly cheap. Instead of a stately check-in counter, they now have small-ish unprofessional looking service desks; not only do they look somewhat improvised, they also have a fake wood paneling that just screams "I am so cheap". Can't we go back to real wood, and/or tile and marble? Then, in various locations they have rather silly-looking artificial grass. It looks even more fake than the wood on the counter - and what's the point of artificial grass? Is this supposed to be attractive to their clientele, based on the idea that they spend all their time indoors and don't know what real glass looks like? And why grass, one of the lowliest and most common plants, instead of their earlier flower bouquets? And what happened to the restaurants they had - now they are replaced by a self-serve, cheap looking counter that is reminiscent of what you would see at a gas station.

In the past I have wholeheartedly enjoyed Marriott hotels for their taste and service. But what they are recently doing with their Courtyard hotels is a bold step in the wrong direction.

Room Tip: High up and facing east; some rooms have a view of the Hudson. Others are blocked by taller buildings, but it's still more quiet than facing west.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeoPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Leo,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Feedback from our customers is a key to our success. We will pass along your comments regarding tour new look to our design team.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a good affordable option for staying in NYC. The lobby is very attractive and comfortable - unfortunately the guest rooms don't (yet) live up to that standard, Furniture and fixtures are dated, there are not enough outlets for traveling businesspeople or kids with electronics to charge, our couch was stained, I found beds stiff and uncomfortable, but my family thought they were ok. It is also very difficult to locate when coming in on the Interstate - too bad they don't have better highway access, but not much they can do about that. All that said, the lobby IS very nice, cafe is a nice option (although service is slow and as another reviewer noted, some kind of complimentary breakfast would a real plus), staff were super friendly, and I appreciated the advance notice of the renovations at the hotel - both on their site when you book, and I received a follow up email from the manager to describe the location and hours of the reno - a nice extra step. There is a small indoor pool which is good for families too. Nice walk along the riverfront nearby, but the immediate neighbourhood is a strip of hotels and office towers. Cosi is a good food option across the street - bagels, eggs, yogurt and coffee. There's also a big mall and Target across the street - so some decent local shopping, if not high end. Once you get there, traveling into Manhattan couldn't be easier - the PATH is literally next door - takes 15 min to Penn Stn. That was a huge plus. All in all, a good affordable option, and post-reno (if they don't raise the room rates to compensate) I'm sure it will be a great place to stay. PS - another plus for Cake Boss fans - it's 5 min from Carlo's Bakery in Hoboken.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 9th or 10th floor (post reno) on the river side - they would have the best view, and be the most recently renovated.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback of our hotel. Only the guest rooms are under renovation since the public areas were renovated last year. We are renovating the room’s one floor at the time with minimum inconvenience to our guests. Please come and see our new rooms on your next visit to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I really love this hotel -- it's expensive but well worth it. The whole hotel really has a fantastic elegance about it but at the same time it's not stuffy. Very comfortable, great accommodations, fantastic staff, and a very convenient location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Amelia,
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future should your travels bring you back to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

It's a standard Marriott Courtyard. No frills, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The best part of this hotel is that it's next to the PATH station so Manhattan is within a short train ride. If you don't mind public transportation to/from NY, this is a good place to stay; don't stay in NJ if you must take taxis.

The room is nicely done, although the bath and dressing area could use some updates.

The staff was polite and helpful. Plan extra time for valet parking. I waited 20 minutes for the valet to get my car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopHopBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel and staff. Regarding the valet service in the future please call our guest services desk from your room and we will have your car waiting for you.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews