We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I really love this hotel -- it's expensive but well worth it. The whole hotel really has a fantastic elegance about it but at the same time it's not stuffy. Very comfortable, great accommodations, fantastic staff, and a very convenient location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Amelia,
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future should your travels bring you back to our area.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Jersey City Newport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 391 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

It's a standard Marriott Courtyard. No frills, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The best part of this hotel is that it's next to the PATH station so Manhattan is within a short train ride. If you don't mind public transportation to/from NY, this is a good place to stay; don't stay in NJ if you must take taxis.

The room is nicely done, although the bath and dressing area could use some updates.

The staff was polite and helpful. Plan extra time for valet parking. I waited 20 minutes for the valet to get my car.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopHopBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel and staff. Regarding the valet service in the future please call our guest services desk from your room and we will have your car waiting for you.
John Rojan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed in a suite (king and hide-a-bed couch). The bed was comfy and hide-a-bed was OK (teenager seemed to have no trouble sleeping on it and liked having her parents in the other room). The rooms were large, clean and pleasant. The bathroom was ok (clean, but a bit tired). Starbucks in the lobby with good breakfasts available. We did not encounter any noise (until after 10AM in the morning when the 10th floor reno construction started up). Staff were all very friendly and service oriented. Also the neighbourhood is nice with a few decent restaurants nearby. As noted by many, very convenient to get to Penn Station. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is currently under a room's renovation and scheduled to be completed by June 1st. Look forward to you and your family coming back and see our new rooms if your travels should bring you back to Jersey City.
John Rojan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

In January we drove to Manhattan for a baby shower for my son and his wife. We made reservations at a Hilton in Manhattan so we would be nearby. We had been told, mistakenly, that we would have 'in and out' privileges. When we called to confirm, we discovered that they wanted $50 a day for parking, with no 'in and out' privileges. We called at least a dozen other hotels and got the same story. Then we remembered the Courtyard Newport where we had stayed several times when my son and his wife lived in Jersey City. It is a very pleasant, reasonably priced hotel, with a beautiful view of Manhattan, many amenities, including free parking, and a wonderful staff. The Path Train is next door and takes you into Manhattan in minutes, where you can easily connect with any subway line.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nowthisdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

OK, I hate driving around this part of NJ, and this hotel wasn't exactly the easiest to find, but it is worth it once you get there.....Its relatively new, and literally a 2 min walk to the PATH train which provides $2 train rides over to NYC. The room was typical of a 2.5 or 3 star hotel room in the USA. Nothing crazy special, but a very comfortable bed and 60% the price of something similiar in NYC. The room was mostly pretty clean, but the shower could have used a better cleaning. Rooms were very well insulated from noise both outside and next door rooms. Parking is $16/day and is valet. Had a very late night in NYC and the hotel very graciously allowed me a check out the next day of 2pm. The lobby is nice and modern. Would have loved a free breakfast in the morning and would have considered giving 5 stars had it had one. Otherwise, a very good hotel at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsx1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jersey City hotels
0.4 km away
The Westin Jersey City Newport
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
1.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 14 in Jersey City
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 14 in Jersey City
527 reviews
0.5 km away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
654 reviews
1.1 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07310-1614
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range: ₹ 12,502 - ₹ 30,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Jersey City Newport, a tranquil oasis near the excitement of the city, boasts the ideal location near New York City and all that it has to offer. As one of the premier Jersey City hotels near Hoboken, NJ, guests can take advantage of our close proximity to Newport Centre Mall and other popular area attractions. The update lobby at our Newport hotel features modern design, multifunctional common areas, and convenient amenities. Unique among hotels in Jersey City, our GoBoard(R) allows guests to stay current with the latest in entertainment, news, weather and airport conditions. As an added feature standing out from other Hoboken hotels, The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.(R) - serves fresh meals for guests to wine and dine with colleagues or friends and family. Our spacious accommodations feature contemporary design, luxury bedding, large work areas, and more. Guests will experience both the quality of a Marriott hotel and all of the comforts of home when staying at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Courtyard
Jersey City Marriott
Courtyard Jersey City Newport New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing