We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Concerts - movies - and more!

Love, love, love this venue! It's gorgeous, great sound system, and nice food and drink! Love... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 days ago
nicsphotoshow
,
Hopewell, New Jersey
We LOVE Hopewell Theater

I attended a supper club and film at the Hopewell Theater recently and it was marvelous. The food... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 6 June 2022
Jane W
,
Lambertville, New Jersey, United States
Read all 158 reviews
  
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
138
16
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
138
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great sound supper club sound system sound quality table seating wonderful evening local treasure state of the art small town central nj local venue sight lines intimate performance new jersey byob film concert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2019

The room’s acoustics were optimal for enjoying the spirited sounds of Steve Forbert. The seating arrangement enabled outstanding sight lines.

Date of experience: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Wanderer670162
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HopewellTheater, Public Relations Manager at Hopewell Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

We're thrilled to hear you had a great experience at the Steve Forbert concert. See you again at HT soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019

What a neat little gem. It is a small, beautiful theater with plenty of parking nearby. Great sound system, no bad seats, and a tiny snack bar. It is BYOB. You can't bring food or nonalcoholic beverages from outside. Staff is helpful and friendly.Great spot to see a concert

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tms215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HopewellTheater, Public Relations Manager at Hopewell Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

Thank you for the stars! We're glad you had such a positive experience with our theater and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019

The newly refurbished Hopewell Theater is a beautiful, comfortable, spacious yet intimate performance space. I have seen live performances as well as movies in the space, and I have always enjoyed the experience. The events are well curated and there is always something on the upcoming schedule that I'm eager to see. I am a member.

My gripe is the ticket fees for online ticket purchases. Tickets up to $15 are subject to a $3.50 per ticket fee (23% of ticket price or more), tickets from $16 to $30 are subject to a $7.00 per ticket fee (23% of ticket price or more), and tickets $31 or above are subject to a $10.50 per ticket fee (34% of ticket price or less). In addition, each online order of live music or event tickets are subject to a per order handling fee of $6.00. So for example, suppose I want to buy online 4 tickets to a live event with a listed price of $25, my total cost is actually $134.00, 34% above the stated ticket price. This is a form of bait and switch marketing that seems rife within the entertainment business. It is disappointing to me that Hopewell Theater plays by those rules. NOTE that as a member, ticketing and handling fees are waived for phone orders -- but NOT for online orders.

In summary, the Hopewell Theater is a great 180-seat performance and movie venue, and they are doing so much right -- but the online ticket buyer must be aware of the significant ticketing fees.

Date of experience: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ctoddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HopewellTheater, Public Relations Manager at Hopewell Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Hi ctoddr. We are happy to hear that your experience with the theater itself has been positive, and that you are enjoying the events we curate. We are sorry that you are unhappy with our fee structure. Creating the best experience for our guests is our number one priority, so we will pass along your feedback to our team. We look forward to your next visit to HT!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Hadn't been to this theatre for years but saw this documentary and love it. Such an inviting space! I will be back!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank clareeggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HopewellTheater, Public Relations Manager at Hopewell Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Thank you for the stars! We're glad you found HT inviting and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2019

great movies, comfortable seats, convenient restrooms, decent popcorn, really good sodas bring me back to this theater. A very interesting series of movies has been running and I've enjoyed every one of them so far.

Date of experience: August 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank ppdujour25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HopewellTheater, Public Relations Manager at Hopewell Theater, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Thanks for the kudos! We are always working to create inspiring experiences for patrons though our programs - thrilled to hear our film program resonates with you. We will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews