We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Redone and really done right!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Elizabeth
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Redone and really done right!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I don't have a lot of nice things to say about the Newark area in general and especially the hotels around the airport, the Renaissance has changed my outlook. The hotel has undergone a complete redo and they have done an excellent job. The rooms have a really fresh look with a pop of red in the decor and it looks very nice. The amenities in the bath are very nice Aveda products. I ate in the bar/restaurant twice and the food was excellent. They offer many local produce dishes as well as very tasty healthy options. The bartenders and wait staff were very friendly and not intrusive.
The front desk staff were efficient but not overly hospitable...they need some further training in that area. The biggest drawback is that as a Marriott Rewards member I was not offered in room wifi at no charge and at the Marriott Hotel directly across from the airport they do offer this amenity.
All in all a good experience in an area that doesn't have a lot to offer in nice hotel offerings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moreintheworld2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    240
    78
    30
    19
See reviews for
85
115
63
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The rooms are clean, and the beds are comfy. However, beware of the ridiculous prices on room service (higher than typical). If you are just passing through for the evening, I highly recommend that you have dinner, etc. before venturing over to the hotel on the free shuttle. Once at the hotel, there is NOTHING nearby (i.e., restaurants, bars, fast food, market, etc., etc.)

Ask for a discounted rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

My stay here was in room 1005 for one night. The Renaissance Newark Aiport seems to be a very nice hotel upon entering as the lobby is well-decorated and the front desk staff is friendly and effecient. My room was on the Club Level, but, all special amenities were unavailable for the July 4 holiday. This room was located near some type of air conditioning equipment and it sounded as if a jet engine were operating next door. Unfortunately, I didn't notice the amount of noise and vibration until after I was settled into the room and ready for bed. The bed was comfortable and the gym was barely adequate. I would recommend the Marriot Liberty Airport as a good alternative if given a choice of hotels at Newark Airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed two nights with the family while visiting New York. Chose this location due to high room rates in New York city.

The rooms were recently renovated as many prior guest as posted. It is already showing signs of wear especially in the bathroom tiles and bath tubs areas with cracked tiles and discolored caulk. The room was mostly clean with the exception of the bathroom. Nice comfy beds and signature Aveda bath products.

The indoor pool was large and heated which was great for my kids. However the lounge chairs were DISGUSTING!!. The cushions on the lounge chairs had all sorts of stains and I did not feel comfortable sitting or lying on those even with several layers of towels.

The main gripe was with the front desk staff including the manager. I selected a room rate which was available for marriott reward members only. (Free self parking and $25 resort credit). First the front desk staff told me that she did not she that rate or the promotion on their end. I had to pull up the reservation detail on my phone to the manager to get the free parking and the manager told me that the resort credit will be automatically applied at checkout. Well as the case in hese situations, the resort credit was not applied upon check out and I ended up talking to the same two front desk employees including the manager and had to repeat the whole process of showing the reservation details on my phone. The manager has the nerve to say that the promotion was expired and no longer being offered. She finally did deduct the $25 from the bill but you can tell was not too happy about it.

Overall I would have given a 3 or 4 star review except for the front desk service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagotraveler9411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I was very impressed with the Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel. Very hip, clean, modern lobby, great bar and restaurant. Guest floors and rooms were clean, beautifully furnished and all the modern amenities. Loved the AVEDA guest products Mint shampoo and conditioner! Refreshing! Another reviewer commented on the silly Renaissance website marketing of the property: "Unlike other hotels, we offer floor-to-ceiling, sound-resistant windows facing Newark Airport and sweeping views of the NYC skyline that will take your breath away". From my waist level room window, I saw the parking lot and overgrown yards and houses of the blue-collar neighborhood next door. Nothing else.
Very friendly and helpful staff. I will stay here again. Much better than the run down Doubletree Newark Hotel (formerly Sheraton Newark) near to the prison. Also, the Ramada Newark Hotel (formerly Holiday Inn), right NEXT to the prison is tacky, tacky tacky. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
1.4 km away
Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Newark-Airport
0.4 km away
Hilton Newark Airport
Hilton Newark Airport
#4 of 13 in Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newark Airport
3.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Newark Liberty International Airport
2.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Newark Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel

Property: Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel
Address: 1000 Spring St, Elizabeth, NJ 07201-2113 (Formerly Doubletree Hotel Newark Airport)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Elizabeth
#2 Business Hotel in Elizabeth
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,758 - ₹ 18,366
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Defining style and sophistication among Elizabeth, NJ hotels, the Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel welcomes travelers with opulent accommodations, tons of luxury amenities and unparalleled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance Newark Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing