We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
358
148
54
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
358
148
54
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsebbitt roomred cottagecontinental breakfastfront porchsilver traythe cottagescongress hallbreakfast deliveredno elevatormy husband and ivalet servicethird floorcape resortsthe main hotelyogurtboutique hotelspa shower
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our anniversary and everything was perfect. Very comfortable , clean room with crisp bed linens. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was so good. Loved the homemade granola.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank skiforus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed in the Virginia Hotel and had a great time. It's a beautiful, historic building. The location cannot be better. You are in the middle of it all!! Half block from the beach. Walking distance to everything Cape May has to offer. Our room was really nice and pretty spacious (not a typical B&B). Breakfast menu was somewhat limited but it was fresh and tasty. The weather was great, so we ate on the porch. Free valet parking. You can use all amenities at the Congress Hall including free beach chairs and towel service. My only compaint is that they make you buy beach badges. They are not very expensive ($6 a day) but for the price you pay, they should really provide free badges. It's just a little annoying. Would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

JMom,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and would return to stay with us again! Our central location--a half block from the ocean, the pedestrian walking mall, Congress Hall and loads of other attractions--is a huge draw for many of our guests. So glad that you had a chance to enjoy our porch as well--always a good spot for breakfast, an afternoon cocktail, or curling up with a book.

As a "local", I share your frustration regarding the beach tags (we have to pay for them too!). While we would love to offer tags to our hotel guests, the city unfortunately prohibits this practice, and our guests much purchase the entrance fee themselves. We try to make up for this inconvenience with the beach service you highlighted, offering complimentary towels, chairs and umbrellas to ease your load heading down to the beach. I hope you'll be back to sample it again soon--September sees some of the warmest water of the year!

Again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you here at the Virginia Hotel again soon.

Best,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The Virginia is everything a "boutique hotel" should be. Small enough to feel special. Sophisticated but not stuffy. Located in the heart of Cape May yet quiet and peaceful. Continental breakfast with choices served in your room or on the veranda. Newspapers every morning (important to us). We particularly appreciated the turn-down service that emptied trash and replaced towels for the second time daily. The staff was genuinely friendly and accommodating. We used the $25 daily "resort credit" for cocktails each evening. The bar is very popular, as is the Ebbitt Room restaurant (reservations suggested). It was lovely to stroll 2 blocks to the beach and have umbrellas, lounges and towels set up by staff there. Staying at the Virginia allows you to use the pool (as well as spa and fitness center) at its sister property, the Congress Hall. We opted for one of two lovely rooms that have private porches overlooking Jackson Street. We felt thoroughly pampered our entire 5-night stay.

Room Tip: Treat yourself with the Jackson Room or the Virginia Room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Michelle,

Thank you so much for this glowing review! I am so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and got to take advantage of so many of the amenities that we believe separate us from "the pack". I will be sure to share your comments with our staff--they work hard to ensure our hotel is clean and our guests feel taken care of, and it is so rewarding for them to hear feedback like yours.

Thank you again for your kind words--we hope to see you here again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

A lovely small Hotel in Cape May. Great staff, lovely room, beautifully appointed lobby area, bar area, and outdoor porch. Affiliated with Congress Hall. Close to everything that makes Cape May unique.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Michael P,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience--we're delighted you enjoyed your stay! So glad to hear that the location was convenient and our affiliation with Congress Hall was noticed--we're fortunate enough to offer our guests the amenities of this sister property such pool access and their fitness room, and I'm glad to hear that these amenities did not go unnoticed.

Hope to host here at the Virginia Hotel again soon!

Best,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We have stayed at The Virginia for several years but I do not think we will be returning. We love the location and the fact that they have valet parking and that the Ebbitt Room is right at the hotel. However, their breakfast is average and has limited choices and they allow small children from other hotels to dine on the deck. One of the perks we like is that they only allow children 12 and over. One of the reasons why is that we could not even enjoy our breakfast with the two screaming kids on Sunday morning. Perhaps the 12 and over policy can also apply to breakfast, as this is not the first time we have had to sip our coffee listening to rowdy children.

The biggest disappointment was the room. We got the petite room for the second time. Last year, we enjoyed our room. We were on the 3rd floor. This year, we were in the petite room on the 2nd floor and were very disappointed. The bathroom door did not close and the bathroom did not have place to hang a hand towel, other than on the hook on the back of the door. There was absolutely no place to put your toiletries. We are not big people and could hardly move around in the bathroom. We got water in a carafe only one of the three nights we stayed, but my brother in law, in the next room, had fresh water each afternoon.

Finally, the tables on the deck could have used some Windex, as they were pretty dirty and there was a glass from the bar on the bottom of one of the little tables when we sat down for breakfast. I hate to sound nit-picky, but for the money we paid (over $425/night), I expect the best of everything and feel we did not get it this time. It's just not worth the money and there are other options available which we will explore next summer.

Room Tip: If you get the petite room, get the one on the 3rd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LACIF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear LACIF73,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was sub-par--please accept my apologies. While the Virginia Hotel itself is indeed a 12 and over resort, we have a number of cottages across the street that are part of our collection and are geared towards families and also have the ability to use our porch, lounge areas, etc.--I'm sorry to hear that these families disturbed what should have been a peaceful breakfast.

Furthermore, I'm very sorry to hear that your room was underwhelming. While the room you were in is our smallest room type, issues like a lack of towel bars or shelving are easily remedied, and I can assure that we have corrected these issues since your stay. Similarly, a lack of consistency with the turn-down service is again an easily remedied issue, and I'm very disappointed to hear that it affected your stay. I will be sure to follow up with our Director of Housekeeping on this issue.

With all of the issues you highlighted here, there is ample opportunity for us to address and make improvements. While negative feedback like this is never easy to hear, we are so grateful for it--we cannot possibly hope to improve our service and accommodations without it. I hope that despite your underwhelming experience with us, you will stay with us in the future and give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We are eager to show you that the Virginia Hotel you remember is alive and well, and ready to regain your trust as the premier boutique hotel in Cape May.

Warm Regards,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews