We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIstoric Charm & Service”
Review of The Virginia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Virginia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This was our first time to Cape May and we felt at home at the Virginia Hotel. We enjoyed the intamacy of the property and the period elegance of the furnishings. Most of all, we were truly impressed with the employees with whom we interacted during our stay. They were warm, conversational and met the littlest of needs. We had a King Suite (#301) overlooking the ere truly impressed with the warmth of the townThere are many quaint historic inns in Cape May, The warm employees and service stood out

Room Tip: Room 301 is corner King room with open feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank S326WWkenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in a King room at the Virginia for 2 nights before the 4th of July weekend. The property is very charming and nice. The room was average size and nicely decorated. It had a very comfortable bed and pillows with a smallish bathroom. Everything worked perfectly, AC, shower, fridge, safe, lights, etc. We were on the second floor and everything was very quiet for an older property. We did not hear our neighbors, above or adjacent.
The folks who worked there seemed very seasoned for a younger group and provided as much or as little service as desired in a friendly manner.
After using the valet, we did not need our car for the next 2 days. There are so many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The beach was a block away and the beach team provides chairs, towels, umbrellas and food service (although we did not use the food service). It was super windy when we were there so we didn't spend more than a few hours on the beach. There was plenty to do otherwise as there are many activities available at their sister property, Congress Hall, a block away, including live music in the evenings.
We had an excellent stay and will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Without any hesitation, this hotel is one of the finest establishments we ever stayed. Clean, spacious, attendant staff, evening turn down, included continental breakfast, and location. I am even reluctant to rate this hotel as it only has 24 rooms and I am afraid that it will be difficult booking in the future. It's not cheap, but it truly worth the price.

Room Tip: Pay the difference and get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank VETTRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We come to cape may at least once a year for a weekend - we stay at bed and breakfasts ( what cape may is known for) - somehow my wife thought this was a bed-and-breakfast as it showed up on some website listed as such - One of the problems is that there is a restaurant inside the hotel so the porch is full in the evenings with people that are dining here. So as a guest you may not be able to sit on the porch. The breakfast was nice but it's very much a continental breakfast - we had yogurt and fruit. Unlike other bed and breakfast locations there is no evening wine or other complimentsry items / everything is an extra cost - as a hotel I would say that it is nice - the rooms are clean and pleasant. It is in close proximity to the beach. Jackson Street is a nice street especially if you like the hustle and bustle of people walking around – which we do like. But I think the choice of bed-and-breakfast locations in town Is much better especially for the price of $300 per room. I didn't find the staff particularly friendly although they were also not rude. There is free parking which is a plus. So in summary it was a nice weekend but I would not choose to stay here again – there are too many excellent bed-and-breakfast options in Cape May.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JordanRowan, General Manager at The Virginia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Joel S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm very sorry to hear that your experience was not what you had hoped for. It seems from your review that you were looking for a bed and breakfast experience, and I'm sorry if the Virginia Hotel was presented in that manner. Rather, we have always tried to offer our guests both the benefits of a B&B, such as the complimentary continental breakfast, along with the services provided in larger hotels, such as our complimentary valet parking, access to the pool at Congress Hall, complimentary umbrellas, towels and chairs at the beach, and a full service restaurant and bar located on premises.

Without taking anything away from one of the many amazing B&B's in Cape May, we are proud to consider ourselves a boutique hotel--I will be certain to review our marketing and ensure that we are not misrepresenting ourselves. Should you desire a different experience in the future, I hope that you will consider us for your Cape May getaway.

Warm Regards,

Jordan Rowan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

I stayed at the Virginia for one night with my family, Location couldn't be better. The hotel is very quaint, from the outside it looks like those beautiful Victorian houses, so typical to Cape May. The veranda is very nice. We did not have time to sit there, but I can imagine it is a lovely experience. The front desk staff was extremely nice and friendly. We had a corner room with a vast sitting area, and an excellent bed. Once you enter the room, there are two stairs, and then one more, very dangerous!. I suppose it is so only in this particular room. Breakfast is ordered the night before with a form that you fill out and hang on the door knob. We had it in the lobby, which was not very comfortable. To sum up - very nice. I recommend.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room with the stairs inside. Sorry I do not remember its number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank d1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
1.8 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
0 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
228 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Hotel

Address: 25 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 7,945 - ₹ 16,858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Virginia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginia offers 24 intimate rooms in an impeccably restored 1879 landmark building and is the foremost luxury hotel in Cape May, NJ. Nestled on Jackson Street in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May New Jersey, the Virginia Hotel offers its guests a flawless integration of service and style, with a timeless glamor. The hotel does not accept children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Virginia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Cape May
Virginia Cape May
The Virginia Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing