We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCES”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visit Cape May, NJ every year and it keeps getting better and better. when you arrive, you go and check in at the front desk.(you can als rent beach tags there) The staff is wonderful. Connected to the main office is an office. You may use it if you ask. (this is a great place to go if you have work because it is sunny and nice, but also quiet. :) The rooms are great! They are very clean and are being remodeled so they will be even nicer. Right across the relatively quiet road is the wonderful beach. (there are storage boxes there you can rent so you dont have to carry your stuff back and fourth) Once your done with the beach, you can take a dip in the large pool that has a jet area. There is also a gated baby pool. At night, cross the road to the boardwalk.Take a short walk on the classy board walk raised up next to the road. As you walk, it seams as if your in broadway. Once your done with the walk, theres... a nut house, a huge arcade, ritas ice, put put, a candy store, a nail and massage place, and so much more!!! all next to or near eachother ( i love Mars nut house) on the walk back to the hotel, the sky is beautiful. also, you can stop by the beautiful star lighted indoor/outdoor hotel. they also do room service. i highly recomend the Montreal Inn.

Room Tip: the first floor is where all of the fun and action happens. live music :) the higher floors have gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    197
    54
    25
    18
See reviews for
240
276
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Took my wife here for 3 days to celebrate her birthday. Stayed in the "Meridian Suite" which is advertised (and priced) as their best & most desirable room. Have to admit that the views from the Meridian Suite were fantastic: panoramic view on 3 sides of the room, from north to east to south. But there were aspects of the suite's condition and location (within the overall facility) that were a bit disappointing. The carpet is worn/stained and in dire need of replacement (management assured me new carpet is on order). One small area of the ceiling in the bedroom had a slight mold & cobweb problem; I mentioned it to management upon checkout and, presumably, they will have dealt with it by now. The couch in the sitting area (across from one of the TVs) is upholstered with some type of rough fabric which is pretty abrasive to your skin if you sit on it for any length of time, making it quite uncomfortable. There is no easy or short way to get to/from the Meridian Suite which is located in the corner of the 3rd floor. Whether you're coming from your car, the pool, the adjacent restaurant, or the beach, you have a bit of a hike to get to the suite... and it's far enough from the one elevator, that using it doesn't help much either. So be prepared for some great exercise -- with or without your luggage! :) The staff is very nice & professional. The pool area is well maintained, attractive and convenient to the outdoor bar of the on-site adjacent restaurant (Harry's Grill). There is a small Exercise Room with limited equipment; but, the one TV is a small & older unit on a rolling utility table, and neither of the A/C units in the room were operable -- so you had to have the windows open even if it was extremely hot & humid. The hotel construction is that of a "Days Inn-type," meaning that access to all rooms is from outside walkways of raw concrete (no carpeting/matting) -- i.e., not fancy but functional. Same holds true for the vertical stairwells, which are all exterior units. If you're not looking for a "suite" type arrangement, I understand that several of the other rooms have been recently renovated and are very nice, but I did not see them myself. A beautiful stretch of beach is right across the street. Overall, we had a great time and will consider returning to the Montreal Inn, but probably not the Meridian Suite -- unless they lower the price for it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms with an easterly ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DakotaBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
We regret you were not totally happy with your accommodations and have taken the necessary action to resolve the issues. The new carpet arrived and has been installed and other details have been addressed. We are confident you will like the new look and feel of this luxurious suite.

As you had mentioned, we are currently in a major renovation project that will be completed this winter. We have spared no expense in providing a spacious, redesigned decor that will rival any property at the shore and look forward to your next visit.

Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We enjoyed our recent stay at the Inn and will probably go back. HOWEVER, the Meridian "Suite" will not be our choice of rooms. While the view from the room is great, the condition of the room itself was disappointing. The rug is so stained my wife would not walk on it without slippers. The windows are covered with vertical blinds that never properly closed even after the very accommodating maintenance man tried to fix. The room is located in a a very isolated area of the Inn so getting your luggage in and out is not all convenient. Maybe if this room was not priced at the top of the rates I would not be so critical but management should really consider my complaints so that future guests in this "Suite" will not be equally disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the Meridian Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie46365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
We acknowledge your review and appreciate that you took the time to contribute. We regret that your stay did not fully meet your expectations and assure you that we are aware of the challenges regarding this room. Our property is in the midst of a three stage, full scale renovation and the Meridian Suite is slated for a full makeover this winter as part of the final phase of our accommodations improvement project. The Philadelphia based interior designer under contract for the renovations has wonderful plans for this suite to make sure there will be nothing nicer or more upscale in the Cape May area. We are pleased that you plan to return to our property and hope you will allow us to show you the NEW Meridian Suite when you return.

Once again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Montreal Inn and to share with you the magic of Cape May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Wonderful stay. Wife and I were there May 23 and 24. Top (4th) floor was just refurbished and they did a fantastic job. Bathroom had a new wood vanity with granit top and a new toilet and tub. New large tiles on floor and shower surround with soap and shampoo dispensers on the wall. The beds, dresser, lamps, and a small table with two chairs were all new. LG flat screen TV. An in the dresser refrigerator and a safe in the closet.
The swimming pool is very large with plenty of chaises. All staff personnel were sooo friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Top floor wonderfully redone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STSv8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I were looking for a last minute get away, within driving distance from our home in Philadelphia to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose Cape May, as we have visited before and enjoyed our time. We selected the Montreal Inn due to availability and reasonable rates. The advertisement and booking claimed an ocean front room that was newly renovated and on a high floor. When we arrived the Inn was indeed next to the ocean, and the lobby was newly renovated (as shown in the online photos). We checked in and were given a 4th floor room with an ocean front view. When we arrived to the 4th floor it was evident that the Inn was self renovating and the hallway stunk of what I thought smelled like a nasty chemical. I was pregnant so this was very troublesome. When we arrived to the room it was not renovated, and appeared as half of a bedroom. We quickly realized that we were sleeping in a the smallest hotel room we ever stayed in with a pull down bed. The room appeared clean, but was very aged. The bathroom was terrible. The toilet leaked, and was no more than 6 inches behind the sink, so only one person could be in the bathroom at one time. The shower was the size of a person, and it made it very difficult to shower with no room. We managed through the weekend and made the best of it, but will not stay here again. Our hotel neighbors had children, and they were screaming late at night and early in the morning. We didn't sleep well to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
We are very disappointed we were not made aware of your dissatisfaction immediately upon your arrival to our hotel or at anytime during your visit. We are even more disappointed that we are left only to discover your complaints through this public medium, now, when we can do nothing to remedy the situation. Please be assured that our staff would have done everything possible to assure your 100% satisfaction.

Just for the record, your reservation was made through an Online Travel Agency and they assigned the room, usually selected for you by them based on your preferences for price and availability. Unfortunately, the room that was assigned is part of Phase 3 of a three part major renovation program and is scheduled for a radical makeover for this coming winter. If you visit our website, you will see that there are pictures of both the original rooms and the newly renovated rooms. In fact, there is a picture of the exact room you were assigned. This time next year, I guarantee you will not recognize this room as the same one that was assigned by the OTA.

Now in our 46th season, we have earned the distinction as one of Cape May's favorite lodging choices because of our unwavering commitment to guest satisfaction. We thank you for your comments and cordially invite you back to discover what many of our guests have made, year after year, a vacation tradition for four generations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
670 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,282 reviews
0.3 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
1.0 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,176 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#18 of 37 in Cape May
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,776 - ₹ 42,328
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing