We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing Experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montreal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Montreal Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
232 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We always wanted to stay at the Montreal Inn (as we have been to Cape May many times), but they were always booked. However, since the season is over, we were fortunate enough to get a reservation for a 4-night stay. Upon checking in (we were confirmed for a newly upgraded room) the room was musty, smelly & since we both are highly allergic, we asked to be moved to different room. The room definitely had not been upgraded (it was an efficiency which we would have preferred so that we could eat some meals in our room). We were then given the key to room 202. It was lovely, clean, with 2 queen beds, and smelled fine.

When we returned to our room in the evening, we noticed there were 'gnats' all over! It was very upsetting, disgusting, and annoying. We did complain to the manager as well as the cleaning people. We found out that apparently, this time of year is "gnat & fruit fly" season (who knew?) and that when the cleaning person was working in our room, the screen & glass doors were open, allowing all these 'bugs' to fly in. Once we brought this to their attention, the problem was solved! However, I have to admit, this was NOT a good start to a little getaway weekend for us. The cleaning staff was very apologetic about our situation.

We also did not know that the restaurant (Harry's) was closed for the season; however, the hotel provided a complimentary continental breakfast, which was lovely. In addition, we had been advised that the pool would be closed; I did not bring bathing suits. However, the pool was open the first few days, & there were people swimming!

All these 'little' things added up to what could have been a great weekend, but was a bit disappointing for us.

Room Tip: If you have any allergies, do not stay in the old rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuzieQ044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevan O, General Manager at Montreal Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
We were very happy to have you stay with us and look forward to you choosing our Inn again so we will have an opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit. We regret that your recent visit was not as pleasant as you had hoped and are grateful you have brought your comments to our attention. We are constantly striving to enhance our product and services, take each issue as a summons for improvement and thank you as well for your positive feedback.

Over the coming months, we will be also making changes to our website to offer our guests more timely information on what is going on here at the Montreal Inn. For instance, and due to unseasonably excellent weather, we kept the pool open for an additional week, and in the future, that will be posted on the website and email alerts transmitted as soon as the decision is made. We are confident that improved communication with our valued guests will serve to elevate the guest experience.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Montreal Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    184
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
226
250
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHELMSFORD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We came down to Cape May for a wedding and stayed at the Montreal Inn. Ocean front access, great viewing deck above us, very nice staff, Our room was very clean, updated, with 2 queen beds. Great crab cake sliders in the restaraunt and nice breakfast. In all very pleasant stay (off-season) Columbus Day Wkend.

Room Tip: Choose a modernized room up a few floors with 2 queens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My wife and I recently got married and decided on a whim to go down to Cape May for the weekend. The price was very reasonable for the area, the room was slighted dated but everything was extremely clean and spacious enough. While the hotel was completely booked, the front desk staff was very helpful and was able to meet any request in a timely fashion. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

very friendly staff, beutiful views and also great restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZISU T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I have been going to Cape May every summer for the past 3 years and we love it! We used to stay at the Atlas Inn, but have always wanted to try Montreal based on recommendations from friends. This past summer we went with a group of six and had an absolute blast. We stayed in a basic king sized room right on the first floor. Very convenient as you opened out sliding glass doors and you were steps away from the tiki bar and pool. Room was extremely clean. Dated, but who really cares. Our friends stayed in suites. One was very very modern, the other less so, but both were really beautiful. Check in was a breeze and the women at the front desk were extremely friendly and welcoming. we loved that you didn't have to purchase beach badges!

We loved the happy hour and the bartenders were great! We met lots of people that go every year and we could totally understand why. Its within walking distance of EVERYTHING and much, much nicer than the Atlas Inn was before it became a boutique hotel. The hotel provides beach chairs and for a small fee you can purchase a little cabana for the day. The only downside was, the service at the restaurant was so so. We only ate breakfast and lunch there and went fancy for dinner. We love Cape May and we will be mainstays at the Montreal Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KikiNYC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.4 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montreal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montreal Beach Resort

Property: Montreal Beach Resort
Address: 1025 Beach Ave, Beach at Madison Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613 (Formerly Montreal Inn)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,604 - ₹ 13,963
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montreal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those who call The Montreal Beach Resort their second home, our resort is more than just a summer getaway. It's a family tradition, handed down year after year, decade after decade and has become one of our guests' favorite hotels in Cape May, NJ.The reason is simple - this is where memories happen. Memories that bring families closer together. Memories that last long after the snapshots fade. For generations, our families have known the secret to great Cape May vacations. And now that you've found us, you can know it, too.Hotel features a restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Indoor and outdoor bar (best Bloody Mary in Cape May), convenience store, and liquor store. Our restaurant can serve you food and beverage to the beach for you. We have several room types, many with kitchens and suites. We even have a specially appointed Honeymoon Suite. Montreal Beach Resort is located right on the beach. It's a great place to stay and Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Montreal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montreal Hotel Cape May
Montreal Inn Cape May
Montreal Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing