We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chase the winter blues away”
Review of Congress Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congress Hall
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chase the winter blues away”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A winter overnight at the historic Congress Hall. We checked into a sea side room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was clean with premium bedding and towels. A tiled shower and soaking bath. Cocktails were poured perfectly in the Brown Room, along with a roaring fire in the fireplace. The following morning we enjoyed pigs in a blanket at the Blue Pig along with some wonderful shopping at Tommy's Folly. All within the compound of Congress Hall which is in pristine condition with period decorating. we will be back!

Room Tip: We went off season which certainly was a difference in cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5star1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    345
    136
    42
    43
See reviews for
324
522
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FairLawn, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed one nite on very cold February weekend. Hotel and staff was very nice, beds very comfy, clean, and well taken care of by it's staff. The room was a bit chilly, like I said it was a very cold weekend and those old (Original) windows are no match for 25+ wind gusts. We wound up putting towels, and sweatshirts on the sills to keep drafts out, somewhat. We ate at the blue pig for dinner and breakfast next morning. Dinner was mixed. My steak and crabcake was very good, prepared as ordered, and side dishes were good also, and good portion. My wife on the other hand did not enjoy her mussels and lenguine. Mussels were kind of cold, not very appetizing, and the whole dish lacked much flavor. Also the service for dinner was less than good. The waiter seemed like he was in training, his helper totally inadequate. The entire staff at the restaurant that night seemed lacking experience, and ambition. On the other hand the morning staff was very good, and quite energetic and quick to please with any requests. Food was prepared quick and delivered as ordered, quite tasty also. We were given this night as gift for a king Bed/ with Oceanview, when we called for the reservation(2 weeks prior), we were told none of the Oceanviews were available, however we found that not to be the case, they claimed only townviews were available. When my wife called back and complaimed that our package was paid for an Oceanview, and she just saw it available online, they then said no king was available but a queen was. We were upset that they didn't give us the choice, we kind of had to complain in order to get what we deserved. We've been going to Cape May for more than 25 years. The Congress Hall adds a lot of Old world Charm to Cape May, It's pricey but a nice place with a lot of character. It's one of the places that makes the Cape May experience so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BankonHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Just back from four nights at the Congress Hall in Cape May, celebrating my wife's 60th. We got a special rate for a king bed room overlooking the beach. The view of the ocean and the lawn where John Philip Sousa conducted the Marine Band were enchanting; the room was cheerful and very tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was bright and well appointed.

The staff were very helpful and friendly; however, no one on the weekend staff knew where the Cape May Library was, and agreed that there was no library in Cape May. Surprise! It's only three blocks from the hotel! As the hotel does not have a computer for public access, and we can't afford a laptop, it's always handy to have a library nearby for public computer access.

A real treat was the inclusion of the daily and Sunday New York Times. The room has a flat screen television and dvd player. I had trouble getting the television to turn on. This was resolved by plugging the television in to a separate outlet. Also, the dvd player did not work on the configuration which was set up by the hotel. A quick bit of rewiring solved this problem.

Those minor inconveniences aside, the accommodation was wonderful. The sheets were changed every day, even though we said that it wasn't necessary to do so. The towels were plentiful and super absorbent, and there were even terry cloth robes for us to use. We parked in the lower lot the first night, but as street parking is free in Cape May in the winter, we parked on the street, near the hotel entrance, the next three nights.

One thing about visiting Cape May in early February - there aren't many places open, especially during the week. However, we were able to find a different place to eat every night, all of them good. There is a 24 hour WaWa on Texas Avenue, which came in handy for late night tea and snacks. We were able to store leftovers and drinks in the in-room refrigerator, and avoided having to pay the rather high prices for the items in the mini-bar. The hotel staff advised that as long as we left the mini-bar items out in plain sight, we wouldn't be billed for them. And we weren't.

Unfortunately, as the hotel prices are out of our range for food, we never had the opportunity to eat there. We'd have liked to have done so; however, having to work so hard just to afford this special weekend, we couldn't justify spending so much on food.

We really enjoyed our four day stay at the Congress Hall, and were sad to leave. Cape May is really charming at this time of year. We walked on the beach and promenade every day, even as far as the lighthouse. The sunsets at the end of Beach Avenue and at Sunset Beach were spectacular.

A wonderful four nights and days at the Congress Hall, and one that we hope to repeat in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean front, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Runrig_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were recently in Cape May and decided to check out Congress Hall. Wow! they have really done a wonderful job with this place. We have not seen it for many years and were impressed. We visited the bar in the Brown Room and enjoyed the crackling fireplace. We both had a light lunch bar side and enjoyed cocktails. It was a relaxing time and we would highly recommend anyone looking for a place to enjoy a nice drink and relax to stop by and check it out you wont be disappointment!. The Silver Palm Cabernet was fantastic!

Room Tip: Did not stay though enjoyed cocktails and lunch in the Brown Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I always wanted to stay in Congress Hall because it is old and elegant. Room rates are decent in the winter months. The staff was friendly, the room was lovely, even better if warm enought to sit out on the balcony. Wanted to hang out in the brown room but it was way too crowded. would like to return in warmer weather. The bed was soo comfortable. i wasn't disappointed

Room Tip: It's extra special if you can get a room with a balcony facing the ocean and lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 128Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
2.0 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
1.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,313 reviews
1.1 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,203 reviews
0.2 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#8 of 37 in Cape May
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hall

Property: Congress Hall
Address: 200 Congress Place, Cape May, NJ 08204-5306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape May
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,589 - ₹ 51,855
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Congress Hall in Cape May is America's First and Oldest Seaside Resort Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Congress Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hall Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing