We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I Could, I'd Move In!!!”
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #3 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I visited Cape May for Sherlock Holmes weekend, which was also my birthday weekend, from Nov. 5th - Nov. 7th, 2010. I can honestly say that it was the most relaxing and pleasureable stay I've ever had on a vacation. The inn is beautiful and very Victorian. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. Our room was beautiful and I slept better there than I do at home. And the food was terrific, as well. We plan on attending more Sherlock Holmes weekends in the future, as well as some of the other events Cape May has to offer, and we have already made up our minds that we will be staying at Summer Cottage Inn!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dazz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 282 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

This Victorian B&B is very beautiful. The rooms are clean and bright. Breakfast and afternoon tea are delicious and satisfying. You can enjoy these on the veranda at many quaint settings. Inn keeper Patrick and staff are very friendly and helpful. Always a relaxing and fun time. It was our third stay there and we plan to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgrsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

My husband and I LOVE Cape May and we also LOVE B&B's. Over the years we've had the pleasure of staying at 4 other places in the area-some of them we've returned to, others just one time. This B & B does have some key things that are GREAT to have in a B & B in Cape May however they are missing the small personal touches that other B & B's in the area offer.

We were on the beach when we got a call from Patrick. He wanted to confirm what time we were checking in, which was nice. We spent Friday-Monday at the Summer Cottage in the Country Sweet. When we arrived we were instantly greated by Patrick, such a nice guy. He carried all our luggage in and up to our rooms for us (nice touch)and went over the door combination with us as well. After giving us the run down on breakfast times (8:30am-9:30am) and tea times (2:30-3:30pm) he let us get settled in. Our room was a nice size , very limited closet space though. The bathroom had a nice claw foot tub! No fancy toiletries though unlike some of the other B & B's in town. They had body wash and shampoo is soap dispensers in the shower. The words "shampoo" and "bodywash" were written on them in marker. That was a little weird and could have been done a littler more classier, we brought our own stuff so it didn't effect us just something I noticed. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and my husband and I both tossed and turn through out the night. We are used to a King bed and this room had a Queen that seemed to slump in the middle. However, not unbearable. Very Small TV and a DVD player which we did not use nor were there DVD's available to borrow at the inn, just something else I noticed. The rooms did have plenty of info on all the resturants in Cape May and menu's. Also information on tours and costs, times and such. That was a great plus! Overall, the room was quiet, air conditioned and met our needs just fine. While it didn't have ALL the fancy bells and whistles (top thread count sheets, pillow top bed, whirlpool bath), it was still a perfectly suitable room for the budget we were looking to stay in this time around.

The Summer Cottage offered beach towels-beach chairs-and bikes. These three amentites are a MUST at any B & B. Also a plus, outside shower, which we used up till the day we left. We were able to use the chairs and outside shower even after checkout. That let us enjoy the beach for one more day- and I wont forget to mention- the beach is literally ONE block away. Step outside the Cottage gates and walk straight up the street and there is the beach! Perfect location! They are smack in the middle of town practically and once we found free parking on the street (which could be difficult at this time of year) we didnt have to move our car once. We were lucky to find a spot right across the street from the Inn.

Breakfast is usually what I look forward to when staying at a B & B. Each morning they served scramble eggs, some type of baked egg dish, sausage two days and bacon one day. Also they made an interesting french toast dish one morning that was very good! They always offered two juices, orange and another type. Mixed fruit was always available and watermelon was out each day. Granola, yougurt, muffins, bagels, bread and english muffins were out near a toaster so anyone could help themselves. While the breakfast was nothing fancy and a little greasy for my taste there was a lot of choices if you didn't like the tradtional eggs and meat options. Afternoon tea was lack luster in my opinion. Everyday it was limited choices of tea, iced tea, lemonade and some sort of baked good and cookie or cake. Nothing amazing and we actually skipped it a few days after taking a look at the options. Slight bummer there.

The porch was great and we ate breakfast there everyday and also spent a few hours rocking on a rainy day. Very relaxing indeed!

We never met anyone else other than two women who cleaned our rooms and Patrick so I assumed Patrick ran the show. No one reached out to us and the "innkeepers" weren't around if there was any questions or concerns any guest may had. That was something I was not used to. Every other B & B had very warm innkeepers who always had a presence around the inn. Patrick was a very nice guy but we only seen him at Breakfast and then after that it was very sparatic

All in all if you are looking for Value- this is your place, if you looking for all the fancy stuff and the upgrades then maybe another B & B would fit better.. The things it lacked in made up for in location and price!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissaGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This B & B was reserved via the internet sight unseen. The location to the beach, historic and shopping areas was optimal, just a few blocks away. What wasn't optimal was driving round and round trying to find parking. We unloaded and then parked about 8 blocks away. We brought beach chairs that had to be taken back to the car after being on the beach.
They do provide chairs, so we didn't have to bring ours. But we didn't know that. They also provide bicycles free to use which is nice.
Internet access WIFI was unavailable for a whole day. It was needed which was why that one was picked. Very frustrating to have to go someplace to find WIFI.
The decor is very Victorian and clean.The bedroom was clean and very fresh smelling with AC. The best part I think was the porch that breakfast and tea were served on. There seemed to be a nice breeze always. The breakfast however was very uninspiring. Greasy sausages, seemingly store bought baked goods, and a soggy breakfast casserole in addition to scrambled eggs. Fresh fruit and juices were provided along with coffee and granola too.
We are not overly fond of B&B's, but the allure is usually the creativity and freshness of the breakfast. This wasn't the case here. For the price, we'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We were greeted at the door by Patrick, who carried our luggage up to our room, and answered all our questions.
As I said great location, one block from the beach, three blocks from the mall, and walking distance to many fine restaurants.
Jean, was all so very help full, attending to all our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,241 reviews
1.6 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
1.4 km away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 13,177 - ₹ 29,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing