We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Relaxing Getaway Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harrison

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harrison
Ranked #2 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxing Getaway Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience, and one we certainly will repeat. The Inn was lovely with beautiful Victorian decor and an inviting front porch. We stayed in the Wicker Garden room which had a private entrance at the back of the Inn through the garden. The room was small but very clean and nice. We couldn't, unfortunately, sit out on its little porch because of the mosquitoes. Breakfast was good and afternoon tea delicious. It was wonderfully relaxing to rock and read on the front porch with tea and cake. The only drawback was the lack of on-site parking. We had to find parking several blocks away and probably wouldn't stay here during the summer season for that reason. All in all, though, it was a delightful spot for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieDoodleOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    19
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
186
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

I stayed at the summer cottage inn about a year ago and I really enjoyed my stay. The inn keeper at the time was extremely friendly and helpful in giving us information about the town. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the rooms were comfortable and clean. I would definitely recommend the summer cottage inn to others! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmescal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We just spent 2 nights at the Summer Cottage Inn and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Wicker Garden room which is to the back of the house and has it's own entrance, and small porch with wicker rockers. The room was a tad small but non the less comfortable and cozy. We understand the the room is going to be enlarged. Patrick and Jean the innkeepers were so personable and made you feel right at home and it was as if you'd known them forever. Patrick is a great storyteller and can tell you about every resturant and sight to see. The food at breakfast was beyond words, the first morning Jean prepared baked pancakes and the next Patrick made a mac n cheese casserole without the mac. Tea time was another treat, with various teas and cookies and cake. The Inn is located within walking distance of Washington St Mall, the beach and many restaurants. They also have bikes you can use and even chairs for the beach.
Our room had a refrigerator in the room, but in the mail house there is a small kitchen that all guests can use that has a microwave and fridge and is stocked with tea, hot chocolate and coffee.

The only downfall is NO parking which is not mentioned on their website. Being off season we only ended parking about a block away but my companion is handicapped and often in a wheelchair so during the height of summer parking would be a big problem. We would recommend the Inn and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Countrygirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed at the Summer Cottage Inn for Sherlock Holmes weekend. The innkeepers Jean and Patrick were very friendly and helpful. For breakfast (which was very good both days), you had the option of being seated in the dining room or at one of the small tables set up in the parlor. We chose to sit in front of the fireplace for our meals. There is a frig on the 3rd Floor where you can store any drinks and leftovers from dining out you may have. For afternoon tea we had the option of a few different homemade cookies or snacks. The rooms are very nice w/ the only shortcoming that the tvs in the room are very small. No big deal beacuse you 're not at a B&B to watch tv. The inn is located within easy walking distance of the mall and the beach. When we do Sherlock Holmes weekend again, this is where we are going to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAChris55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2010

This is our second stay at this B&B and we had a great experience. I think there are B&B's that can give a more personable experience and more gourmet breakfast but you cannot beat the location or price. We needed a 1-night stay on short notice and this one filled the bill perfectly. There also doesn't appear to be on site parking.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkeafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.2 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
1.1 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.6 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#16 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harrison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harrison

Property: The Harrison
Address: 613 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,864 - ₹ 26,597
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrison 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to the newly renovated Inn, "The Harrison," formerly "The Summer Cottage Inn". We are delighted to invite you to stay with us where you will be surrounded by Victorian Elegance complimented by Contemporary Luxuries. Our rooms are appointed with luxurious bedding, elegant wall coverings, opulent lighting, and updated bathrooms with marble floors. The Harrison will allow you to relax and step back in time while enjoying modern conveniences. All of our rooms have their own private baths, are fully air conditioned, and include luxury toiletries by Beekman, in wall USB chargers, Bluetooth wireless speaker and alarm clock radios, in-room Iron and Ironing boards, LED flat screen TVs with Cable, free high speed internet and Wi-Fi, and come with access to our pantry for a late night tea or to store your restaurant leftovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Harrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing