We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding trip to Cape May with friends”
Review of Saltwood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saltwood House
Ranked #16 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birding trip to Cape May with friends”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at Saltwood House with friends on a quick birding getaway to Cape May. We chose Saltwood House based on Don's special pre-season rate deal, but I'd happily go back and pay his usual rates. The location of the inn is superb, right in the center of town, near the beach and restaurants, but for us, the real draw was the charm of the inn, the convenience of included parking, and the spotless and comfortable rooms. Don's hospitality and excellent baked omelette added to the appeal.

We stayed in the Newport Suite, a comfortable two-room second floor retreat. We loved the convenience of the Keurig coffeemaker right outside the room for our early coffee, all the modern touches in the rooms (cable, internet, refrigerator, a/c (which we didn't need),hairdryer, etc.), and the privacy of having the whole back side of the floor to ourselves. We also loved the charming and confortable front porch, with the rockers, tables and lamps set up to create a lovely outdoor room feeling.

Don's breakfast schedule allowed us to duck out for quick early morning birding, then a return for breakfast and a bit of relaxation before heading out again. We consider Saltwood House a major find and look forward to many return trips.

Room Tip: All rooms except one have private bath ensuite, but the one room without (Hampton) has a private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
164
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The owners do everything possible to make everyone's stay delightful, and it all works. This is a great place to sit on the porch, rock back and forth, and watch the Cape May world go by. One block from the beach, one block from all the "action" at the shopping area. Could not be better.

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Don and Erik continue to make the beginning of beach season memorable for us and, as usual, continue make their guests feel right at home. The food is excellent, the rooms are cozy, and the company is terrific. You won't find a better B&B in Cape May, trust me.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillandKathyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

If you are seeking convenience, privacy, unique surroundings and exceptional food, please consider the Saltwood House B&B in Cape May, NJ. The 3rd floor suite is charming and so very comfortable with its Victorian furnishings & ocean breezes. Superb restaurants are within walking distance in this charming town. I definitely plan a return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsmeow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newjersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I am a devoted guest of this beautiful home. I return year after year always reserving my room in advance. Don has always been a most gracious host, the house is beautifully decorated and not overdone in that heavy "Victorian". The rooms are immaculate and spacious and filled with light. And what can I say about the breaksfast; I never want to leave the table. The location is on the most historic street in Cape May, just steps away from the Washington Mall and the beautiful Atlantic. I enjoy my visit each year and can't wait to sit on the Saltwood's porch and watch the comings and goings on the lovely street and also to enjoy Don's hospitality! It is always been a weekend to look forward to!

Room Tip: The Cape Island suite on the top floor is my favorite. Lots of room with a view of the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,175 reviews
0.1 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
0.0 km away
The Star
The Star
#21 of 37 in Cape May
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
324 reviews
0.3 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
279 reviews
0.3 km away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltwood House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltwood House

Property: Saltwood House
Address: 28 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1465
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,470 - ₹ 14,233
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saltwood House is ideally located on Cape May's oldest street and 1/2 block from the beach and the center of town. Delight in the Victorian charms of an artfully restored home. Guests enjoy the convenience of our on-site parking. Our on-line guest room availability is updated everyday. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing