We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but overpriced”
Review of Rhythm of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rhythm of the Sea
Ranked #27 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The dining area is by no means elegant, nor is any part of the Inn. The furniture in the main room is Mission, which I am not a fan of, but I knew this going in. The Inn is very well kept, but for a pool table in the main area, there is absolutely nothing going on here whatsoever. If you want a quiet, private stay, then this is your place. The breakfasts were okay but not fantastic. The eggs benedict were served on a biscuit....NOT a good taste & somewhat disappointing. We had the suite, but at over $425, not what we would have expected. Extremely tiny bathroom. It's a great location directly across from the beach. They have bicycles , beach towels & beach chairs. The chairs are practically worthless as they are just inches off the sand & the backs do not even adjust. If you want any comfort whatsoever, bring your own. If you have any issues after 7:00 P.M., you're basically on your own as there is no one there much after that. You must use a code to get into the door after that time. This is my 2nd visit & it is certainly not what it once was.

Room Tip: There is one small rm. in the front of the Inn that has a small balcony & an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ddsteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2016

The location is convenient, the rooms are a very nice size. The general theme is mission/craftsman style furniture and it looks great. The breakfasts were great and they readily accommodated my wheat issues. The fellas really enjoyed the billiard table. Everyone enjoyed the freshly baked afternoon cookies. There were two drawbacks - the beds are queen-size and we are admittedly spoiled with a king bed at home. The breakfast is only served from 8:30 to 9:30 which is a bit limiting when one is on vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eleanor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived just 5 minutes before the general check in time,6pm and the host had an emergency so she can not wait for us. She made sure we can get in the house by giving excellent instructions and called me to ensure we were alright. Although We did not meet her personally, but We can feel that Robyn is a very caring person. The house is beautiful with excellent location. We just need to across the street to be on the beach. All equipments and amenities are provided for us to enjoy the beach and the city: bicycle, umbrella, beach towel, cold drink, coffee, tea, cookies. Three of us stayed in room 8 with 2 bedroom, seating room and 1,5 bath, very cozy. The breakfast was delicious but we expected a bit more variety since this is a bed and bfast inn. We found this inn is a bit pricey, may be because it was summer time.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ferliana21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Quiet, clean and comfortable. We felt very welcome in this beautiful home directly across the street from the ocean. We came August 30 to September 3. We had a choice between two rooms. We chose room 7. We were able to walk to the mall where all the action takes place. Rhythm of the Sea is probably beautiful to stay in the fall. It is so cozy inside.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

What a lovely place! The beds were extremely comfortable--we shared the suite (room 8) which had two separate bedrooms and two bathrooms (one with shower) which suited us perfectly. I went with my aged parents, and Misty (the manageress) couldn't have been more accommodating. My parents needed a mat for the bath and she went out and bought one for them. The "Arts & Crafts" inn is right on the waterfront with comfortable chairs to lounge in on the porch and a full sized pool table inside. Lemonade and baked snacks are served at 3:30, and the breakfasts were to die for--eggs benedict and homemade waffles with strawberries. Excellent coffee and juice. Just a perfect place for a memorable stay in Cape May.

Room Tip: room 8 is good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 km away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.3 km away
The Peter Shields Inn
The Peter Shields Inn
#9 of 40 in Cape May
256 reviews
1.2 km away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
2 km away
Albert Stevens Inn
Albert Stevens Inn
#8 of 40 in Cape May
616 reviews
1.2 km away
Gingerbread House
Gingerbread House
#7 of 40 in Cape May
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhythm of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhythm of the Sea

Address: 1123 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 9,873 - ₹ 23,885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rhythm of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only thing we overlook is the Atlantic Ocean! We are the perfect blend of convenience, comfort and romance. Architecturally inspiring and in keeping with the Arts and Crafts Movement the simplicity is refreshing and therefore relaxing. We invite you to savor our sumptuous meals, peaceful privacy and 'gemuetlichkeit' any time of the year. You were drawn to the Rhythm of the Sea and will be mesmerized by the tranquility. Looking forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rhythm Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing