We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angel of the Sea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #6 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A nice place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I visited Angel of the Sea in early March. As it was off-season and during the week, it was not crowded, and we were given a free up-grade. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and pleasant. The best part of the stay (just one night) was probably the friendly and helpful staff. It is very close to the beach, and close enough to the main attractions of cape may to be convenient, but not in the very middle of them. I didn't think the wine offered at the wine and cheese in the evening was very good, but otherwise the food wasn't bad and the over-all experience was nice. I'd recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony looking towards the sea are especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    93
    41
    23
    10
See reviews for
68
419
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

My wife and I just got back from vacation at the Angel of the Sea. It was our 4th stay and it seems to be getting better and better every time we go. For us it's the best Bed and Breakfast; we would not stay anywhere else in Cape May.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zdebfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Me and my wife mari went there for our anniversary and everything was perfect . We loved afternoon tea and breakfast the next day was amazing . Room service etc top notch. Great job staff we will be back thank you

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallagherhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Angel was recommended by a Co worker of mine...so we called and got a good deal as it was off season in cape may...the room was clean and very comfy, perfect for a 2 night stay the staff was very friendly and gave us great advice as what to do and what to eat in the are even offered to make reservations for us to eat the breakfast was fresh and yummy both days...all the other thing like cheese and wine and the tea afternoon were very nice touches...we will be back loved the stay and I believe anyone else would do also

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Chet and his staff attended to our every need. The room and facilities were charming, just what you would expect from a 160 year old "home". The breakfast were excellent, with home baked goodies included. The afternoon tea (and coffee) with fresh baked sweets were great too. We really enjoyed the wine and cheese at 5:30. We had great conversations with many people.
All things considered, everything was A+. If you are looking for modern facilities with solitude, a B&B is not the place for you. If you want great food, facilities, staff and conversation, this is the place for you. Remember, this is an old building, so everything is not perfect and modern, but this was EXACTLY what we were looking for! We stayed 3 nights over Presidents weekend, and there was plenty to do.
(Plenty of off street parking, which is a real plus for Cape May)
(PS to Chet, we are glad you liked the picture of our house decorated for Christmas!)

Room Tip: Room 8 on the 2nd floor was great, with a balcony facing the ocean. You could even see the ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.8 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.1 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.7 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Property: Angel of the Sea
Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,292 - ₹ 27,684
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing