We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pharo's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pharo's Inn
Ranked #30 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

We spent a restful weekend at the Pharo's Inn B and B and gave it mixed reviews. The pluses are that Walt greeted us and told us where to find free parking. The rooms were simple but Very clean. The AC worked well and we were very well located both with proximity to great restaurants, the mall area and the beach. The towels while not numerous were very fluffy. We were given beach towels. By using an online coupon it was very reasonably priced given the location. Walt and Pat were sincere and seemed interested in us having a nice time during our weekend and we appreciated their sincere intentions.

However, a few areas need immediate attention. The living area was quite dark and drab. The front grass area was pretty much overcome with weeds and could have used attention. It was situated next to a few well kept B and B's which catered to their guests with what appeared to be comfortable tables and chairs for dining with table cloths. We ate using portable wooden cocktail tables which one could buy at Walmart and on rocking chairs. While the orange juice, fruit and breakfast bread were fresh, they insisted on servicing this pretty scary egg based casserole which had no texture, taste, or nutritional value either day. Seriously, serving an assortment of bagels and danish would have gone over much better. Also, the "snacks" put out in the afternoon were some cheap cookies. Also, they should redo the front canopy so that it is brighter and not quite so drab.

Overall, this B and B was a B- with pluses being Walt and Pat's hospitality, the cleanliness of the rooms and the price with the negatives including no parking, the scary egg casserole, uninviting living room area, and the front porch feel which really could be a strength.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieRichPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    6
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Friendly, unpretentious and relaxing -- without all the excessive, over-the-top "Victoriania" decor that makes other inns feel claustrophobic. The B&B is just one block from the beach and shops. It is spacious, clean, and welcoming -- and a great value, with prices that will leave you with a little money in your pocket to enjoy dining out at all the great restaurants. Nice breakfasts and home-baked cookies and lemonade at 4 pm. The best porch in Cape May, too, with awesome rockers. Walt and Pat are great hosts and go the extra mile to make guests comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fluffypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnegat, NJ.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

We stayed at Pharro's for 2 nights. It suited our needs.
First , I'll tell you what I liked about it. The staff was friendly and the location was great; one block from the beach. Our room was large, clean, nicely decorated, and the a/c unit worked well. The towels were new and soft. The owners provided both bath towels and beach towels. Beach chairs were also available. Our bathroom was private and large and the fact that it was down the hall wasn't a problem.
Now the downside, The matterss was very hard in room #7 and the bed squeeked. The breakfast the first day was pretty bad. Not too sure what you would call it. It was some type of egg based, baked custard. I had only a few bites and my girlfriend had only a taste. It took a few hours not to feel a little sick in my stomach. We gave up and went out for breakfast both days. There was no parking if front of the place. If you don't mind parking at a meter($1 an hour 10 am to 10 pm), that starts about a 1/2 block away. Free parking starts about 2 blocks away.
Overall we liked the place I guess, but we'll probably try to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Breakfast and the hard matterss
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

We just returned home from a wonderful weekend at Pharo's B&B. We've been going to Cape May for years and had never heard of Pharo's. Walt and Pat, the owners, were lovely and treated us like guests in their own home. They served a delicious, homemade breakfast in the morning and had snacks in the afternoon. The rooms were extremely clean and decorated perfectly from the Victorian time period. Sitting on their porch for hours, sipping iced tea and watching everyone go by was a grand past-time that Walt may even join in on for a few minutes. I'd send everyone to this place especially the location...right in the center of Cape May and only a block from the beach. And to top it off...affordable! What more could you want? We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff was friendly, reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LivingInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2007

A little-known but delightful B&B sits in Cape May, run by the charming proprietors Walt and Pat. Well maintained, with excellent breakfasts, this B&B should be on anyone's list of destinations for Cape May. Not as elegant as some, but cheerfully decorated in period style, it is very clean, efficiently run, and convenient to the beach and downtown Cape May. Priced right for a several day stay without breaking the bank.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, decoration, friendliness of proprietors
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poolroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 km away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.0 km away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.3 km away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#31 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.9 km away
Albert Stevens Inn
Albert Stevens Inn
#7 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pharo's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pharo's Inn

Property: Pharo's Inn
Address: 617 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing