We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel only had a 1 bedroom available for the first 2 nights of our stay and it was nice but a little small (especially the bathroom) for our family of 2 adults and 2 (8 &11) children. The oceanview made up for it though! Our last 2 nights were spent in a 2 bedroom and it was incredibly spacious and comfortable! The 1 bedroom showed a little wear and tear (especially the rug in the livingroom) but both rooms were very clean. The utensils, pots and pans looked brand new which I found impressive! Loved the location because we were a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shopping. Front desk took time to recommend restaurants and activities to us and the older gentleman who checked us in was incredibly nice! The Sandpiper is a little expensive for off season but it is Cape May and we would stay in the 2 bedroom again because I like having peace of mind that everything is clean!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    71
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
128
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westerville OH
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Sandpiper offers lovely accomodations with beautiful ocean views. The staff is excellent and you want for nothing. LOVE the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed mid-week in mid-September at the Sandpiper Beach Club in Cape May, NJ and thoroughly enjoyed it. The unit was a one bedroom with full kitchen on the first floor. The hotel is across the road from the beach, but you need to walk a little bit to the beach service hut where you get complimentary loungers, umbrellas, chairs. The unit was very clean and we loved it. The furniture is okay - beach decor. The price is pretty high considering how it was furnished, but the linens were crisp and everything was spotless. To me, it's worth it. I am not a fan of "charming" Victorian B&Bs where the draperies and soft furniture has been used without cleaning for last 100 years.

Pros: 1) super clean; 2) beach front (across the road); 3) beach service; 4) did I mention clean :)
Cons: 1) loud in-room central A/C (can be bothersome at night in the summer); Not many cons.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Located directly across the street (Beach Avenue) in Cape May, the Sandpiper is a great location with a great view. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the wing closest to the ocean and from the balcony, unless you look down, you’d hardly know there was a road between you and the road!

When we got to our room, we were very impressed with the décor and layout. You come in to a full kitchen area with marble counter tops, that opens out to a large living room with an ocean view balcony and another wall with large widows looking west down the shore. Our room had two bedrooms with 2 full (nicely appointed) bathrooms (one of them en suite). A minor complaint is that while the master bedroom had an ocean view, the smaller bedroom had windows looking out onto the hallway (fine for kids, I suppose … and since this room was at the end of the hall, it would be rare for anyone else to be walking by those windows).

When we checked in, they gave us a discount breakfast coupon to the Rusty Nail restaurant a block or two down Beach Avenue. This is a very casual (bathing suits are okay) place at the Beach Shack motel (a sister property to the Sandpiper) with great breakfasts. Not sure why they only gave us 1 coupon since we were there for 4 days, but it didn’t really matter since it was great to have the eat-in kitchen right in our room!

The center of Cape May is a very short walk, by the historic Congress Hall hotel (check out the “Blue Pig” restaurant). There are the typical tourist shops and great restaurants of all descriptions (don’t miss Kohr Brothers frozen custard shop … get the orange/vanilla swirl cone!) along a walking mall in the center of town. A long walk down the beach (or a short drive) toward the mouth of the Delaware River is the historic Cape May lighthouse which (on a clear day) offers spectacular views of the area.

One excellent perk that the Sandpiper (and their sister properties) offers is complementary beach-chair/umbrella/towel service right on the beach. Just walk up to their beach cabana, give your name and room number to the attendant and he’ll set up your chairs and umbrella for you at no extra charge (although a tip is much appreciated). Or, if the surf is a bit rough that day, there is a very nice swimming pool right in front of the hotel.

The cleaning staff did an excellent job and they were very friendly when they came to offer towel and linen service (twice a day … which is great for a beach hotel!).

I’d definitely recommend the Sandpiper to anyone who wants to get away for a few days at the low-key end of the “Jersey Shore”!

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room at the end of the east wing, closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in September. It had been quite a few years since we stayed in Cape May and our stay at The Sandpiper was lovely.

The unit and all common areas were very clean. The renovation of this property from a Beach Drive Motel to small condo "resort" was well done. While Cape Resorts could not increase the overall unit size they utilized every square inch in the one bedroom unit that we stayed in. All of the finishes in the unit - fixtures, tile, marble countertops, linens and towels are upgraded.

We arrived before check-in and we were able to use the locker rooms off of the fitness room to change. We then walked down 1 small block to the beach in front of Congress Hall. They have complimentary beach services. It was so nice to just walk down and have a nice young man place 2 lounge chairs, table, umbrella and towels for us. After years of trekking to the beach with supplies this was a true vacation. At lunch time they bring menus so you can order lunch if you like (at an extra charge). This was lovely especially when we hadn't checked into our room. I see by other reviews that the beach services "in season" may not be as pleasant as what we experienced but these services alone are worth staying at a Cape Resort property!

The front desk called us on our cell phone when our room was ready. Our unit had everything you could want. Full size fridge with ice maker, stove and sink. All the kichen equipment you could need. We also had a small balcony overlooking the parking area, pool, Beach Dr and the beach.

There was twice daily made service. More towels in the room, beach and pool then even I could ever use.

If I had any complaints it would be for the price, they should have a bellman to take your luggage to your room. However, they did have luggage carts to use. Its just a touch that upgrades a property and gives a better first impression than hauling your own stuff.

The location of The Sandpiper is ideal as Cape May is very walkable from this part of town. The Washington St Mall is about a 3 block walk as is just about everthing else you may be looking for.

In the end, I would love to stay at The Sandpiper again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Izzy214Burlington_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
2.2 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
0.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
1.3 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,313 reviews
1.6 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
1.4 km away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Property: Sandpiper Beach Resort
Address: 11 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,568 - ₹ 63,214
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for unmatched quality, location and outstanding amenities in your vacation rental, the Sandpiper Beach Club, Cape May NJ, is the perfect fit. Offering 51 units on a beachfront block in Cape May, New Jersey, the Sandpiper is available for daily, weekend, or weekly rentals year round. Located in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May, across the street from the area's best beaches, the Sandpiper boasts a walk-to-everything convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Cape May
Sandpiper Beach Cape May
Sandpiper Cape May Nj
Sandpiper Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing