We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit”
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Shack
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We had a groupon for one night stay and was surprised how clean the rooms looked. Sheets were immaculate as well as bethrooms. Pool , Rusty nail bar on the premises( not inside), umbrellas and firepit. Relaxed and not loud at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iryna120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

Nothing could be better than relaxing at the Beach Shack for casual drinks and dinner near the firepit/Rusty Nail after enjoying a day steps away on the beautiful beach. Enjoyed beach lunch service and Rusty Mary's that were superb. Spent five days there in August for the third year in a row and fully enjoyed. Also great high end restaurants nearby like 410 Bank Street and the Washington Inn to enjoy! Cape May is a special place and if you are looking to just kick back and relax with your spouse and kids try the Beach Shack.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms near the Rusty Nail versus near the pool. Better ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyMomofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and although the sectional sofa and bed were extremely comfortable I felt the bedroom also should have had a TV. The only TV was in the living room. I enjoy watching TV in bed especially on vacation. Otherwise everything else was OK for a stay. Basic motel room but clean and some updating was done. Entertainment outside at the bar on weekends was great. Nice and quiet at the right time for bed. Great ocean views from most rooms. I have stayed at most of this organizations lodging in Cape May but this was not at all as special as the other places. Nice but I think the price should be lowered.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoreluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I booked this trip off the internet (Living Social),so I wasn't sure if it was as good as it sounded. Well it was so good We're going next May&/or Sept. after Labor Day!!! Do to the Hurricane We didn't go in the water very far. But the Beach Shack had a very nice pool. Our room(111) was just right for Us. Didn't want to leave. But they were still booked full on Sept.9th, so We left. Will plan on staying longer next Year. Plus the Rusty Nail was right there right outside Our door. This place was Excellent also. Family oriented&The best Shrimp Cocktails&food.We can hardly wait till I get the price list for next Year. Thank You for a much needed get away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Great location across the street from the beach. Towel and chair service at the beach is a major plus. Parking always seems to be an issue for us at Cape Resorts (Congress Hall, Star Inn and Beach Shack). On busy weekends, there are too many cars without tags that fill up the parking lots and it's difficult to find a parking spot. Beach Shack is not for kids. The Beach Shack's Rusty Nail is more of a bar scene with so-so food than somewhere like Congress Hall which is more family oriented. The rooms require some major upgrades, especially the bathrooms.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Abevilaque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
2.4 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.4 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
1.5 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
232 reviews
1.9 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.2 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 7,608 - ₹ 18,119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing