We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Camelot Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camelot Motel
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I spent 5 nights at this wonderful Motel with my son, DIL and 2 grandsons. We had a 2 room efficiency that gave us plenty of space. The rooms were kept clean and were attended every day. The staff were the most friendly people I have ever encountered on a vacation. The pool was also well maintained. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff.
The Motel is within easy walking distance to the historic district, as well as the Mall for shopping. There is a miniature golf course between the Motel and Beach Ave, so from the 4th floor you have a great view of the beach and the ocean.
I thoroughly recommend this Motel.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has great vies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 247 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

I think all the reviewers are over stating the benefits of the motel. It is very close to the beach. It is also reasonably close to the Washington Square Mall. It did have a clean pool. However, that is where the positives end. The "newly remodeled" one bedroom we stayed in had a musty smell. There was only one air conditioning in the bedroom that was literally touching one of the beds. It made for a very uncomfortable night of sleep. The bathroom was so small that you could barely open the door without touching the toilet. The room was not really cleaned each day. The bed was made and towels were just replaced for the shower. The maid never wiped down the bathroom sink or kitchen table. The new carpet from May was stained already. The wall in the kitchen had a red stain on the wall that looked like blood. The bathroom floor was gritty from sand. I strongly feel that these motels are able to command these prices due to their location. We paid $235 a night for a room that I would never have stayed in anywhere else. I would not stay again! You need to bring your own beach towels. However, they never dried because the room was always damp and musty. The mattress was uncomfortable and loud. Each time my husband moved at night it woke our daughter and myself. A parking spot should come with the room. However, we went to Wildwood one night and when we returned at 11:00 pm there were no spots. We had to find a spot on the street. When we complained to management, they did nothing to compensate us. We did have a problem with the tv when we arrived and management was quite responsive to that issue.

Stayed: August 2012
7  Thank Lynn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We just spent 4 days in Cape May and stayed at this great motel. The location was excellent (within walking distance to everything, including the historic district). The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was so friendly and nice. It is also very affordable. Cape May is a lovely place to vacation and we would definitely stay at the Camelot again.

Room Tip: Our room was on first floor which was fine and very convenient. However, next time we visit, we wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We had the apartment with a view of the ocean, promenade and to the south. The service was great and staff extremely helpful going out of their way for special requests. There were three beds in two rooms and a sofa bed in the living room area. Two TV’s and radios. It was easy to feel at home quickly with plates, dinnerware, full-sized fridge and microwave. Great point was the elevator! We’re looking forward to planning our next visit!

Room Tip: I didn't see a bad room in the place but if you lik
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Our family of five has stayed at the Camelot every August for several years now. The location is right across from the beach and boardwalk; and easy walking distance to the ocean-front retail shops, the Victorian walking-mall, and located among many beautiful sea-side victorian homes. More than the location, it is the motel itself that we love. The rooms are above average size and kept in exceptionally clean condition. Every off season the ownership re-invests in the property, and we are always excited to see what updates have been made. We choose the third or fourth floor for the balcony views, and efficiency room accommodations. The balconies provide the perfect spot from which to enjoy your morning coffee, watch the vacationing families and friends, and enjoy an evening cocktail as your group showers and prepares for a lovely night out in any of Cape May's many many lovely and unique restaurants! The owners and employees are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and appreciated. Try the Camelot, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BardonBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 km away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
268 reviews
0.7 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
1.3 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
738 reviews
0.5 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,250 reviews
1.2 km away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Motel

Address: 103 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2426
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape May
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cape May
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 3,169 - ₹ 13,308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Camelot Motel Cape May
Camelot Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing