We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Upscale, full service hotel in Cape May” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Upscale, full service hotel in Cape May”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at the Ocean Club Hotel for four nights beginning August 26. It was our second time at the hotel as we had stayed last year. We had a wet bar suite which included a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and sink. The positives about the hotel are that, like most Cape May hotels/motels, you are right across the street from the beach. Most rooms have a beachfront view. There is pool service and beach service which includes food and drink. They provide the chairs and towels at the beach so you don't have to bring them along with you on the trip. They have umbrellas at the beach but they charge you $10 for them which is ridiculous considering what you are paying for a room. I did not have any problems with any of the staff though others have mentioned this in other reviews. I also found the bed to be very comfortable. The negatives are that the bathrooms are small with little counter space for your toiletries. Also, my daughter sometimes had a hard time sleeping because there is about a 1 inch gap under the door to the room so she could hear all the hallway noise. Unfortunately, there are always people who are not considerate enough to keep their voices down when walking in hotels. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to those seeking an upscale, full service hotel in Cape May as I don't think there is any similar type of property. It is a place I would return to again if visiting Cape May.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 3 or above for a good view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveSun_and_Sand99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    159
    66
    24
    27
See reviews for
179
238
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The rooms are nice (albeit a bit small). The pool is nice. Unfortunately I can't say the same about the staff! Our phone didn't work. The safe broke twice as did our air conditioning. Everything did get fixed but we wasted our precious vacation time waiting around. When we complained at the front desk the guy just shrugged his shoulders and said "sorry". Meanwhile, another guest with similar issues was given a $50 gift certificate to use at the tiki bar.

On top of it all, the carpet in the hallway is filthy and stained. The paint on the doors is scratched; very dungy looking. No coffee makers in the room, but you can buy coffee from the restaurant; there is no room service so be prepared to schlep there in your pj's. And the bathroom makes nyc bathrooms look big!

Overall, I found the staff to be very rude and the accommodations lacking. I was very disappointed with my stay. Especially given the cost!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl44nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The poor experience started at the front desk. The woman did not say hello. Did not welcome us, or even look at us. We were early, so I asked if we could check in. She did not answer my question, just said "driver's license." I handed her my credit card, as well and she said "I don't need that, you're not getting in your room before 3."
We came back at 3:10 and the room still wasn't ready, so the same woman said we could wait by the pool and "promised" she would come get us in 20 minutes. After two expensive drinks - including a coke that was all ice poured by an amateur bartender - and 40 minutes of waiting, we went back to the front desk. The room was ready, they just couldn't be bothered to tell us.
The room was next to the ice machine, housekeepers lounge and vending and had a shower, not the tub we requested. Taking a nap was impossible with doors slammimg all around us.We called for a better room and were told they were full - though I booked weeks in advance. We then asked what they were going to do for us and they said "nothing." We said we wanted to check out and they said we would not get a refund. We stayed one night and went to a nearby hotel for the rest of the stay.
They did end up sending us a $50 credit to their overpriced restaurant, but we sent it back, We were done with them.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCM_Management_Team, OCH Management at Ocean Club Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
We are always unhappy if a guest leaves dissatisfied. We appreciate feedback and use it wherever possible to improve upon the property. We're sure you can appreciate that check in time is a busy time, however, we will certainly ensure that our staff does better with the process going forward.

We do not have any record of a tub being requested, nor do we have a record of a credit being extended to you. We wish you well in your future travels and thank you for helping us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Ocean Club hotel for 4 nights. We reserved a king suite with a sundeck. The room was nice. There was enough room for the 3 of us (me, husband, young daughter) and the views in the morning was nice. The pictures are a bit deceiving though - if you think you're getting a private sundeck, you're not. It's more like a small tented area - next to others. But it was nice and we were happy with our room.

The service was just so-so with a couple of exceptions. John at the pool was professional and friendly. It was as if he is the only person in the building who understands the hospitality business. The other exception was housekeeping - they were friendly and did a good job. The beach staff (umbrella/towel service) was atrocious. We actually dreaded having to deal with them.

The pool was nice (a little chilly) and the pool bar was really convenient for an afternoon drink after a day on the beach. The location was great.

It's not a luxury hotel. So, manage your expectations and you'll be pleasantly surprised. They definitely are trying to fill a need on cape may of a luxury hotel and with some tweaks, they might be able to do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Club. The room was spacious and clean and we had a terrific view of the ocean from our balcony. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the pool/beach service was top-notch. The location is fantastic, about a 10-15 minute walk away from the center of Cape May. Would recommend and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dnbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.1 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
1.4 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#17 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.1 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,158 - ₹ 19,287
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing