We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like an oceanfront spa.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Club Hotel
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Like an oceanfront spa.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel and was greeted by a very cool, clean and modern hotel. That being said, I do have a couple of things that I would like to point out, good and not-so-good. First off, the beds are INCREDIBLE! I have never stayed anywhere where the beds were this wonderful! Now, the not-so-good and really my only complaint....the shower. My guess is the hotel was looking to do an Oriental / Zen / Spa type of thing; however, I come from a time and place where shower doors and/or curtains provide a purpose! There is only one glass panel on the shower and it only covers half of the stall. Therefore, you're not only exposed and feeling a draft, but there is great propensity for water to get everywhere. There is only one shelf in the stall, as well. I know, I know - if this is my only complaint, then that's not so bad - and you know? It IS a great hotel; BUT, sometimes all of the ocean views and comfy beds can't make up for some things....and this was an important thing for me. Is it a deal-breaker? Of course not! I'll be back, but I would hope that current Management takes the suggestion of a shower door or curtain under advisement.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean front, so you can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RealPegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    159
    66
    24
    27
See reviews for
179
238
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Purchase, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Finally, a luxurious hotel in Cape May. Beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms, top of the line linens and bath prooducts......Unbeatable location with friendly and efficient beach service for food, drinks, towels, umbrellas and chairs! It doesn't disapppoint!!!

Room Tip: get a room on the sundeck level where you'll have your own private outdoor patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carlajeanne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel right after the Hurricane hit and we had low expections for our trip...to our pleasant surprise the hotel picked up as if nothing had happened. The experience, our room and customer service were all excellent. The outdoor bar, pool area and lobby were all perfect with the resturant being great for breakfast. Cape May is beautiful all by itself and to add a luxury style hotel to an area that is all Victorians is a nice change of pace if that is what you are looking for, the Ocean Club fits this bill.

Room Tip: All Rooms are two room suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

In town for a wedding, and the Ocean Club was a great place to stay. The beachfront location, friendly staff and spanking new beds and rooms really made the experience a good one. Because it was November, we were able to ignore the heat/ac and leave the doors open for the ocean breeze. It was divine and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Thanks to Melissa for a warm welcome when we arrived.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront.....well worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dnicoletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights this summer. The hotel is very nice, rooms slightly above avg. The staff for the most part tried to be very attentive and nice, but the management clearly was not. It was obvious that this hotel rushed opening after the renovation/conversion. We had to change rooms once, and then had engineers come look at the 2nd room. They did not offer any accomodation and were actually rude about the whole situation. They allowed guests to "reserve" lounges ealy in the morning for the entire day - whether they were there or at the beach for hours! We did not eat at their restaurant... but ate finger food poolside (from their restaurant) and it was very good. Might give them another chance again, but then again, due to the lack of service from management - probably not.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheetboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
1.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.0 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club Hotel

Property: Ocean Club Hotel
Address: 1035 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,416 - ₹ 42,866
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Club Hotel redefines the luxury Cape May hotel experience. Designed by Tyler Duncan of Duncan Design Group, this boutique hotel provides the perfect blend of style and comfort. Indulge in the hotel’s breezy elegance, modern sophistication, lush bedding and chic custom designed furnishings. Leisurely pass the day sipping a cocktail poolside, on our spacious sundeck offering spectacular views of the ocean or bask in the sunshine on the beach with our complimentary beach service. Stroll along the Cape May Promenade, just steps away, and enjoy all the attractions Victorian Cape May has to offer. Finish off the day with stunning floor-to-ceiling panoramic ocean views from your private balcony. Though The Ocean Club Hotel’s greatest amenity is its location and accessibility to everything Cape May has to offer, the grounds and guest rooms also come with an abundance of amenities and guest services to make your stay even more relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing