We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“POOL RAN LIKE A PRISON CAMP” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avondale by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avondale by the Sea
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“POOL RAN LIKE A PRISON CAMP”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The whole place needs a lesson in hospitality .They are rude in all aspects and arenot family friendly or especially kid friendly. i would not recommend this place to anyone ,not even my worst enemy. The lady who works at the pool is more qualified to work in a russian gulag than as a pool attendant at family resort . The front desk turns a blind eye to any complaints about service. Save your money and book a hotel else where.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glenn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dowhyt, Manager at Avondale by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
The person who wrote this review was not a registered guest of Avondale by the Sea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    64
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
70
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,pA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

I enjoyed the location of the hotel.
In prior years, we stayed and enjoyed the courtesy of Shiela and Herb. We missed that courtesy.
At 11:10, I was looking for a restroom prior to leaving. The owner abruptly told me to move my car. Seriously? If he looked further, he can see my children and mother were waiting for me in the car. I didn't care for his tone!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MomPhiladelphia_pA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Family vacation in August 2011. Hotel room was spacious, comfortable, and VERY clean. Highlights include balcony with rocking chairs, beautiful ocean views, and complimentary continental breakfast. Location was PERFECT; beach across the street and 2 blocks from Washington Street Mall. Loved it and will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This trip was my fourth to Avondale by the Sea. The hotel is immaculate, has wonderful staff and great ocean views from every room. It's quiet yet very close to everything Cape May has to offer, such as shops and restaurants. The owners run a very tight ship and are always present to make sure everyone who stays there has the best time possible. They were very accommodating when we added a night onto our trip last minute and offered to move our luggage to our new room for us.

The rooms are spacious and clean as are the bathrooms. The air conditioning works well and the rooms never have a musty smell you sometimes get when at the Shore. We stayed in our usual King Suite and it's perfect for us. It's very nice to have TV's in both the bedroom and the sitting room so one person can watch while the other sleeps and vice versa. We did take part in their continental breakfast one morning, which consists of bagels and cream cheese and butter, toast, doughnuts, cereals and coffee, juice and milk. Every year we sit on one of the wonderful balconies and wonder if we should stay somewhere else the next year but we never do. Avondale by the Sea is too perfect for us. God willing, see you in 2012!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBug102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The previous reviews are exactly how it is....clean, nicely located, far enough from all the nightlife so its quiet and yet so easily walkable to everything.......we never moved our car.
An added bonus was movie night on the beach every Thursday and was across the street so not a far walk when it was over.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo46756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.5 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#18 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.3 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.7 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#16 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale by the Sea

Property: Avondale by the Sea
Address: 609 Beach Dr, Beach & Gurney St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1827
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cape May
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,446 - ₹ 9,604
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avondale by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’ll find all our rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We are proud that many of our guests return year after year. Our oceanfront location, friendly atmosphere, proximity to restaurants, shops and sites make Avondale by the Sea an outstanding choice for your stay in Cape May. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Avondale by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avondale By The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing