We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place - Stayed there the Past 8 Summers !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Mer Beachfront Inn
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
405 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Excellent Place - Stayed there the Past 8 Summers !”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stay at La Mer every Summer and consider it the best, well kept, cleanest, nicest place to stay anywhere at the Shore. The rooms are spacious, clean, the beds are totally comfortable, the pool is great, location is just enough out of the way to be relaxing and out of the noise/traffic. A bike route goes right past the hotel and always ride from there out to Cape May Point and back. You can't find a better place at the shore. One just small ding is that parking can be a challenge (I own a Tundra and if I don't get one of the bigger spots, it can be a real challenge).

Room Tip: Upper floors - best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEBAY711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Eight years!? Wow! We cannot thank you enough for choosing to stay with us when in gorgeous Cape May. Secondly, thank you so very much for the 5-star review.

We especially adored this part of your review, "We stay at La Mer every Summer and consider it the best, well kept, cleanest, nicest place to stay anywhere at the Shore. The rooms are spacious, clean, the beds are totally comfortable, the pool is great, location is just enough out of the way to be relaxing and out of the noise/traffic."

We also love that you enjoy biking from our property as cycling is the BEST way to see our gorgeous seaside town.

Again, thanks so much for the raving review and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    220
    40
    29
    36
See reviews for
251
245
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and even though I was in the room without a view, I still found my stay rather refreshing. The location is absolutely convenient. Just across is the beach. It is walking/biking distance from most local attractions. Rooms are reasonably appointed. Service was great. Their restaurant (Pier House) serves really great breakfast. I would recommend this hotel! Down side is the noisy heater/AC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
We are so happy to hear that you would stay with us again!

We love the fact that you find our resort, "refreshing."

Again, thanks so much for taking the time out of your busy life to write a positive review on your recent stay at our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed this weekend for our church retreat with 21 other couples. We all had a ocean front room. Very spacious. Gorgeous view. Although a bit of a walk to the shopping area not terribly far. we still walked it every day. Great exercise. Very clean .Would stay again. Off season to get the great rate. Less crowds as well.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, just make sure it is not blocked by the restaurant in front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you so very much for the awesome review!

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us while you were on your church's retreat.

We are elated that you found our rooms spacious and clean and that you enjoyed our sweeping ocean views.

We hope to see you again and thanks again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I cannot say enough about this hotel. We have been going to this place for many years and are NEVER dissapointed. Our last stay 2 weeks ago for the weekend was another amazing stay. The hotel staff is so professional and the hotel itself is one of the cleanest. We had the 4th floor room over looking the restaurant The Pier House which is also a great place for food and drinks. We had the balcony which has gorgeous ocean and beach views. We love Cape May and love La Mer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RFosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marakis, Manager at La Mer Beachfront Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thanks for the amazing review. We love when our customers, "can't say enough nice things," about us.

We are so happy you choose to stay with us year after year when there are so many hotels to choose from in Cape May.

Again, thank you so much for the glowing review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
629 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We absolutely loved our off-season respite at this beautiful beach front hotel in Cape May. The price for our extra-large efficiency was fair and because we paid in cash, received a 5% discount. Kevin checked us in; he was polite and efficient. Dee, the housekeeping manager greeted us with a warm smile and checked our room before we went upstairs. Her team does a great job. The hotel is spotless.

Extra-large efficiencies have a fully stocked kitchen, electric stove, full size frig, microwave, sink, coffee maker. Everything you would need to cook a meal, except the food of course. Room 431 faces the ocean; Beach Avenue separates the Inn from the beach and is on the quiet end of the avenue, about a mile from town. Two comfy queen beds allowed for a restful night’s sleep. It was so quiet that we left the balcony door open to hear the surf. The balcony is large with small tables and chairs, but is not private. Many people smoke on their balconies; this is troublesome when the wind blows the smoke near non-smokers. The living room is large and comfortable with a TV, pull out couch chairs and a desk. There is also a large flat screen TV in the bedroom.

The Pier House is the on-site restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Show your room card for a complimentary cup of coffee at breakfast or glass of wine at dinner.

The outdoor pool was closed for the season. Walking along the beach was wonderful, so we did not utilize the fitness center.

Our visit was so enjoyable and would definitely stay off-season again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gershwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.9 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.5 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
2.0 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
2.2 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#13 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mer Beachfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Beachfront Inn

Property: La Mer Beachfront Inn
Address: 1317 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204-2726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Cape May
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,730 - ₹ 32,385
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Mer Beachfront Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay with us and enjoy the luxurious comfort and seaside serenity at La Mer. • Spectacular oceanfront views• Private balconies• Granite wet bars w/ microwaves and refrigerators• High-speed internet• Heated pool with sundeck• Outdoor gas grill• Elevators• On-site laundry facilities• Personal safes • Multiple telephones • 40-inch LCD/DVD Televisions• Business Center • Banquet rooms• Off-street, covered parking• Beautifully landscaped grounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Mer Beachfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mer Beachfront Hotel Cape May
Hotel La Mer Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing