We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth the Price !!”
Review of Hotel Alcott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Alcott
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I picked this hotel after reading the reviews and thought people were exaggerating about the terrible room quality, but it is true! The hotel is beautiful and has a nice location but it is not worth it! The hotel's free parking is very far (like 6 or more blocks) from the hotel. If you insist on staying here do not stay in the standard room. This room is extremely small and in my opinion a safety hazard. There is no room to walk around nor put your luggage down on the floor. The rooms are NOT what you see on the website !!! False advertisement !!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are EXTREMELY EXTREMELY small !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Alcott. This was a spur of the moment business trip and the Hotel Alcott was available. We stayed on the second floor and had access to the Verandah. The room was small, but clean, neat and very comfortable. The area is residential, so we had to put up with a lot of noise. But honestly, there was not a place in Cape May that was secluded from what I could see. This is an old town and there's a lot of buildings.
The continental breakfast had croissants that were to die for... very moist, buttery pieces of love. The bagels were the good hearty ones, not the grocery store types. The coffee was good.
Thanks for letting us check in early!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank memerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

August 6-8
Attended the wedding of my nephew. There was no parking lot for the hotel. The lot was 6 long blocks away. You had to park your car and walk back to the hotel. Not very convenient.

My nephew had booked about 7-8 rooms for the event. The wedding reception was held at the hotel. - Hotel Alcott would not even give the bride and groom a free room for their honeymoon night - they would not even give them a discount.

The staff made a few rude remarks to the bride at the wedding receiption.

The rooms were very small, but they were clean.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanWaldorf_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alcott for three nights this week, our first visit to lovely Cape May. The location is great- one short block to the beach. Parking is impossible and the Hotel's parking lot is quite a distance from the Hotel. A shuttle service might be nice. The hotel is nice enough, very clean. The beach towels are great. But amenities in the rooms are sorely lacking and the rooms are not kept up (but they are clean). In our room, the shower head and handle were both broken and there was no water pressure at all. Oddly, the shampoo provided by the hotel were in small cylinders that made it impossible to get the shampoo out. The third day, there were different brands of shampoo, conditioner and lotion, leading us to believe that the hotel bought sample buyouts and just put out whatever they had. The worst thing was the bathroom towels- thinner than any hotel towel I have ever seen and rough like sandpaper. Although they advertised bathrobes, there were none in our room. In our friends' room, the air conditioning broke and they had to be moved to another room.
As for concierge services, they were non existent. I asked several questions about the best boat tours and trolley rides around the town and I was told: "I don't know. I live here. I haven't tried them." We asked for restaurant recommendations and also got little response. We asked how to get to the local day spa where we had booked services and was told to ask someone else. Although there are no elevators (as is expected in a historic hotel), there was no one at the hotel to help us either in or out with our bags. The stairs are long and winding. My husband has bad knees and help would have been appreciated. Also, since it is impossible to park in front of the hotel during the day, having a valet at the entrance would have greatly helped us with checking in and getting our luggage out of the car and to the room. A parking valet would be greatly appreciated by anyone checking into the hotel. In a hotel with similar parking problems, the Omni Parker House in Boston, there is no issue because there is valet service as soon as you pull up to the hotel. In short, for $290 a night, we vastly overpaid to stay here. There were no luxury services or amenities but, the hotel is clean and fine if you just need a room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ebwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel itself is nice and conveniently located by the beach. However, there is no parking unless you are willing to walk two miles to their offsite parking or drive around and look for a metered spot on the side streets - which can add more expense to the visit. We had a Standard hotel room and were charged more than the posted prices online. The room was tiny and we paid $210 a night. If the location and ambiance of the hotel building itself were enough to make the stay amazing then it may have been just that. However, the staff was pretty rude. Our party paid to have a wedding reception there and were told rude, snide comments like "we aren't used to weddings this casual." The staff was very reluctant to help us with the things we needed. Quality does not come on its own, the staff at the hotel alcott seems to believe that relying on thier historic location by the shore is all they need to succeed. Customer service is lacking here. They ran out of foods for the very "casual" holiday inn style continental breakfast. For the price you pay to stay here and have a reception the quality of service and amenities are far from quality.

Room Tip: If you get the cheapest room you will be disappointed in its size, if you get any larger rooms you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhudson05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.4 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,243 reviews
0.9 km away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
432 reviews
0.6 km away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
408 reviews
0.4 km away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcott

Address: 107 Grant St, Cape May, NJ 08204-5322
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: ₹ 14,561 - ₹ 18,684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcott 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored Cape May Victorian hotel. Steps from the ocean and town center. Complimentary continental breakfast daily. Egyptian cotton linens. Tile/granite private baths. Complimentary lending library. Complimentary afternoon refreshments daily in-season. Special mid-week rates. Off-site parking. Fine dining in-season. Available for weddings and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcott Hotel Cape May
Alcott Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing