We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Friendly Staff & Excellent Breakfast Buffet!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Sewaren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly Staff & Excellent Breakfast Buffet!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Wanted to post a review because I almost didnt stay here due to the reviews from others. The Hotel has the perfect location, you can walk to EVERYTHING. The view was AMAZING, enjoyed sitting in the rocking chairs on our balcony and watching the waves crash, you even can hear the ocean while you are falling asleep very relaxing.The place was clean the room was new with a nice little kitchen in it including a microwave and coffee pot. I would highly recommend this Hotel and I would definitely disregard the negative reviews.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor in a Suite Room 604, that building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjelcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate your comments and are very please you enjoyed our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    116
    71
    41
    58
See reviews for
136
136
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great Location across from the beach & with nice balconies & rockers. The hotel lobby is kind of cool in that it's old-fashioned & calming. Serviceable room on second floor ("Victorian" with 2 double beds that are ok, but not great). Love the new wicker-styled furniture, but the bed sheets seemed old. Bathroom is small but has nice shampoos & soaps. Did NOT like that a woman was selling jewelry in the lobby as we walked in, even though she was very nice & had nice wares. Did NOT want to eat in the restaurant even though we were given coupons because it just didn't look very appealing. Did NOT like the noisy air conditioner? that runs constantly outside all the rooms ~ would rather hear the ocean waves while visiting the shore (especially off-season). We booked on-line through the hotel website using the "Manager's Special" of $130. but with taxes it cost about $148. Guess it was ok for one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We encourage our customers to let us know if there is anything we can do during their stay to make each night more comfortable and can usually correct any issues a guest may find unsuitable. Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to help you during this visit. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is in a perfect location - park your car and forget about driving. Right across from your balcony is the beautiful beach and ocean. Walk to tons of restaurants and shopping. We had a suite - a small suite with a bedroom, living room and small efficiency kitchen. It would be tight for a week with family. Upon check in the rude woman at the desk could not find our reservation and was fine with telling me they just didn't have a reservation. I pre-paid through their website and gave her the confirmation. It took her 15 minutes to call a manager and it took the manager 15 minutes to find the reservation. 30 minutes wasted with no apology. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomofHandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
We do acknowledge that this Expedia reservation was not in our system. To avoid a double booking every attempt was made to ensure it wasn't under a different listing. We regret that this oversight had occurred and the customer was upgraded from a standard room to a suite on a higher floor at no additional charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The room was mostly clean. The first day we noticed that the floor really had not been vacuumed.Day 2 it was cleaned. The bathroom was clean. The bath products were good. Only 1 cofee filter a day is kind of chintzy. Even though we reserved a room for 3 we only got 2 Bath towels. The Guide to Cape May in the binder in the room was from 2010...

The bed was comfortable. The pillows so-so.
The walls were a little on the thin side or my neighbor's tv had surround sound one or the other. The balcony view of the ocean is top notch.

I liked that the room did not smell mildewy which does happen in some seaside places where the rugs never quite dry out. I liked the strict no smoking policy. This hotel has some Pet Friendly rooms so if you have allergies you best make sure you don't get one of those.

Didn't eat at the place in the hotel. My wife and I both thought that the front desk lady who checked us in seemed a little gruff. We booked on line...and the room choice we chose had the option of both double beds and a king. We had a party of 3 so we expected 2 doubles.
Instead we were placed in a room with a King.....off season in a hotel with many vacant rooms.
I just think the room selection for us was very poor by the staff. My wife didn't want me to say anything because she got a bad vibe from the front desk. She rarely says negative things about people.

The hotel gym is tiny but serviceable. 1 home gym cable machine. 1 treadmill, 1 eliptical. 1 exerbike.No water. no towels...just a tv. At least the window opened for fresh sea air.

Room Tip: Maintainence staff was very quick and responsive to a problem we had with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quietmanNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Your first instinct to speak to someone about the issues you described was a correct one. A manager is always available to hear your concerns. Our objective is to get it right the first time, but if something isn't up to our guests' expectations we do try to make it right. We hope to prove that to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed the last weekend in March 2012 its not busy. Lot of shops and restaurants aren't open year round. The hotel restaurant had good chicken fingers and shrimp basket we ate outside our room in our rockers. The hotel is nicely located right across the beach. Havibg our princess doggy with us limited us on dining out. We ordered pizza/wings from Tony's good choice they provided plates without being requested excellent service and the food was good (see pictures). PROS: 1. Oceanview really nice walk across the street to the beach. 2. Nearby shops 3. Clean 4. A/C worked good 5. King bed was okay 5 Maintenance was fast and friendly CONS: 1. Make sure to bring $100 CASH deposit for pet 2. Toilet paper holder was cheap it came right out of the wall 2. Low water pressure in shower 3 loud at night might have been near an ice machine 4 hard to park. 5. We were going to spend another night Sunday but when i called Sat night to get a rate i was told ask us Sunday when you're abiut to check out and we will let you know our best rate that was too ahady for me we opt'd to leave i like to be told uo front the rate!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloNYGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to know that maintenance was able to provide you with quick service. Unfortunately, due to water conservation requirements in Cape May the performance of our bathroom fixtures may not always be satisfactory to our guests. We are always on the look-out for new technology in this regard to make the experience more pleasurable. Regarding your request to extend, rates are available upon request and should have been provided to you without hesitation. We will speak to the front desk staff regarding your experience to ensure there is no confusion in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.7 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#14 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Property: Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,373 - ₹ 30,392
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing