We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Penthouse suites have best location, best view on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
wilmington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Penthouse suites have best location, best view on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We usually stay in a bed and breakfast, but decided to give the new penthouse/cathedral suites at the Marquis a try. Under new management (local, and who actually give a darn) the central oceanfront location can't be beat. Don't be put off by the "published rate" for this hotel, you will get a minimum of 20% off, probably a lot more. This puts the penthouse in the same bracket as a B and B.

From our 6th floor balcony we could see from Convention Hall to the lighthouse! A little bigger than the regular suites, the penthouses have bigger balconies, high cathedral ceilings, finer finishes (hardwood, travertine, stainless, granite), new heating/cooling (quiet and efficient), flat screen tvs/dvd with great sound, fast wifi, great cell reception, comfy bed with nice linens. Higher number penthouses and suites have better views, lower number ones are missing a bedroom window, but have an entrance in the interior of the hotel (so you don't have to go outside again after you get off the elevator).

Why does this hotel get such mixed reviews? We were lucky enough to have a tour showing us several types of rooms and we see why. The suites have all been recently upgraded and seemed very nice. The ones with the interior entrances are darker, as some people complained. The single room we saw in the three story building was awaiting its turn for upgrading, and did have minor cosmetic issues. But all rooms and suites have full front ocean views, and at least a coffeemaker/refrig/microwave, tub/shower, and were clean and fully functional. Suites and penthouses have full kitchenettes. First floor is pet friendly.

We could see from our balcony if our favorite table at Martini Beach was available on the glassed-in porch, could see from our entryway if there was an outside line at the Merion Inn, and from the 6th floor lounge if there were rocking chairs open on Aleathea's porch. 24 hour desk service sent up a battery in minutes for our dead remote at 11 at night. Elevators, luggage caddies, pool, laundry, restaurant, bar, are all things we didn't get at a bed and breakfast. All this with onsite parking right across from the beach! What more could you want?

Room Tip: 608 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ontheway2cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for recognizing that the reviews are not always an indication of what you can expect at the Marquis de Lafayette Hotel. The staff does a great job keeping up with the demands and challenges they are confronted with every day. Unfortunately, few of the majority of people with positive comments publish their opinions than the minority who published negative ones. Thank you again. Your comments are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    116
    71
    41
    58
See reviews for
136
136
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

When you're traveling you have to have a good sense of humor and go with the flow. We arrived about 3 PM. We weren't in our 4th floor room for more than 15 minutes when the fire alarm went off. Had to walk down 4 flights of stairs only to find it was a false alarm. (that was a good thing). We waited until the fire department came and gave the ok to return to our rooms (by elevator).
It was a very cold stormy day. On a good day the accomodations would be great. Bedroom, efficiency kitchen, bath, living room & balcony overlooking the ocean. The wind was howling all night! Sounded like a horror movie! Kinda cool. Anyone can be at the shore on a good day! However, it was so strong that we had to put pillows against the door so we wouldn't get blown away. The heat in the living room was ok, but the bedroom was FREEZING! The beds were comfortable, so we did get a good night's sleep once we got to sleep.
The breakfast buffet was included and very good. It had everything you would ever want for breakfast. Omelet station, fresh fruit, french toast, crepes, crispy bacon, sausage and bakery goodies.
We enjoyed our time at the Marquis! Memories!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mag1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veesh62, Manager at Marquis De Lafayette Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
That day WAS memorable ... even for the staff! Unfortunately, no matter how cold it may be we are required to evacuate the hotel when the alarms go off. Luckily it was a false alarm. For anyone who has not had the pleasure of being at the Jersey Shore during a Nor'easter, you don't know what your missing. Unfortunately, one thing we don't have control over is the weather. Thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

The Marquis off season is not a bad place to stay if you're limited to pet friendly accomodations. The first floor rooms face the ocean and have both a living room and bedroom. The price and pet fee were reasonable. The room was clean but damp and musty. I wasn't sure if it was a doggie smell or just moisture. I had a little trouble regulating the heat which comes out of a wall AC unit, but finally go the temperature consistent. It was very quiet, but I suspect in season there may be street noise.

These are not luxury accomodations, but the location is very convenient to the beach, shops and restaurants. The breakfast buffet is pretty bad. I wasn't sure what was worse, the food (cold french toast with gelatinous fruit and thin coffee among other options) or the room which is windowless and extremely outdated (floral wallpaper and clashing floral carpet). Skip the voucher and head to Higher Grounds for coffee and breakfast.

The other thing that seemed strange considering that I was leaving on a Monday in early December, is that I could only get my checkout extended by an hour. I was hoping to stay a little longer and given that is was a ghost town and the hotel was also empty, I didn't think it would be asking too much to stay 2 extra hours. I was told they were expecting a huge group and couldn't allow me to continue to occupy the room. Maybe it was true, not sure, but seemed odd given the day of week and time of year.

So stay for the great location, consider an off season stay, but go elsewhere if you want luxury.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank efvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Anyone who stays in Cape May is familiar with the issue of trying to find single night accomodations. Marquis De Lafayette allowed this during the weekend we stayed in early November and it looks like they do this most or all of the off-season. In summary I would say it's adequate if you aren't really concerned with the accomodations but interested in a good location.

My wife booked us for some sort of package which appeared to be the only option for our single night stay (at least that's what we thought). It cost ~$250 and included a $50 credit to their restaurant, a bottle of wine and some cheese and crackers.

We arrived early as we always do in Cape May and were just stopping by before going to a wine festival for the day. When we walked in the person at the front desk seemed very inconvenienced that we even showed up. Btw this changed later on when someone else was working who seemed very happy to serve us when we showed up again to get our room keys.

When we did arrive for the night we received our room keys and a $50 voucher for the restaurant. We were staying in what appears to a wing undergoing some sort of renovations. You get out of the elevator on the second floor and have to go outside again which isn't really a big deal. However our room was maybe 10 feet from the roof so when you stepped out you were staring at some big HVAC unit. I wanted to get our bags and though there was a shorter way back to the car. I immediately noticed if I looked back toward where I came that there weren't any exit signs. Going the other way there were two sets of stairs both with exit signs so naturally I took the closest one. Only thing is that it dead ends into a gate with a padlock on it. Thankfully there wasn't a fire.

The view was oceanfront and was awesome but our door to our balcony didn't really lock. It wouldn't be a big deal but I noticed that anyone could crawly under the half wall barriers between balconies.

The room smelled like a damp beach motel and the matresses seemed old and uncomfortable. The furniture including the bed were cheap wicker. I get the beach wicker motif but really? The TV was a pretty large flat screen and really nice. There appeared to be an effort to renovate so the tile looked pretty new and the bathroom seemed clean. Small inconvenience was that the toilet seat wouldn't actually stay up because of the permanent placement of some bathroom shelving.

We ate in the restaurant. It was a Saturday night but there was only one waitress working. She was too busy to wait on us so after about 10 minutes we ordered at the bar and the bartender served us. He was very nice and did a great job. I ordered chicken piccata and it was bad. Tasted like some sort of jarred piccata sauce and hard pasta. I saw some people eating prime rib which looked great however. Our bill was less than $50 and was annoyed that you can't use your voucher for a tip or any money back.

I've read many of the reviews on this hotel and I think it's very admirable that the owner takes enough pride to read and respond to each one. Thank you for doing that. I do want to say though that when you're staying for one night there are things that you don't really feel compelled to "complain" about or you could spend your entire time there just talking to people. Also what could you really do about the placement of a shelf, room dampness and lack of exit signs in the single night someone stayed. Just input for the future.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingcouple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

We made a trip to Cape May on short notice in the late Fall of 2011 and decided on the Marquis de Lafayette because of its location, room availability & pricing. Telephone reservations were easily transacted and the reservation desk clerk was most helpful. The room was small but clean and comfortable, the balcony was quite nice, and we were especially impressed with the restaurant. Hotel restaurants sometimes leave something to be desired but this one was well-staffed with very polite and accomodating servers and the food was very good. We particularly enjoyed the buffet breakfast (and the availability of "special ordering" was a decided plus) but we also had an excellent dinner there on Sunday evening, with a suprisingly good wine. We came away thinking that the Marquis de Lafayette would easily be our "back-up" choice if the more up-scale B&Bs were full (or closed for the season, as happened this time). We recommend it!

Room Tip: You might consider something other than the lowest-cost room if you'd like a bit more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulB38661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.5 km away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#13 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 km away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.2 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis De Lafayette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis De Lafayette Hotel

Property: Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Address: 501 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2402
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,365 - ₹ 30,285
Hotel Class:2 star — Marquis De Lafayette Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marquis De Lafayette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis De Lafayette Cape May
Hotel Marquis De Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing