We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs improvement, but still a nice stay overall.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carroll Villa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service needs improvement, but still a nice stay overall.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Was nice, I don't know if it was great. I would say it was more good than very good. But I would probably return. The owners seemed a little rough around the edges. They argued in front of us and were eating a huge omelet while checking us in, which isn't entirely professional. The package we purchased included a trolley tour of the town, and we were infomed that oops the trolley service wasn't available so they gave us a walking tour map with recorded tour phone instead (like in a museum). It was fine, but they just said, here take these, I don't know how they work, hopefully you can figure it out.
The rooms were very pretty and clean. The best part of our stay for sure. Comfy beds.
They had a restaurant attached to the b&b with really good food! But I was a little put off because when we paid the bill, we asked for change, and the waitress gave us the change, and just subtracted the coin change in their favor. For instance, our bill was $37.10, we gave $40 and she gave us $2 back. When I inquired about the 90 cents, she looked annoyed, rolled her eyes and said she just assumed it would be part of the tip anyway and now she has to ask for coins because they ran out. I just felt it was presumptuous, even it she was correct, it should be in favor of the client not the establishment.
Aside from that, it was a nice stay. The rooms, the proximity to the beach and the food were quite nice. Service needs improvement!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    355
    85
    39
    23
See reviews for
153
807
44
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had never been to Cape May before and we are not an impulsive free spirited couple. However, I did read endless reviews about the hotels and B&B's in the area before we booked the day before heading down to Cape May. We picked the right place to stay for 2 nights offseason and midweek. It's one of many historic inns and NOT one of many newer modern motels on Beach Ave. After over 120 years, you can expect water temperature and pressure problems, creaking floors, steep staircases, narrow hallways, i.e. an 1800's infrastructure. The Carroll Villa has a charming interior but it's exterior is almost completely obscured by it's downstairs restaurant - the large front porch is used for outside dining. Our king room on the second floor was comfortable and clean - a good mattress, a small fridge, a large closet, a ceiling fan, good television reception and free internet. With the windows open in our front corner room, there is a wonderful breeze but street noise is very loud in the mornings and the restaurant cooking aromas waft up to the room. Jackson Street was quaint and convenient - a nice walk anywhere, restaurants, shopping, the beach, charming streets. You get a 30% off dinner for one night in their restaurant and you also receive a $30 coupon for breakfast every morning. We found the staff to be friendly enough - not aloof nor indifferent but without outstanding hospitality. Our expectations were realistic and they were met.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband, daughter and I come to CM every July, and for years I had wanted to come for Vendors' Nights at Christmastime, on the Mall. During December, a lot of the places we frequent are closed for the season,(as are many of the restaurants), but friends recommended the Carroll Villa as a pleasant place to stay for a couple of nights. We found it to be charming! Our room was very comfortable, if slightly cramped with the large antique furnishings, but we didn't mind, as we were staying only two nights. (This could be a problem in the summer, if you bring down a lot of beach stuff for a week, though).There is a nice living room and lounge area downstairs, and we were able to have our own wine and appetizers with our friends in the common area. The Mad Batter restaurant is also on the premises, and is open at that time of year, so that was convenient, as well. It is pleasant enough to stay for a "getaway" weekend. The owner was very nice and accomodating,the room and bath were clean, and the mattress was comfortable..

Room Tip: Because this is an older, Victorian Inn, the rooms are somewhat smaller, so just be prepared for tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aljora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The location of this hotel is wonderful- very close to shops, parks, restaurants, and of course, the beach. The staff was very helpful. The peak experience of the trip was the gluten-free menu offered at the Mad Batter. I have to adhere to a gluten-free diet,and the gluten-free menu (and food) were great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangers1, Owner at Carroll Villa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for your nice thoughts. We have tried very hard to work with gluten free, vegeterian and vegan needs. Our restaurant serves a great variety of different menu items along with Happy Hour, homemade desserts wonderful ice creams made in house.. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Carroll Villa. Next time we are in Cape May we will stay somewhere else. Beds were very uncomfortable, A/C didn't work, and the last morning we stayed there was no hot water for showers. When we told the innkeeper, she replied "yeah, everyone's been complaining about that today".

Mad Batter has a great reputation and great location, but we found the food to be no better than average.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.3 km away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
1.8 km away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
1.0 km away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,140 reviews
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
0.5 km away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carroll Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carroll Villa Hotel

Property: Carroll Villa Hotel
Address: 19 Jackson St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cape May
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#10 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,083 - ₹ 31,262
Hotel Class:3 star — Carroll Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carroll Villa Hotel is a family owned and operated historic Cape May hotel and home of the acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar. Guests will enjoy our welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, as well as our ideal location just a half block from the beach and the walking mall. Carroll Villa Hotel offers nineteen unique rooms which blend an eclectic mix of Eastlake, Craftsman and mid-century modern pieces with contemporary colors and modern amenities. All of our guest rooms feature private baths, complimentary WiFi, and flat-screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Carroll Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carroll Hotel Cape May
Carroll Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing