We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced motel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Engleside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beach Haven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Engleside Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Beach Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced motel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was excited when I booked this hotel because it was right ON the Beach & had its own pool so you had a choice to go to either one. The hotel provides you with a beach pass so you dont have an additional cost but thats about as positive as I can be about the hotel.
There is a restaurant & a bar right next to the pool that was infested with flies THAT BITE. I dont know what they are called but even the bartender will tell you "Yes they are flies & YES they bite". That led me to believe that they were not clean! Plus it closed early.
The outside decor looks just like a motel, only 2 floors and doors that need an actual key to enter with no safe in the room. Drapes and a bed cover from the 1970's. The gym was disappointing too...it consists of only 2 eliptical machines, & it closed early. By the way, the hotel does not provide you with a towel for the pool or the beach. You are paying for the location...not only the beach but its also walking distance from a few stores (a little diner, a small grocery store, a couple of bars that have entertainment, and a liquor store). Overall, it was overpriced for what the hotel provides.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diricos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    56
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
80
45
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hatfield, pa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was our first visit to Engleside Inn and we were sorry we didn't discover it sooner. It is located directly on the beach. We stayed in the oceanside view efficiency on the second floor and were well pleased. The only drawback was the climbing of the two flights of stairs with luggage to get to the room. Service both at the desk and cleaning of the room were both exceptional. The Inn does have its' own restaurant but due to our brief stay of only 2 nights we did not have a chance to visit it.
The pool had a service food and drink bar connected to it making it the center of attraction thus causing it to be almost always overcrowded due to the size of the Inn. We would definitely go back but maybe try to stay on the first floor. It is very close to almost all restaurants in the area, amusements and shops.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The hotel sits on the beach so that is a plus, but the pool is small and the walls of the hotel are paper thin. The service on LBI is known to be typically quite good, but at this hotel they must be a bit too comfortable with their flow of business. When we called to complain about what sounded to be a basketball being bounced heads in the room above us, the individual at the front desk informed me that I should just wait it out and he was sure it would stop on it's own. When I called back after 10 minutes (the banging had not subsided) to ask that they call up their to request that the banging be stopped, I was hung up on. At $300+ a night for a queen room, I would expect better service than that!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waveman96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Cons: The room decor was very outdated but it was clean minus the rug. The rug gave off a weird mildew smell. They do not provide beach umbrellas nor beach chairs but we found a rental service in LBI that we were able to rent from for a week. The beach bar was full of Mosquitos that literally were attacking our ankles. Also, they do not have their own private parking for guests so be prepared to feel like your going to the mall during the Christmas shopping season looking for parking. Housekeeping only did the minimum even after tipping them well the first day of our stay. Our towels had a lot of stray hairs which really disgusted me. Finally, although they are on beach front property the stretch of beach the hotel is on is a no swim zone which made it really inconvenient because we had to walk a considerable amount to get to the area where swimming was allowed.

Pros: the restaurant has prettyl good sushi and they offer room service

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notpickybutpractical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florham Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel, staff, food, setting, bar, beach were all fabulous!

Room Tip: Although I wans't looking at the ocean, my room was still great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggyf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beach Haven
2.0 km away
Spray Beach Hotel
Spray Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Beach Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.6 km away
Daddy O Hotel
Daddy O Hotel
#1 of 1 in Long Beach Township
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
15.1 km away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
La Sammana Resort
La Sammana Resort
#1 of 5 in Brigantine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.0 km away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#7 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 km away
Windward at the Beach
Windward at the Beach
#4 of 10 in Beach Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engleside Inn

Property: Engleside Inn
Address: 30 Engleside Ave, Beach Haven, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-1790
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Beach Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Beach Haven
#4 Family Hotel in Beach Haven
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,152 - ₹ 12,864
Number of rooms: 69
Also Known As:
Engleside Hotel Beach Haven
Engleside Inn Beach Haven, NJ - Long Beach Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing