We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Whitefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Candia, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We wanted to celebrate our 2nd anniversary, and to start off, we had reservations at another place. They called us 3 weeks before and told us that their restaurant was going to be closed the weekend we had booked, so we changed our minds and started looking elsewhere. I researched MANY places and based on excellent reviews, we started to lean towards Lion and Rose. We aren't extremely well-off, so we thought we'd only do one night, but the Innkeepers Chris and Roger were so great when we were corresponding, that we chose to go with 2 nights! We chose the Egyptian Room because one of the luxuries we were looking for was an in-room jacuzzi, which the Egyptian Room has. The room was nicely decorated with an obvious Egyptian theme, it was quite clean, the bed was HUGE (king bed), and EXTREMELY comfortable! My boyfriend and I both have bad backs, and we found the bed to be perfect! We loved the his/her shower and double sinks in the bathroom (which was spotless). It was great to have a small fridge in the room also.
We didn't mind that we'd have to go elsewhere for dinners, because we were going to be having breakfast at the B&B, and they also offered coffee/tea and cookies each afternoon. We didn't partake in that, but we did sit on Saturday afternoon and have wine and drinks with Chris and Roger and we had such a pleasant conversation with them for probably about an hour! They are super people, very hardworking, and want to make sure you are completely satisfied with your room and stay. EXCELLENT hosts!! Breakfast was absolutely delicious - especially the stuffed french toast on Sunday morning! YUMMMM.
We found a table in the room to be just a tad wobbly, and let Chris and Roger know, and they were very gracious about it. My boyfriend was actually going to try to fix it, so that the TV that was on it wouldn't fall to the floor, and they were very grateful, but explained that they TV is going to be mounted on the wall anyway (a flat panel TV). We loved having the gas fireplace (with a remote) as well as the ceiling fan (with remote as well). They paid such great attention to detail and seemed to really understand what people would want (dimmer on the lights right over the jacuzzi- GREAT touch).
All in all, I can't rave enough! Super Innkeepers, excellent food, clean rooms, wonderful amenities, plenty to do in the area (especially in the warmer months - we did find things to do, but a lot of things were still closed being early April and all). Thank you again Chris & Roger! We hope to see you again!!!!!

Room Tip: Egyptian Room was quiet and the only room with private balcony, overlooking garden. Jacuzzi was PLEN...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in the Key West Room - comfortable and cozy with a luxurious bathroom complete with corner shower and a soaking tub. It was in a private corner of the house - nice and quiet! Our hosts went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and to make our stay enjoyable - they recommended wonderful restaurants and secured reservations for us. Breakfast each day was elegant and delicious - we met many interesting fellow guests while sharing breakfast. The B & B is located in a sleepy, tiny town but is close to other more developed areas, so dining and recreation were not a problem. A lovely anniversary weekend!

Room Tip: The Key West room is spacious with a nice bath - Egyptian room was quite luxurious and filled with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmollo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Clean accommodations
Breakfast was great
hot tub came in handy after skiing
the owners go out of their way to make you're stay as pleasant as possible
i would definitely recommend this place to a friend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis Center, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just back from what is probably close to our 12th trip (yup that's right) to The Lion and the Rose. Sometimes you just have to follow your heart to what you know you need. 1st class R&R, a room with creature comforts galore (the gas fireplace, the deck for star gazing and the corner hot tub for starters...). Not to mention the rest of the room, the B&B itself, the food, the innkeepers... I think you know what I mean.

The Lion and The Rose in Whitefield, NH. A little piece of heaven in Northern New Hampshire.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank khconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

There is a saying that there is no place like home and in reality that is true. However, if you could take home on the road, it would be located at The Lion and The Rose in Whitfield, NH. Roger and Chris have created a warm environment, a personable sense of hospitality, along with a unique sense of style that allows their quests to feel as though they never left home. I have family that lives in Whitefield, NH but the next time I visit, I will be staying at The Lion and The Rose. I do not believe I can make a more direct and affirmative statement than that.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.1 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
18.4 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
3.1 km away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,235 reviews
11.8 km away
The Mulburn Inn at Bethlehem
10.8 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19 Lancaster Rd, Rte 3, Whitefield, NH 03598-3050
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefield
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,271 - ₹ 10,874
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lion and the Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion And The Rose Bed And Breakfast Whitefield, White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing