We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner”
Review of 1865 Wine Cellar

1865 Wine Cellar
Reserve with OpenTable
1865 Wine Cellar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at 1865. The prix fixe menu should have options for almost everyone. We started with the scallop and smoked duck - both excellent. Second course was forest floor (mushroom mix) and truffled ravioli - both excellent. For our entrees, we ordered the duck confit and braised pork belly - both outstanding. Both desserts were also delicious. I agree with other reviews that the markup on the wine is on the high side...but honestly it wasn’t a big deal. Our server was Vanda and she was outstanding! Great setting...great food...great service. Highly recommend it!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cdsieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at 1865 Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Cdsieb,

Thank you for reviewing. Our wonderful culinary team provides an amazing experience in the wine cellar and we're delighted you were satisfied with your meal. I enjoyed reading about your Veranda service and glad you were able to utilize that amenity. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2018

Superior service, great food. And great wine list, though we chose to go with their recommendations for each course.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Compass244115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at 1865 Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear Compass244115,

Thank you for reviewing. Our wonderful culinary team provides an amazing experience in the wine cellar and we're delighted you were satisfied with your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Mountain View Grand for a couple of evenings in The Presidential Suite and had to check out the 1866 Wine Cellar Restaurant. Since we are in the Private Jet Aviation and Wines and Spirits business for over 25 years, been in and out of Wine countries all over the world, especially in California, we figure this eatery would cater to our taste buds.

Reservations at 7:15 with a nice lead by the hostess to the Cellar. A nice temperature controlled room, not 55 degrees, and a comfy table surrounded by wine racks and bottles of wine all over... we thought this is nice touch.

Serving us was JAVAN, who I read in previous TA reviews and it stated that he was good, attentive, knowledgeable, and on the spot with his pouring of wine.

We ordered a bottle of 2013 Chalk Hill Chardonnay, Estate Bottled and a bottle of 2014 Tiefenbrunner Pinot Grigio, from the Alto Adige Region of Italy. The Chalk Hill was a smooth, toasted nutty with fruity tones. Delish!!! And the Pinot Grigio was also smooth, earthy floral notes, with fruity back ground. Excellent!!!

For dinner we had the price fix dinner plan. A Four course dinner choosing one item from each section of the menu.

All small serving plates from duck to ribeye, veggies to mushroom ravioli
Your choice. All the entrees were tasty, nice presentation, but the ravioli was not hot, the steak was temperature cool, not hot off the grill. Plate were not warm and my plate I can see numerous finger prints along the edge that was showing when placed under the ceiling lights in the right angel.

Now for the wine etiquette...
The Chalk Hill Chardonnay was expensive. I would just say over 100.00 each. We ordered another bottle and Javan brought it out without a new glass. He opens the bottle and pours it into an existing glass with wine from the other bottle. We immediately told him to stop, in which he thought it was enough in the glass, he then continues to pour into another glass, we told him to stop again. He looked confused to why we told him to stop pouring two times. The reason why I explained to him that always with a new bottle at the table one diner must taste the wine before anyone gets a glass making sure the bottle is good. If that was a bad bottle due to bottling, corking, heat, etc, he just ruined an existing glass of good wine from the first bottle.
Also have the good habit of facing the wine Lable to the taster.

So if your going to label yourself as a high end restaurant with a wine cellar, make sure you know your wine etiquette it can make or break a night!!!

Enjoy!!!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank msdet1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, Manager at 1865 Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear msdet1529,

Thank you for this feedback regarding your dinner in the 1865 Wine Cellar as well as the additional review about your resort experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, but I must extend my sincere apologies for the issues with service and food quality during dinner.

Yesterday, I shared your comments with Nathan Varney, our Executive Chef, and also sat down with Javar to discuss wine etiquette and review your notes. Please trust that we are committed to providing an exceptional experience in 1865 and this has provided a valuable training opportunity for all staff members involved with servicing your meal.

I do hope you will consider visiting the resort again in the future. If you have any additional questions or concerns, I am at your service.

Warmest regards,

Oral Kelly
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We opted for a meal here for something different and were quite pleased with our experience. The food, wine and service were excellent. Our server, Javar, was humorous and great. Recommended.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at 1865 Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Tyler L,

Thank you for your review. Your compliments toward Javar have been shared and are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Chef Nate Varney creates the best food from local and regional farms. He sources everything as close as possible, and supports the local farms year round. You'll taste the difference when you eat in his exclusive 1865 Wine Cellar!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at 1865 Wine Cellar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Julie M,

Thank you for your review here and on our hotel's TripAdvisor page. Your compliments on Chef Nate are greatly appreciated and have been shared. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1865 Wine Cellar also viewed

Whitefield, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Whitefield, White Mountains
Lancaster, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
Bethlehem, White Mountains
 

Been to 1865 Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing