We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway at Mountain View Grand Resort in New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We took a side trip to NH to check out Fall colors. So happy that we stayed at Mountain View Grand resort - such a beautiful location in mountains. When you drive up, you feel a sense of history at this place. Front desk employees and Bell staff were all very friendly and helpful. They gave us many suggestions for things to do in the area. We had a wonderful room with great views of the golf course and mountains - very comfortable room. Resort grounds are incredible.

We had dinner at the restaurant and our server, Maxwell was outstanding! Again, we mentioned it was our first time in the region and he gave great suggestions for the area. Very pleasant and great service. The food was very good and I thought the menu had a good variety. You must order the pretzels as an appetizer - excellent.

Had the breakfast buffet next morning and thought it was a great value.

We only stayed here one night but I wish we had more time as this resort is perfect for a home base after going out and doing side trips in the area. Next time we will stay at least 2 or 3 nights so you can enjoy the relaxation.

I also recommend you take the short tour of the resort that they offer in the morning - very good info on the history of the resort and the area. Highly recommend you get a room with the view of the mountains - well worth it. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Golf course or mountain range views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Bob A,

Thank you for your considerate review. It's wonderful to hear your first stay with us was memorable! Your kind remarks towards Maxwell and the rest of our staff are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you for your second stay in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017

If you've never been to this hotel,you need to go ! Unmatched views!! The staff is top notch, as are the accommodations. I always hate to leave when there. Food is excellent, & the wine cellar's food & service rated #1. Unfortunately, we did not have good weather this time around however we totally enjoyed the indoor pool, the health club, & walking around the trails on the property. We even did the ax throwing in the rain! Have been in beautiful weather and enjoyed the beautiful outdoor pool. There are so many activities and so much to do there that you can just park your car and stay.

Room Tip: I have had a room with views both times that were located the front of the hotel and the views are j...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Criticlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Criticlin,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are so glad to hear that we were able to offer you a refuge from your busy schedule. Hopefully the weather will cooperate during your next stay!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This was a couples visit to this well kept old resort in White Mountains New Hampshire. Although it is somewhat isolated, there are plenty of amenities on site such as swimming, golf, spa, bonfires, movies, axe throwing, bocci, bingo and painting, The view is terrific and there is a beautiful porch to sit on and enjoy it. There are two restaurants, room service, and a bar. There are fireplaces and free valet parking. The service is fine and staff mean to please. It is clean. They are working on an expanded shop and cafe and updated elevator. We had a minor problem with some noisy neighbors, but Peter, the manager, helped us to our satisfaction. We used the hotel as a base to visit many nearby towns in the White Mountain area in NH and VT.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank didi9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear didi9999,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We hope your next visit is right around the corner.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Wonderful and beautiful location. The view speaks for its self. Went up for our one year anniversary. Staff is wonderful and the room was great. Food there is a bit on the pricey side but is totally worth it.Their wine cellar is wicked nice as well. They offer so many activities. Defiantly check out ax throwing. Have a small movie theater. Pool and hot tub are big a really nice. Wonderful weekend getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. I recommend you get a front facing room because that view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cassandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Cassandra H,

Happy One Year Anniversary! We are delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us, and it's our hope to have you back in the near future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Lovely hotel with amazing views - sitting on the veranda was a sheer delight, just like being in a film. Room was nice but aircon for the kitchens was near our window.

However the hotel was badly let down by the service, or lack of, in the main restaurant. This was acknowledged by the reception staff who commented that they had received many complaints but didn't seem to want to do anything about it.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, Director of Food & Beverage at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Angela H,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your dining experience, and for reaching out to me so we could speak personally. I hope my email finds you well and I thank you for the opportunity to amend the issues that were highlighted. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Oral Kelly
Director of Food & Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
20 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
772 reviews
19.3 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
15.8 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
19.7 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,789 reviews
13.8 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: ₹ 11,698 - ₹ 26,996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing