We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at the Mountain View Grand for four nights in October with our 3 and 4-year-old boys. We had spent the three nights prior at a Marriott so I knew there would be some adjusting. The beds were smaller (fulls rather than queens), the amenities older (dated TV with nearly-broken remote, and the room considerably smaller.
We were on the second floor on the front side of the inn, which meant great views of the property and the mountains. Unfortunately, there were three dead flies on the window I was looking through and the window itself was pretty dirty.
Overall I would give the room a B-. Bathroom, which was spacious, gets a B-plus. Too bad the fan was deafening.
We enjoyed the property and our boys loved the farm and looked forward to visiting with the goats, llamas and horses each morning. On two mornings, they visited the chicken coop and retrieved the eggs (which are taken to the inn's kitchen). They went on a short $10 horse ride and purchased a few rusty horseshoes ($5 each). They also enjoyed the cider-making exhibition and had fun working the press.
We took advantage of the campfires and smores each night. The staff lays out everything for you and are all very nice. All appeared to be in their late teens to mid 20s. It was a little uncomfortable when one of the staffers, a reservist I believe, started talking to a guest about various automatic weapons and the record distance for a sniper kill shot. Then he told a joke about the military rescuing Obama and how the soldier's dad would kill him.
It made for an awkward vibe with the kids sitting around the campfire.
I went around the 9-hole course a couple times. The conditions were pretty good and there were a few nice holes. Course was a little short but with the views who cares? I think I paid $25 for unlimited play and a cart, which was a great bargain.
Because we spent so much time at the farm we almost missed out completely on the battle ax tossing. Thankfully I got to try this on our getaway day. You take the ax back with two hands straight over the head and let it fly. I went directly over the target on my first few throws and then hit the target on my next three and went 50% from there. It was a good time.
We can't speak to the food at the Inn because we did not eat in the restaurants. We did try the Italian Oasis Restaurant & Brewery in Littleton (about 15 minute drive) and Grandma's Kitchen, a little diner on Lancaster Road in Whitefield. Oasis was a good meal with a nice staff. The main drag in Littleton is quaint and offers pizza, movie, seafood and a few other options.
We could have arranged babysitting through the hotel - and tried to one night but we were too late - but we decided to call it a night with our kids.
Fitness center and pool (and whirlpool tub) are great. Very relaxing. Game room is so-so but who would even expect one in a country inn? I must say the air hockey table was top notch. Movie theater was also great. We told the front desk we wanted to watch Cars at 3 p.m. and they set it up and gave popcorn to the boys.
There is also complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate available at the bar each morning, which was a nice touch. It was great to fill up the travel mug and walk the grounds or head to the barn.
We spent one day driving through the mountains, starting down the Daniel Webster Highway, then to the Kancamagus out to Conway before looping back toward Whitfield. Lots of gulches and various vistas to take in. Unfortunately the Canon Mountain tram was closed when we stopped there.
All in all, it was a very good trip. I'm not sure whether it would have been better or worse without the kids. Seeing them light up every morning on the way to see the animals was probably the highlight of the trip. Wish we could have done the horse-drawn carriage ride as a family.
The staff was great and did their best, which we appreciated. Down at the farm, Mrs. Diego was a dynamo and kept our kids entertained every day.
If you expect Vegas-like housekeeping and a spotless room, you might be disappointed.
Our rate, through Travelzoo, was $109 per night and included a bottle of wine, cheese plate (which we did not locate for 36 hours) and a resort credit for $30.
If there were a 3.5 star option, that's what I would have chosen for this review. A cleaner room would have made it a 4.

Room Tip: Any room on the front side of the hotel will offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimmySwaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear TimmySwaggart,
Thank you for the information you have provided during your recent stay at the Resort. It is nice to know that your family found the abundance our of Farm activities enjoying as it certainly is a highlighted feature of the property. We have addressed the awkward situation created during your campfire experience and I can assure you that this is not a circumstance that will be repeated. Should you choose to return to the property for a future visit, which I hope you do, you will find a number of accommodations receiving upgrades as our renovation project has begun to the enjoyment of our guests. Thank you again for the details you have graciously provided us with.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,451 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

After a very taxing few weeks of not seeing much of my wife I took her on a weekend trip to Whitefield. What an amazing place! The weekend was rainy so we didn't get the full view this trip but from previous experience I can tell you, they are breath taking. The decor is what I expect from a Grand Hotel with nice (though repetitive) paintings and beautiful craftsmanship. Our room overlooked the golf course and the north side of the Presidential range of the White Mountains. We relaxed in the very nice lobby and enjoyed wine in the tavern. Then we enjoyed a delicious dinner in the tavern dining area (not fine dining so you don't need reservations). Breakfast (part of the $250 package) was a buffet with made to order omelets or waffles. I can't say breakfast was spectacular but certainly sufficient. The service was excellent!

I am a carpenter so I am not accustomed to the super lavish life. My expectations were not only met but well exceeded. I look forward to taking my wife to the Mountain View Grand Resort and Spa again.

Room Tip: A room facing south will offer spectacular views of our beautiful White Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Jeffrey1072,
We are glad you and your wife were able to enjoy a relaxing weekend away! Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with us. It was our pleasure to exceed your expectations! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mountain View Grand soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Resort and grounds were beautiful. Food was excellent. Spa was clean and relaxing. However there was no spa "smell" which I always look forward to. The linens on the massage tables smelled like old oils they couldn't get out. I asked for a deep tissue massage but don't feel that's what I got. Too bad!
There are plenty of activities for adults and kids which is a good thing because other than hiking there isn't anything to do in the area. North Conway is an hour away and we spent one of the days there. We stayed here because we got a good deal from Groupon. I don't think I would stay here for full price. I would probably stay in North Conway. Overall we had a nice time and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerraceSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear TerraceSnob,
Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your feedback about the Spa and have shared your comments with our Spa Manager. Several steps are being taken in order to ensure your inconvenience with our linens is not repeated. We are happy to know you enjoyed the time you spent with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort at some point in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed there in August with my boyfriend for a wedding. The hotel was gorgeous but I would think twice about the spa. The nail polish was right down to the bottom and gummy and the nail files were used! How many people had they used that on? I was hoping to buy skin care products and make-up (hard to find brands), but they had almost nothing on the shelf. You can't cut corners or compromise sanitary conditions and expect to keep customers. Have to say I found the staff who waited on us to be professional and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MShep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear MShep1,
Thank you for the details you have provided regarding our August stay at the Resort. I have reviewed the sanitation procedures at our Spa and can assure you that all steps are taken to provide sanitary and clean products for our guests to enjoy. I do apologize for the quantity of our skin care products being low, they were appreciated by our guests in excess of our expectations this summer and we have certainly rectified the situation. I do hope that you will be returning to the Resort in the future to enjoy the improvements we have made.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful wedding for our daughter and her husband. We had only about six weeks to plan, and with the help of Susannah Powel, the resort's catering manager/planner, everything went off without a hitch. We are very thankful for her imput and help. It truly was magical,with gorgeous views of the White Mountians, from the horse and carriage we arranged to pick up the Bride and Groom at the entrance of the resort following the ceremony in Lancaster, to the beautifully prepared Presidential Ballroom for cocktail hour and reception. All our guests had a wonderful time. Most importantly our daughter and son-in-law will have beautiful memories of their special day to look back on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountains916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Dear Mountain 916,
Congratulations to your daughter and new son-in-law! Thank you for your considerate review! Your glowing remarks about Susannah are appreciated and have been shared. It was our pleasure to spend such a special day with you and your family. We hope to welcome you all back to the Resort at some point in the future!
Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
20 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
772 reviews
19.3 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
15.8 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
19.7 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,788 reviews
13.8 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: ₹ 11,813 - ₹ 27,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing